How to install ASUS Thunderbolt 3 card on an ASUS X99 MB - Page 8 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to install ASUS Thunderbolt 3 card on an ASUS X99 MB

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #71 of 77 (permalink) Old 01-10-2019, 02:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Sorry ignore this post mistakenly added
Cowprint is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 02:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
I wish i could help you guys out but after reading all 8 pages, I dont know of anything new to add. All I can say is that from the very first day I arrived at the solution and posted it. I have not experienced any problems. The card is still working and I have changed the port several times and followed the same procedures.

Dev24670
(35 items)
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6850K CPU @ 3.60GHz, 3601 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s)
Motherboard
Asus X99 Deluxe II
GPU
W4100
GPU
W4100
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX
Hard Drive
crucial
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate hybrid
Hard Drive
Seagate hybrid
Hard Drive
Seagate hybrid
Hard Drive
Seagate expansion external 3.0
Optical Drive
Sony bluray burner
Optical Drive
Sony dvd-rw burner
Power Supply
Thermailtake 1500 Gold PSU
Cooling
Phanteks Heatsink
Case
Antec 1200 case
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Planar 27" Multi-Touch
Monitor
Planar 27" Multi-Touch
Monitor
Hanns-G 23"
Monitor
Hannspree 23"
Monitor
Hannspree 23"
Monitor
Asus 19"
Monitor
Asus 19"
Monitor
Sony 47"
Monitor
Viso 52"
Keyboard
GIGABYTE
Mouse
Microsoft
Mouse
Intel
Audio
M-Audio Profire 2626
Audio
M-Audio Delta 66
Audio
Yahmaha HS80M
Audio
Yahmaha HS80S
Audio
ElectroVoice ZLX-12P
Audio
ElectroVoice ZXA1-SUB
▲ hide details ▲
Dev24670 is offline  
post #73 of 77 (permalink) Old 07-24-2019, 10:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
the$#!Za.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
JMTH I just wanted to say thanks HEAPS for taking all that time & effort to post this & update us, even as I post this after all that time you started this thread. You have truly saved us A LOT of time trying to figure it all out.

I've always had my Thunderbolt 3 card that came with my ASUS X99 Deluxe II plugged in but never had any TB devices to actually try it until now as I have bought an Audio Device. I always wondered why it wasn't even showing in my Device Manager but just assumed I needed something plugged into my TB card to see it in Device Manager but ofcourse this wasn't the case. It was simply plugged in & not even in a working state that whole time.

Instead of even TRYING to bother getting my ASUS TB card to work smoothly, I decided to take one of your recommendations & buying a GigaByte Alpine Ridge Thunderbolt 3 card & I'm so thankful you did. Installed it in, double checked BIOS settings, downloaded latest drivers from Gigabyte & done!

Two Thunderbolt 3 ports working nicely & it's showing in Device Manager & my taskbar finally! ASUS is usually excellent quality in my many years of experience buying from them but that Thunderbolt 3 card is a big let down & troublesome.

Now I find out I can only expect the full TB 3 speed of 40/gbps if my cable doesn't exceed the 50cm's limit! That's just too short for me & my setup, so I have 2 choices if I want the full 40/gbps speed. Either buy an Apple "80cm" TB 3 cable which is the only passive cable I found over the 50cm limit which still provides the full 40/gbps speed, or buy an Active TB 3 cable which can provide the full 40/gbps speed at 2 meters.

Apparently the only catch with the Active TB 3 cables is that they can ONLY be used with TB 3 devices & not for normal USB-C 3.1 which doesn't bother me.\

Anyways just thought I'd also post this little info here for anyone actually wanting the full TB 3 40/gbps speeds.

Again JMTH we REALLY appreciate your informative posts & lovin my Gigabye Alpine Ridge. THANK YOU!
the$#!Za. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #74 of 77 (permalink) Old 11-12-2019, 09:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Current Windows 10

Can anyone confirm that Windows 10 1903 doesn't break software support for the card?
psm0 is offline  
post #75 of 77 (permalink) Old 04-30-2020, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
JMTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 185
Rep: 15 (Unique: 13)
Hello all, it has been a long time!!! Update... Not good lol.

A littler over a year ago, when Intel was "fixings" the security issues my Alpine Ridge TB3 card stopped working. I tried a few things and eventually burned the wrong firmware on the card... Dooh!

Anyway I eventually purchased a Titan Ridge Gigabyte TB3 card and tried to install it. It was a no go, I tried everything I could think of and could not get the motherboard to detect it let alone the Intel Thunderbolt Software. So, I gave up and shelved it for a long while. Because I love to punish (I mean challenge) myself, I thought I would give it one more go.

Currently the TB3 is installed, shows up in the Thunderbolt Software, and it is powering my external TB3 drive, but it will not let me connect to the drive. Picture attached. I am still messing around with the settings and slot positioning. I will list the current settings and positioning below.

ASUS Rampage V Edition 10

No NVME installed to the MB, only via the adapter in slot 3
Slot#1 (PCIEX16/X8_1) GEFORCE RTX @X16 Gen3
Slot#2 (PCIEX4_1) Empty
Slot#3 (PCIEX16/X8_3) NVME Adapter Card
Slot#4 (PCIEX1_1) Empty
Slot#5 (PCIEX8_4) Gigabyte Titan Ridge TB3

SLI/CFX switch set to 3X

BIOS

Advanced\System Agent Config\NB PCI-E Configuration = All set to Gen3
Advanced\Onboard Device Configuration\4-Way Configuration = X16/X8/X8/X8
TB On
Security Level = Legacy or Unique ID (still have to test the others)
Wake from TB = On
USB Support = Enabled
Boot Support = Enabled
AIC Support = On
AIC Location Group = CPU0 NB PCIE Slot
AIC Location = NB PCIEX8_4
GPIO3 Force Pwr = On
The rest = default

I will update as I learn more! Oh side note, currently my Keyboard stops working until I unplug it and plug it back in. I believe there is an issue with TB3 and the UBS hosts, since it only started after I installed the TB3 card lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TBSoftware_04302020.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	342644  


ASUS Rampage V Edition 10, 6850K, 64GB (4x16) G Skill F4-3300C16Q-64GTZKW, Raedon Pro WX 5100, Custom water loop. || 24x7 Adaptive\Offset: 4500 MHz Core, 100 BCLK, 3500 MHz Cache, DDR4-3200 MHz @ 13-14-13-29-CR1, 1.398v Adapt Core, 0.186v (reads 1.184) Offset Cache, 0.160v (1.040) Offset VCCSA, 1.40v DRAM, 1.13125v (1.088) VCCIO, 1.94v CPU VCCIN, 5 LLC. || Video Card OC: +50% Power Limit, 1204 MHz Clock (1086 MHz Default), 1580 MHz Memory (1250 MHz Default). || BIOS: 1902, OS1: Windows 10 Pro x64, Version 1803, Build 17134.407, OS2: Windows 7 Pro x64 || Build Log || ASUS X99 ThunderBoltEX 3 Card Install Guide
True Blue (and UV)
(21 items)
CPU
Intel Boxed Core i7-6850K Processor (15M Cache, up to 3.80 GHz) FC-LGA14A 3.6 6 BX80671I76850K
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
AMD 100-505940 Radeon Pro WX 5100 8GB GDDR5 4 DisplayPort's Workstation Video Card
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3300 (PC4 26400) Desktop Memory Model F4-3300C16Q-64GTZKW
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-75E500B/AM)
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD (MZ-V6E250BW)
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM006 - hard drive - 2 TB - SATA 6Gb/s
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB M.2
Optical Drive
ASUS Computer International Direct Blu-Ray Writer BW-16D1HT
Power Supply
CORSAIR AX1200i
Cooling
Custom EK Liquid Cooling, details in comments
Case
Corsair Obsidian Series 750D Performance Full Tower Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ViewSonic VA2702w
Monitor
Benq PD3200U
Keyboard
Logitech G510
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Other
Sleeving, Combs, Wire/Cables, Connectors, Pins, and Ties, Clamps (Check Comments)
Other
Lights, so far (Check Comments)
Other
Tools (Check Comments)
Other
Tax, Shipping (Check Comments)
▲ hide details ▲
JMTH is offline  
post #76 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-04-2020, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
JMTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 185
Rep: 15 (Unique: 13)
Hello again, Its working!

The only things I changed were:

I swapped out the Thunderbolt Header cable with the one that came with the Titan-Ridge. I buzzed the old cable and there were no opens. I have not checked the new cable to make sure it has the same pinout, but I cannot think of a reason they changed the pins around.

I updated the Security Level in the BIOS to Unique ID from Legacy.

Rebooted and it came up. So perhaps I just had not rebooted enough lol or if the Thunderbolt cable was the issue. At this point I dont want to touch anything so, Ill buzz the new cable out next time I need to reboot hehe.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TBSoftware_05042020.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	343720  


ASUS Rampage V Edition 10, 6850K, 64GB (4x16) G Skill F4-3300C16Q-64GTZKW, Raedon Pro WX 5100, Custom water loop. || 24x7 Adaptive\Offset: 4500 MHz Core, 100 BCLK, 3500 MHz Cache, DDR4-3200 MHz @ 13-14-13-29-CR1, 1.398v Adapt Core, 0.186v (reads 1.184) Offset Cache, 0.160v (1.040) Offset VCCSA, 1.40v DRAM, 1.13125v (1.088) VCCIO, 1.94v CPU VCCIN, 5 LLC. || Video Card OC: +50% Power Limit, 1204 MHz Clock (1086 MHz Default), 1580 MHz Memory (1250 MHz Default). || BIOS: 1902, OS1: Windows 10 Pro x64, Version 1803, Build 17134.407, OS2: Windows 7 Pro x64 || Build Log || ASUS X99 ThunderBoltEX 3 Card Install Guide
True Blue (and UV)
(21 items)
CPU
Intel Boxed Core i7-6850K Processor (15M Cache, up to 3.80 GHz) FC-LGA14A 3.6 6 BX80671I76850K
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
AMD 100-505940 Radeon Pro WX 5100 8GB GDDR5 4 DisplayPort's Workstation Video Card
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3300 (PC4 26400) Desktop Memory Model F4-3300C16Q-64GTZKW
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-75E500B/AM)
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD (MZ-V6E250BW)
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM006 - hard drive - 2 TB - SATA 6Gb/s
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB M.2
Optical Drive
ASUS Computer International Direct Blu-Ray Writer BW-16D1HT
Power Supply
CORSAIR AX1200i
Cooling
Custom EK Liquid Cooling, details in comments
Case
Corsair Obsidian Series 750D Performance Full Tower Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ViewSonic VA2702w
Monitor
Benq PD3200U
Keyboard
Logitech G510
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Other
Sleeving, Combs, Wire/Cables, Connectors, Pins, and Ties, Clamps (Check Comments)
Other
Lights, so far (Check Comments)
Other
Tools (Check Comments)
Other
Tax, Shipping (Check Comments)
▲ hide details ▲
JMTH is offline  
post #77 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-13-2020, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
JMTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 185
Rep: 15 (Unique: 13)
Ok one last thing. I had to reboot my machine and while the TB ports showed up the hard drive would not. I checked the drive and it looked like it was not powered. I remembered that last time I got it to finally see the drive I had plugged my phone into the TB3 cord to see if it was supplying power. After I plugged my phone in and waited a few seconds nothing happened. So I unplugged it and tried again and finally it started charging my phone. I then removed my phone and plugged in the hard drive. It was still not showing up in the TB3 software, but the little power led was on. I rebooted and it once again was working. I have no idea what is going on, I can only guess that the TB3 card/software has to somehow be tricked to supply power. Once it is powering the device and you reboot it finally wakes up and realizes that something is attached to it.

I am looking into getting a Z490 MB soonish, I hope that they (Intel) have fixed this garbage and we no longer have to go through the never ending cycle of making plug and play actually plug and play lol...

Good luck to you all!

ASUS Rampage V Edition 10, 6850K, 64GB (4x16) G Skill F4-3300C16Q-64GTZKW, Raedon Pro WX 5100, Custom water loop. || 24x7 Adaptive\Offset: 4500 MHz Core, 100 BCLK, 3500 MHz Cache, DDR4-3200 MHz @ 13-14-13-29-CR1, 1.398v Adapt Core, 0.186v (reads 1.184) Offset Cache, 0.160v (1.040) Offset VCCSA, 1.40v DRAM, 1.13125v (1.088) VCCIO, 1.94v CPU VCCIN, 5 LLC. || Video Card OC: +50% Power Limit, 1204 MHz Clock (1086 MHz Default), 1580 MHz Memory (1250 MHz Default). || BIOS: 1902, OS1: Windows 10 Pro x64, Version 1803, Build 17134.407, OS2: Windows 7 Pro x64 || Build Log || ASUS X99 ThunderBoltEX 3 Card Install Guide
True Blue (and UV)
(21 items)
CPU
Intel Boxed Core i7-6850K Processor (15M Cache, up to 3.80 GHz) FC-LGA14A 3.6 6 BX80671I76850K
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
AMD 100-505940 Radeon Pro WX 5100 8GB GDDR5 4 DisplayPort's Workstation Video Card
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3300 (PC4 26400) Desktop Memory Model F4-3300C16Q-64GTZKW
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-75E500B/AM)
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD (MZ-V6E250BW)
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM006 - hard drive - 2 TB - SATA 6Gb/s
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB M.2
Optical Drive
ASUS Computer International Direct Blu-Ray Writer BW-16D1HT
Power Supply
CORSAIR AX1200i
Cooling
Custom EK Liquid Cooling, details in comments
Case
Corsair Obsidian Series 750D Performance Full Tower Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ViewSonic VA2702w
Monitor
Benq PD3200U
Keyboard
Logitech G510
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Other
Sleeving, Combs, Wire/Cables, Connectors, Pins, and Ties, Clamps (Check Comments)
Other
Lights, so far (Check Comments)
Other
Tools (Check Comments)
Other
Tax, Shipping (Check Comments)
▲ hide details ▲
JMTH is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off