Z370 / Z390 VRM Discussion Thread - Page 424 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Z370 / Z390 VRM Discussion Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4231 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 12:37 PM
Optimal Pessimist
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,585
Rep: 130 (Unique: 97)
Hi,

I hope somebody here can help me understand the voltage measurements on my (new) Gigabyte Aorus master.

I am running an 8086k on it in normal//offset mode @5.1 GHz. I run with C-states enabled, EIST disabled and speed-shift enabled (with autonomous mode in the OS). Behavior is same for EIST enabled instead.

Below is a HWINFO64 screen snapshot of vcore and VR VOUT illustrating drops in vcore when there is no corresponding drop in VR VOUT. If I disable all C-states, it is the same. If I disable speed-shift (EIST already disabled), then there is no drop of voltage in either measurement as you should expect. This leads me to believe that the vcore drops are real and due to speed-shift (or alternatively EIST) lowering voltage as it is supposed to do. My question is is that correct and, if so, why no corresponding VR VOUT drop?

Thanks
Attached Images
 

FDR4-8086k
(23 items)
CPU
8086k 5.1/4.8 GHz @ 1.28v, 5.2/4.9 GHz @ 1.326v (AVX 0)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
Asus GTX 2070 Super A8GB
RAM
64GB Trident Z RGB 3200 CL14 @3600 Cl16
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Black 2 TB in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 6 TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Green in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 (only middle NF-A15 Chromax)
Cooling
4 x Noctua NF-A14 Chromax black swap
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 Chromax black swap
Case
Fractal Design R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
Eizo CG2730
Monitor
ViewSonic VP2768
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid TKL
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mouse
perixx dx-2000
Audio
On Board ALC1220-VB/ESS SABRE 9118 DAC
Audio
Vanatoo Transparent One
▲ hide details ▲
GeneO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4232 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 05:54 PM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by camaxide View Post
I've looked all over, and gone by the VRM tier list trying to find the right motherboard..
I want a 9900KS on 5.2 GHz
I want 4x8GB G.skills at 4133Mhz Cas17
I want a motherboard that does RGB properly so I don't have to use multiple software to sync things up.

So.. Apex is out due to only having 2 Ram slots.. And it seem the only Asus board that has good VRM and overclock while also supporting 4 Dimms is the Maximus Extreme? which really seem VERY expensive for what I need (when I compare it to Gigabytes offerings). - the reason I started out with Asus boards were because they seem to offer the best RGB support and software.
Next I then heard how impressed buildzoid was with the Gigabyte lineup of Z390s that I ended up locking onto the Aorus Ultra, since it has excellent VRM and overclock, and it has 3x M.2 (vs 2 on pro wifi and not so much more expensive).

Now.. after looking around I seem to find tons of complaints about Gigabytes software... Especially the RBG fusion software has been bashed on forums and youtube since over a year ago.. and the new Fusion 2.0 seem to also have been a buggy trainwreck since its release and still is for many. - so I look for options..

Is there some good boards that I have kinda missed.. that checks my boxes without costing like 500 dollars? Or is the Gigabyte RGB Fusion unfairly bashed on forums and youtube? Or will I fare good with a lesser board than those I looked at and still be doing my aimed for overclocks?
Gigabyte rgb fusion is working for me just fine.

I only have my water blocks and light strips on the rgb headers. Then I have one phanteks halo on the Drgb header.

I don't have any trident z or other rgb ram synced with it so I cannot report on that.
Wirerat is offline  
post #4233 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-24-2019, 03:59 PM
Optimal Pessimist
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,585
Rep: 130 (Unique: 97)
Quote: Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
Hi,

I hope somebody here can help me understand the voltage measurements on my (new) Gigabyte Aorus master.

I am running an 8086k on it in normal//offset mode @5.1 GHz. I run with C-states enabled, EIST disabled and speed-shift enabled (with autonomous mode in the OS). Behavior is same for EIST enabled instead.

Below is a HWINFO64 screen snapshot of vcore and VR VOUT illustrating drops in vcore when there is no corresponding drop in VR VOUT. If I disable all C-states, it is the same. If I disable speed-shift (EIST already disabled), then there is no drop of voltage in either measurement as you should expect. This leads me to believe that the vcore drops are real and due to speed-shift (or alternatively EIST) lowering voltage as it is supposed to do. My question is is that correct and, if so, why no corresponding VR VOUT drop?

Thanks

Nobody?

FDR4-8086k
(23 items)
CPU
8086k 5.1/4.8 GHz @ 1.28v, 5.2/4.9 GHz @ 1.326v (AVX 0)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
Asus GTX 2070 Super A8GB
RAM
64GB Trident Z RGB 3200 CL14 @3600 Cl16
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Black 2 TB in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 6 TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Green in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 (only middle NF-A15 Chromax)
Cooling
4 x Noctua NF-A14 Chromax black swap
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 Chromax black swap
Case
Fractal Design R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
Eizo CG2730
Monitor
ViewSonic VP2768
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid TKL
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mouse
perixx dx-2000
Audio
On Board ALC1220-VB/ESS SABRE 9118 DAC
Audio
Vanatoo Transparent One
▲ hide details ▲
GeneO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4234 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-25-2019, 12:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mattxx88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 169
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
Hi,

I hope somebody here can help me understand the voltage measurements on my (new) Gigabyte Aorus master.

I am running an 8086k on it in normal//offset mode @5.1 GHz. I run with C-states enabled, EIST disabled and speed-shift enabled (with autonomous mode in the OS). Behavior is same for EIST enabled instead.

Below is a HWINFO64 screen snapshot of vcore and VR VOUT illustrating drops in vcore when there is no corresponding drop in VR VOUT. If I disable all C-states, it is the same. If I disable speed-shift (EIST already disabled), then there is no drop of voltage in either measurement as you should expect. This leads me to believe that the vcore drops are real and due to speed-shift (or alternatively EIST) lowering voltage as it is supposed to do. My question is is that correct and, if so, why no corresponding VR VOUT drop?

Thanks
interesting question, following
mattxx88 is offline  
post #4235 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-27-2019, 03:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 233
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
Nobody?
forget about it, topic is dead.
Robostyle is offline  
post #4236 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-27-2019, 08:04 AM
Optimal Pessimist
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,585
Rep: 130 (Unique: 97)
Quote: Originally Posted by Robostyle View Post
forget about it, topic is dead.
Then you must be able to articulate an answer, right? I mean, this is the VRM discussion thread,

FDR4-8086k
(23 items)
CPU
8086k 5.1/4.8 GHz @ 1.28v, 5.2/4.9 GHz @ 1.326v (AVX 0)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
Asus GTX 2070 Super A8GB
RAM
64GB Trident Z RGB 3200 CL14 @3600 Cl16
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Black 2 TB in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 6 TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Green in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 (only middle NF-A15 Chromax)
Cooling
4 x Noctua NF-A14 Chromax black swap
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 Chromax black swap
Case
Fractal Design R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
Eizo CG2730
Monitor
ViewSonic VP2768
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid TKL
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mouse
perixx dx-2000
Audio
On Board ALC1220-VB/ESS SABRE 9118 DAC
Audio
Vanatoo Transparent One
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by GeneO; 11-27-2019 at 08:11 AM.
GeneO is offline  
post #4237 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-27-2019, 08:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 233
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
Then you must be able to articulate an answer, right?
I have nothing to say about your question, cause I don't know. Alas, I was only questioning, just as you.
And we're the only who's watching this topic AFAIK.
Robostyle is offline  
post #4238 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 08:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 866
Rep: 353 (Unique: 157)
Quote: Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
Hi,

I hope somebody here can help me understand the voltage measurements on my (new) Gigabyte Aorus master.

I am running an 8086k on it in normal//offset mode @5.1 GHz. I run with C-states enabled, EIST disabled and speed-shift enabled (with autonomous mode in the OS). Behavior is same for EIST enabled instead.

Below is a HWINFO64 screen snapshot of vcore and VR VOUT illustrating drops in vcore when there is no corresponding drop in VR VOUT. If I disable all C-states, it is the same. If I disable speed-shift (EIST already disabled), then there is no drop of voltage in either measurement as you should expect. This leads me to believe that the vcore drops are real and due to speed-shift (or alternatively EIST) lowering voltage as it is supposed to do. My question is is that correct and, if so, why no corresponding VR VOUT drop?

Thanks

I think the VRM controller reports the last voltage it saw before it was asked to turn off to save power (0V SVID command), while the Vcore reading is from an external sensor (SIO chip) that will read all changes independent of the VRM controller state.
elmor is offline  
post #4239 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 11:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kommando Kodiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Tantiss outskirts, Wayland
Posts: 427
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Does anyone know the hole spacings for the VRMs?
Kommando Kodiak is offline  
post #4240 of 4248 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 06:37 AM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kommando Kodiak View Post
Does anyone know the hole spacings for the VRMs?
What motherboard are you wanting this information on specifically?

Different vrms and model of boards have different hole spacing.
Wirerat is offline  
Reply

Tags
K6 Motherboard , Msi , voltage regulator , z370 vrm , z390 , z390 vrm

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off