Z370 / Z390 VRM Discussion Thread - Page 64 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Z370 / Z390 VRM Discussion Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 09:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
monitorhero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 97
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)

What I dont like about the Taichi is that MCE is auto enabled. So all the benchmarks on the internet are not really meaningful that way. It performs very well but I wonder how the scores would be without MCE on Tweaktowns test for example.

monitorhero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 10:30 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,175
Rep: 904 (Unique: 590)
CPU limits. thumbsdownsmileyanim.gif



https://3dnews.ru/960568/page-2.html
(Z370 Gaming 7)

http://www.ocstation.com/memside/mother-board/2197-gigabyte-z370-aorus-gaming-7-motherboard-review?showall=&start=7
5.3GHz on water





Cinebench stable 5.4GHz , not even delidded

Z370 K6
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=6351&PN=1&title=z370-gaming-i7-build-tech-yes-city


MSI Pro Carbon confirmation NTMFS4C029N + NTMFS4C024N.
https://www.overclockers.ua/motherboard/msi-z370-gaming-pro-carbon-ac/

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Mainboard-Hardware-154107/Tests/Kaufberatung-Intel-AMD-2066-1151-2011-v3-AM4-681325/ 
Incidentally, although the latter covers parts of the voltage converter cooler, the Z370 Extreme4 in the PCGH test (edition 12/17) achieved good voltage transformer temperatures of around 60 ° C (normalized to 20 ° C ambient temperature) - at least if you manually limit the power consumption in the UEFI 95 W is set. Although the mainboard does not overheat with the factory settings, it could get a little too warm with up to 160 W of power consumption

P.S. if anyone has the patience to watch youtube videos (I really don't), try to see if any reviews mention VRM temps or have VRM shots at all.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #633 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 10:30 AM
Newb to Overclock.net
 
mouacyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,880
Rep: 167 (Unique: 124)
Quote:
Originally Posted by monitorhero View Post

What I dont like about the Taichi is that MCE is auto enabled. So all the benchmarks on the internet are not really meaningful that way. It performs very well but I wonder how the scores would be without MCE on Tweaktowns test for example.
For the price and VRM quality, I'm not sure auto MCE is worth complaining about. You'll get much better results from manual overclocking anyway. I can understand that popular press review results will be (were) skewed, but knowing that already, you can always look for independent results as a baseline for MCE being disabled.

CPU: Q6600 X5470 2100T 1680V2 9900K
GPU: 8800GT 9800GTX+ 750Ti 1080Ti
RAM: 2x8GBTZ
Gentoo64 in Water
(14 items)
LGA775 X5470
(6 items)
CPU
9900K 5GHz 1.224v
Motherboard
EVGA Z370 Micro
GPU
MSI 1080TI GXEK 2100.5/12627
RAM
16GB Trident Z 4000C16
Hard Drive
970 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic X850 Gold
Cooling
480mm Radiator Custom
Case
Silverstone FT03
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Operating System
Gentoo Linux 64 Multi-Lib
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271UH 165Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
CPU
X5470 4GHz (stock v)
Motherboard
GA-EP45-UD3P
GPU
EVGA 9800 GTX+ 512MB
RAM
8GB 4x2GB GSkill 1066MHz DDR2
Cooling
XSPC Rasa, D5 + Res, 240mm Rad
Case
Lian-Li PC7-HX
▲ hide details ▲
mouacyk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 10:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Exilon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,138
Rep: 90 (Unique: 57)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bl4ckdot View Post

USB DAC-UP really makes me wonder how useful it is. I have an high-end USB dac, and I'm not sure if I would ear the difference, it most probably is marketing at this point... (sorry for the off topic)

It's... ok? My Creative G5 gets noisy at initialization after a cold boot and I've had to do some rain dance to reset the noise floor. It doesn't seem to happen on the USB DAC-UP ports, but using the G5 on the USB DAC-UP ports results in a loud pop in the headphones when the USB ports power up.

Exilon is online now  
post #635 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 10:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
monitorhero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 97
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post

CPU limits. thumbsdownsmileyanim.gif



https://3dnews.ru/960568/page-2.html
(Z370 Gaming 7)



Cinebench stable 5.4GHz , not even delidded

Z370 K6
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=6351&PN=1&title=z370-gaming-i7-build-tech-yes-city

 

Woah impressive. So the K6 has the same VRM as the Taichi right?

 

But I read there are versions with Sinopower and some with Fairchild. How do I notice  them?

monitorhero is offline  
post #636 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 10:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
urs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Are these the top boards for 5 GHz overclock ? : (Europe prices with +19% VAT)

1. GB Gaming 7 : 263.3 euro | 306.5 dollars
2. Taichi : unavailable
3. K6 : 182.22 euro | 214.4 dollars
4. Extreme4 : 159.5 euro | 185.7 dollars (is there anything wrong with this one ? VRM, mosfet etc.)

P.S :
From Review for K6:
Cons: Audio interference from rear speaker (!!) when mouse moves
Placement of CPU fan header behind a heatsink (??)

Audio interference is a deal-breaker for me. Sounds like cheap electronics. I'll work with the manufacturer to see if the issue can get resolved but I'm not holding by breath.
urs1 is offline  
post #637 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 11:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
monitorhero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 97
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Is a 500W Straight Power 10 sufficient for a 5ghz overclock with the Taichi @all
monitorhero is offline  
post #638 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 11:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Telstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,010
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by moustang View Post

I don't know how widespread the heating problems on the Aorus Gaming 7 are, but it's not a widespread problem. I only know of that one reviewer who had a problem and maybe two people here. Quite a few others I talked to had no problem at all.

A guy on an Italian forum i follow had this issue as well and returned or rma the board. So it's not that isolated unfortunately.

new rig 2019:
Intel 9900k >5ghz | Asus Maximus XI Gene | Eisbaer 360 LT (custom loop in progress) | bequiet! Dark Base 700 white edition | Team group Nighthawk 16GB 4000mhz | MSI RTX 2070 Armor | Storage: Intel Optane 900p 280GB + Samsung 970 evo plus 1TB + WD Red 3TB | Corsair HX850i | Benq BL3200PT 1440p | 1Gbit ftth |
Telstar is offline  
post #639 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 12:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
demone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadoww View Post

I'm thinking yes if Z370 will support the future 8 core Intel chips (still a rumor)...

Which are these rumors ?

I think is clear that Z370 will not support 8 core Intel chips.
demone is offline  
post #640 of 4211 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 12:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Digitalwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 477
Rep: 44 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telstar View Post

A guy on an Italian forum i follow had this issue as well and returned or rma the board. So it's not that isolated unfortunately.

I had to go back through the thread to even find what this "heating problem" was even in reference to... and I've had a gaming 7 since the day after you could order them. I haven't had the VRM heat issues mentioned in the one review with my 8700K oc'd....

I will admit that I do not use software/onboard sensors to read the VRM temps... I have a temp gun. Which from my experience is pretty accurate when it comes to temps.

That's not to say there might not be some QC issues and then add in the fact that some of the onboard sensors have been rather wacky on the Gigabyte Z370 boards....
Digitalwolf is offline  
Reply

Tags
K6 Motherboard , Msi , voltage regulator , z370 vrm , z390 , z390 vrm

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off