UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread - Page 318 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread

 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2019, 05:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 771
Rep: 285
Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
But that way I can start posting the best 9900K on the planet that does 5.2 @ 1.2V which isn't true because it needs 1.28-1.3V for that (non AVX) on all other boards.

How am I supposed to read out the voltages now without having a DMM hanging out of the case? Why do I see 0.15Vdroop? Take a look, this is 4.7GHz:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuROyR2xLJE

Software is reading correctly (as long as you've updated it in the last few months). You can't compare voltages between boards unless they all use die-sense. It was the same before, each vendor would tune their voltage readings differently. Previously people thought Asrock Z170 boards could run lower voltage because they tuned it to show lower. Testing in the lab showed that there was no difference or maybe even worse.

edit: It's possible HWInfo has not been updated to use the correct voltage sense calculation yet, let me investigate.

Last edited by elmor; 02-11-2019 at 06:01 AM.
elmor is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2019, 06:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Luck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 355
Rep: 18
Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
But that way I can start posting the best 9900K on the planet that does 5.2 @ 1.2V which isn't true because it needs 1.28-1.3V for that (non AVX) on all other boards.

How am I supposed to read out the voltages now without having a DMM hanging out of the case? Why do I see 0.15Vdroop? Take a look, this is 4.7GHz:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuROyR2xLJE
That does look strange, very different from when I run it (Asus Maximus Xi Hero + 9900K). I certainly don't see any such massive drop in vcore under load. I was only able to try LinX 0.6.5, I couldn't find your version on any site I trusted.

What settings are you using in BIOS? I.e., what have you change from optimized defaults?
Which version of HWinfo are you using? Maybe you have an older version that doesn't read the Asus sensor correctly.

Battlestation
(15 items)
TV Buddy
(15 items)
CPU
9900k
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero (Wifi)
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus 1080ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 8 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1 TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra Gold 1000 W
Cooling
Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator XB270HU
Keyboard
CM Quickfire TK
Mouse
Logitech G500s
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech G533 Gaming Headset
Audio
StudioSpares Powered Studio Monitors
CPU
i5-4690
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
GPU
EVGA GTX 670 FTW
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 4GB x 2
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 3 TB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240 GB SSD
Optical Drive
Pioneer BDC-207DBK Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
SeaSonic G550
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon 37.0 CFM 120mm x 2
Case
Silverstone GD09B
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Other
FLIRC USB Dongle for Media Centre
Other
Harmony 650 Remote
▲ hide details ▲
Luck100 is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 06:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,049
Rep: 8
I will check when I'm at home. This is was LLC6.
I was scared seeing drops from 1.29 to 1.20-1.21 at LLC=7 but it can't be right because 0.95V is simply wrong, it shouldn't even boot at that voltage. Probably 1.10V 4.7 wouldn't boot either.

Core i9 9900K @ 5.2 || ASUS Maximus XI Apex|| 2x8GB G.Skill FlareX 4600 C18 @ 4133 C17 || GPU: MSI Lightning-Z RTX2080Ti @ 2100MHz || Samsung 970PRO 1TB + 860EVO 2TB || Fractal R6 TG Black || Corsair RM1000x || Screen: LG B8 OLED 55 and LG 34GK950F

Last edited by Martin778; 02-11-2019 at 06:20 AM.
Martin778 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2019, 06:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 771
Rep: 285
Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
I will check when I'm at home. This is was LLC6.
I was scared seeing drops from 1.29 to 1.20-1.21 at LLC=7 but it can't be right because 0.95V is simply wrong, it shouldn't even boot at that voltage. Probably 1.10V 4.7 wouldn't boot either.

I verified on HWInfo 6.01-3650 that it's reading correctly, it's possible your version is too old and reading lower than it should (1.11 times). 1.29V down to 1.20 at LLC=7 is perfectly normal though, assuming you set ~1.30V in BIOS.
elmor is online now  
Old 02-11-2019, 07:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Luck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 355
Rep: 18
Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
I will check when I'm at home. This is was LLC6.
I was scared seeing drops from 1.29 to 1.20-1.21 at LLC=7 but it can't be right because 0.95V is simply wrong, it shouldn't even boot at that voltage. Probably 1.10V 4.7 wouldn't boot either.
I see 1.17 Vcore idle, 1.146 under load when I run your LinX test (0.6.5 version, not your version). Vcore is read from HWinfo latest version (not the beta). I'm only getting 322 GFlops when I run LinX versus your 461, so there may be some substantial difference between the versions.

I'm running all cores at 4.7 GHz with offset voltage, LLC 5, and XMP profile:

Ai Overclock Tuner [XMP I]
XMP [XMP DDR4-3200 16-18-18-36-1.35V]
BCLK Frequency [100.0000]
ASUS MultiCore Enhancement [Disabled]
AVX Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset [0]
CPU Core Ratio [Sync All Cores]
1-Core Ratio Limit [47]
DRAM Frequency [DDR4-3200MHz]
DRAM CAS# Latency [16]
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay [18]
DRAM RAS# ACT Time [36]
CPU Load-line Calibration [Level 5]
Long Duration Package Power Limit [4095]
Package Power Time Window [127]
Short Duration Package Power Limit [4095]
CPU Core/Cache Current Limit Max. [255.75]
CPU Core/Cache Voltage [Offset Mode]
- Offset Mode Sign [+]
- CPU Core Voltage Offset [0.030]
DRAM Voltage [1.3500]
CPU VCCIO Voltage [1.15000]
CPU System Agent Voltage [1.10000]

Battlestation
(15 items)
TV Buddy
(15 items)
CPU
9900k
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero (Wifi)
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus 1080ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 8 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1 TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra Gold 1000 W
Cooling
Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator XB270HU
Keyboard
CM Quickfire TK
Mouse
Logitech G500s
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech G533 Gaming Headset
Audio
StudioSpares Powered Studio Monitors
CPU
i5-4690
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
GPU
EVGA GTX 670 FTW
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 4GB x 2
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 3 TB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240 GB SSD
Optical Drive
Pioneer BDC-207DBK Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
SeaSonic G550
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon 37.0 CFM 120mm x 2
Case
Silverstone GD09B
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Other
FLIRC USB Dongle for Media Centre
Other
Harmony 650 Remote
▲ hide details ▲
Luck100 is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 07:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,049
Rep: 8
LinX is pretty weird, it took me days to find out the perfect primary/secondary RAM timing combination that pulled 460 GFLOPS.
When I revert to UEFI Defaults, thus 2133MHz JEDEC RAM and everything AUTO I'm getting around 290 GFLOPS. After I setup XMP it's around 320.

You can also clearly see it on the temps/power draw, if I tried to run LinX on 5.0-5.2GHz with optimized timings, it would smash the Tjmax and output like 500 GFLOPS whilst on XMP the temps would still be like 85-88*C tops and around 300GFLOPS.


+
It was HWInfo64 6.00, latest official release.

I've just tried 1.23V manual and readouts from the latest HWInfo64 6.01 beta. Under Cinebench it drops to 1.17V and when you smash it with AVX SmallFFT's it drops further to 1.14V. Still a bit much isn't it?

Core i9 9900K @ 5.2 || ASUS Maximus XI Apex|| 2x8GB G.Skill FlareX 4600 C18 @ 4133 C17 || GPU: MSI Lightning-Z RTX2080Ti @ 2100MHz || Samsung 970PRO 1TB + 860EVO 2TB || Fractal R6 TG Black || Corsair RM1000x || Screen: LG B8 OLED 55 and LG 34GK950F

Last edited by Martin778; 02-11-2019 at 03:38 PM.
Martin778 is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 25,559
Rep: 1236
Quote: Originally Posted by Nikos4Life View Post
I have recently bought a binned 5.1GHz 9900K and while I am waiting for it to arrive I have to decide the motherboard.

At first, the Asus Maximus XI Extreme is on the lead because it is the best all-around for my needs I/O expansions and so on. But I am concerned about its VRM.
Will be enough to push the 9900K to higher clocks without worrying about them?

Other options which I am considering would be:

EVGA Z390 Dark (if It ever ships to EU)
Asus Apex

Motherboards with only two DDR4 slots are not my first options since I would have to buy 2 sticks for it. As I want 32GB of RAM on that system. And right now I do have 4x8 RAM modules waiting there.
But at the end of the day if VRM compromises the rest of the system I do not mind to buy them.

I am open to other options anyone could throw it here.

Cooling is not going to be a problem (for CPU).

Thanks for your advice.

Kind Regards,
Nikos
I'm running the Max Xi right now and it is working beautifully. The VRM is holding at 32C while running Boinc (universe cpu calc) at 5.0 and 1.32V (lol, measured and reads in HWi and right on the LiveDash. If you want to or can use 4 ram slots, go with the Max XI... otherwise If the Apex XI is anything like the Apex IX or Apex X, that's gonna be a killer MB.


Quote: Originally Posted by elmor View Post
Software is reading correctly (as long as you've updated it in the last few months). You can't compare voltages between boards unless they all use die-sense. It was the same before, each vendor would tune their voltage readings differently. Previously people thought Asrock Z170 boards could run lower voltage because they tuned it to show lower. Testing in the lab showed that there was no difference or maybe even worse.

edit: It's possible HWInfo has not been updated to use the correct voltage sense calculation yet, let me investigate.
HWi looks good, so does AID64 (engineer) 5.99.4900. Even HWi v5.93-3590 is reading correctly on the Max XI.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

For Sale
X299
(25 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
7740X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299 Gaming
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Jpmboy; 02-11-2019 at 07:42 PM.
Jpmboy is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 25,559
Rep: 1236
Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
But that way I can start posting the best 9900K on the planet that does 5.2 @ 1.2V which isn't true because it needs 1.28-1.3V for that (non AVX) on all other boards.

How am I supposed to read out the voltages now without having a DMM hanging out of the case? Why do I see 0.15Vdroop? Take a look, this is 4.7GHz:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuROyR2xLJE
nah man, the software should be fine. That said, with a board of that quality it is a pretty good idea to check the voltage with a DMM at least once if you are gonna play with a "golden" chip.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

For Sale
X299
(25 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
7740X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299 Gaming
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 04:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,277
Rep: 357
Quote: Originally Posted by Luck100 View Post
Hey @Falkentyne , can you elaborate on this bit about the CPU package power reading in HWinfo? Are you really saying it's just VID*current? So it would meaningless if we set a manual voltage? Any sources you can point out for such information?

I've noticed that when I test different overclocks/voltages, I can get similar power package values at load (say 180W with Prime95 small) in two cases yet I'll have noticeably different load temperatures after 5 minutes. It does make me think the package power is inaccurate, though I'm not sure it agrees with your explanation either.
I got this information from Unclewebb (author of Throttlestop).
No it's not exact, there's undocumented stuff involved too. But it's not far from the truth.
You can test it yourself.
Set a cache ratio of x36 and IA AC and IA DC loadline set to 1 but make sure you are using manual voltage.
Notice your power consumption is going to be much lower now?
If you want it even lower, set IA AC loadline to 1 and IA DC loadline to 210. (do not go higher than these values).

You also know you can change the CPU package power to report it's using 1/5 of the power it's actually using right?

Go into CPU VR Settings and set IMON SLOPE to 10 and see what happens.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Old 02-13-2019, 01:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 186
Rep: 0
I've noticed one interesting thing while tinkering with avx offset, "on live" if I can say so, using ixtu...
Soo, voltage does reacts on avx offset change, even if CPU is under load and non-avx ratio stays the same. I use mixed avx and non-avx workload, such as BFV. Moreover, when I drop avx offset to 7-8, voltage drops down to 1.150V, while CPU reaches 5GHz - and no instability, errors or bsods.

So, I guess, voltage tables for avx and non-avx workloads, their correlation is much more complicated than I though, even after reading this thread....

It's really weird, I must say - avx offset impact on stability is beyond my understanding.
So, basically, I have picture like this:
4.8GHz, no AVX offset, 1.248V - completely stable.
5.0GHz, -2 AVX offset, 1.344V - WHEA, BSoD, etc.
5.0GHz, -5 AVX offset, 1.200V - completely stable again!

I don't get it...

Last edited by Robostyle; 02-13-2019 at 02:12 PM.
Robostyle is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off