UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread - Page 326 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3251 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 02:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bl4ckdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Lyon, France
Posts: 594
Rep: 12 (Unique: 11)
Hello everyone,
So I installed my M11E with a 9900K this weekend to replace my M10F and 8700K and I'm really happy how it turned out.

The 9900K is stable at 5Ghz (0 AVX offset, LLC 6, 1.27v) for 3 hours in realbench which basically cover my needs in term of stability. Peak temp was 83°C which is very good.
The M11E also has way less difficulty to use my 4 DIMMs, I'm currently testing stability but it's very promising so far.

I still have not test past 5Ghz since I'm currently trying to find my 24/7 settings.

Is overcloking the cache (like 4600 or 4700) really worth it on 9900K ?

Build log : Hécate Mk I
Hécate Mk I
(21 items)
CPU
der8auer C​ore i7-870​0K Ultra​ Edition
Motherboard
Asus ROG MAXIMUS X FORMULA
GPU
NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
RAM
G.Skill F4​-3600C16Q-​32GTZKK
Hard Drive
Intel Opta​ne 900p 48​0GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 2TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Titanium 1000W
Cooling
EK MLC Phoenix [2x360]
Case
Parvum Cus​tom-made
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2716DG
Monitor
Dell UP2516D
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
HyperX FUR​Y S Pro
Audio
Focal Elea​r
Audio
Audeze Dec​kard
Audio
AT2035
Audio
Yamaha MG10XU
Other
Ensourced ​Custom Cab​les
▲ hide details ▲
bl4ckdot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3252 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 03:09 AM
@ASUS
 
Silent Scone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11,356
Rep: 402 (Unique: 225)
Quote: Originally Posted by bl4ckdot View Post
Hello everyone,
So I installed my M11E with a 9900K this weekend to replace my M10F and 8700K and I'm really happy how it turned out.

The 9900K is stable at 5Ghz (0 AVX offset, LLC 6, 1.27v) for 3 hours in realbench which basically cover my needs in term of stability. Peak temp was 83°C which is very good.
The M11E also has way less difficulty to use my 4 DIMMs, I'm currently testing stability but it's very promising so far.

I still have not test past 5Ghz since I'm currently trying to find my 24/7 settings.

Is overcloking the cache (like 4600 or 4700) really worth it on 9900K ?
Gains on uncore are still slim. When pushing memory frequency it can help to leave at defaults.
Silent Scone is online now  
post #3253 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 25,811
Rep: 1246 (Unique: 553)
Quote: Originally Posted by bl4ckdot View Post
Hello everyone,
So I installed my M11E with a 9900K this weekend to replace my M10F and 8700K and I'm really happy how it turned out.

The 9900K is stable at 5Ghz (0 AVX offset, LLC 6, 1.27v) for 3 hours in realbench which basically cover my needs in term of stability. Peak temp was 83°C which is very good.
The M11E also has way less difficulty to use my 4 DIMMs, I'm currently testing stability but it's very promising so far.

I still have not test past 5Ghz since I'm currently trying to find my 24/7 settings.

Is overcloking the cache (like 4600 or 4700) really worth it on 9900K ?
yeah, not much gain, but since it is fed by vcore, just get a stable OC with cache on auto then see how much cache OC is "free" at that same voltage.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

For Sale
X299
(25 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
7740X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299 Gaming
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3254 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 10:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,027
Rep: 51 (Unique: 42)
Quote: Originally Posted by smrdel View Post
Spoiler!


The PCI-E x4 slot you need will have to use a PCI-E X8 slot. Not the PCI-E x1 slot above the PCI-E x16 GPU slot. Also if you use 2 M.2s you will lose the use of SATA port 2.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #3255 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 02:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
smrdel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 87
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
[/SPOILER]

The PCI-E x4 slot you need will have to use a PCI-E X8 slot. Not the PCI-E x1 slot above the PCI-E x16 GPU slot. Also if you use 2 M.2s you will lose the use of SATA port 2.
Thanks thats what i thought so my 10 netwrok card will have to be in one of the lower GPU PCI e slots most likely PCIe x16 no 3 i.e the bottom one ?

What cards require PCIe x 1 these days would have thought they would be all at least x4 ? the only thing i can think of is basic gigabit network cards

Last edited by smrdel; 03-06-2019 at 02:49 PM.
smrdel is offline  
post #3256 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 03:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,027
Rep: 51 (Unique: 42)
Quote: Originally Posted by smrdel View Post
Thanks thats what i thought so my 10 netwrok card will have to be in one of the lower GPU PCI e slots most likely PCIe x16 no 3 i.e the bottom one ?

What cards require PCIe x 1 these days would have thought they would be all at least x4 ? the only thing i can think of is basic gigabit network cards
The bottom 3 x16 slot will work at 2x if it shares SATA 6G-56port otherwise it will be x4. x1 slots is used for sound cards, basic gigabit network cards, wireless cards.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #3257 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 11:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
smrdel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 87
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
The bottom 3 x16 slot will work at 2x if it shares SATA 6G-56port otherwise it will be x4. x1 slots is used for sound cards, basic gigabit network cards, wireless cards.
So I was planning to use all the SATA ports apart from SATA port 2 (because I am using both m.2 slots ) Then I will need to install 10G network card in PCIe 3 x16 slot 2 to get the x4 speed and not the last one ?

So my setup will be like this.....

My 2 x M.2 drives into the 2 x M.2 slots on the board (this will disbale SATA port 2)
2 s SSD's installed on SATA port 1 and port 3
3 mechanical drives on SATA port 4,5,6

RTX 2080 in 3x16 Slot 1

Asus 10G network card in 3 x 16 Slot 2 ( this will reduced the Slot 1 from x 16 to x8 and Slot 2 will be x8 so able to support the x4 10g Network card?)

Gee wiz I thought buying a board was much easier then this all this sharing of lanes is ridiculous and confusing.

Last edited by smrdel; 03-07-2019 at 03:29 AM.
smrdel is offline  
post #3258 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 11:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,027
Rep: 51 (Unique: 42)
Quote: Originally Posted by smrdel View Post
So I was planning to use all the SATA ports apart from SATA port 2 (because I am using both m.2 slots ) Then I will need to install 10G network card in PCIe 3 x16 slot 2 to get the x4 speed and not the last one ?
Correct setup.
Quote: Originally Posted by smrdel View Post
So my setup will be like this.....

My 2 x M.2 drives into the 2 x M.2 slots on the board (this will disbale SATA port 2)
2 s SSD's installed on SATA port 1 and port 3
3 mechanical drives on SATA port 4,5,6

RTX 2080 in 3x16 Slot 1

Asus 10G network card in 3 x 16 Slot 2 ( this will reduced the Slot 1 from x 16 to x8 and Slot 2 will be x8 so able to support the x4 10g Network card?)
Correct setup.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #3259 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 10:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
smrdel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 87
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
Correct setup.

Correct setup.
Thanks for help mate

I sent a support email to ASUS and the person reckons the top PCIe slot supports x4 cards !

Last edited by smrdel; 03-07-2019 at 10:11 PM.
smrdel is offline  
post #3260 of 3278 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 05:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Luck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 397
Rep: 24 (Unique: 16)
Anybody running the latest 0805 Bios for Asus Maximus Hero or similar z390? I just updated last night and it seem to be running hotter (same vcore and clocks). I didn't have time to check carefully so it could just be upgrader's paranoia. Ha.

Battlestation
(15 items)
TV Buddy
(15 items)
CPU
9900k
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero (Wifi)
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus 1080ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 8 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1 TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra Gold 1000 W
Cooling
Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator XB270HU
Keyboard
CM Quickfire TK
Mouse
Logitech G500s
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech G533 Gaming Headset
Audio
StudioSpares Powered Studio Monitors
CPU
i5-4690
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
GPU
EVGA GTX 670 FTW
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 4GB x 2
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 3 TB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240 GB SSD
Optical Drive
Pioneer BDC-207DBK Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
SeaSonic G550
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon 37.0 CFM 120mm x 2
Case
Silverstone GD09B
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Other
FLIRC USB Dongle for Media Centre
Other
Harmony 650 Remote
▲ hide details ▲
Luck100 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off