UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread - Page 335 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3341 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 06:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
scgt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 471
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post
have a look at the coffeelake overclocking guide linked in my sig. the 9900K is not that different from the 8700K in the main OC settings.
Well 1.243 on vcore is about as far as I got. I wish I kept up with overclocking over the years. The guide so far is great and all just I'm stuck as many things are frozen on auto and don't allow changes. For crying out loud stuck on step 2 LOL. I see no place for multiplier (5th step) I assume this would be the ratio which on the bios monitor currently shows 36x. There is no ratio setting under extreme tweaker or I'm just overlooking it.

Set cpu svid to auto
Core/cache voltage to manual
Core Cache voltage only has auto there is no pull down to override and set at the vcore from step 1 so I'm stuck. lol
scgt1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3342 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,198
Rep: 1273 (Unique: 561)
Quote: Originally Posted by scgt1 View Post
Well 1.243 on vcore is about as far as I got. I wish I kept up with overclocking over the years. The guide so far is great and all just I'm stuck as many things are frozen on auto and don't allow changes. For crying out loud stuck on step 2 LOL. I see no place for multiplier (5th step) I assume this would be the ratio which on the bios monitor currently shows 36x. There is no ratio setting under extreme tweaker or I'm just overlooking it.

Set cpu svid to auto
Core/cache voltage to manual
Core Cache voltage only has auto there is no pull down to override and set at the vcore from step 1 so I'm stuck. lol
the multiplier is on the main settings page in bios. I can dump a zip file of bios screenshots for ya. You can post bios SS simply by putting a USB stick in any port (just not an NTFS formatted stick) and when you hit F12 the screen is dumped to the usb stick as a bmp file.
edit: is the bios flashed to the most recent version?


edit: here's some bios screen shots. first thing is to set AI Tuner to manual (or XMP if you want XMP )
Attached Files
File Type: zip 190420105834.zip (1.49 MB, 7 views)

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

GPUs For Sale
X299
(26 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Jpmboy; 04-20-2019 at 08:03 AM.
Jpmboy is offline  
post #3343 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 09:55 AM
Overclock Enthusiast
 
fleps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 175
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Well just reporting back about my Z370, I was able to make Adaptive mode working using the guides.

It didn't improved the reported vcore from manual OC, (on load stays at 1.376/1.392), but this is using 1.3700 on bios with LLC6.

If I try LLC5 I need 1.395 on bios that will vdrop to 1.376 on load BUT reported peaks off 1.408 eventually, and I didn't liked that.

So with 1.37 and LLC6 the vcore will stay at 1.2ish on normal use, 1.376 on load with peaks of 1.392 on benchmarks.
Temps peak was 75C on 1 hour run with Prime large FFT, no WHEA errors. 3 RealBench loop with peak of 69C.

I also learned an interest thing that I didn't know: if I set my CPU minimum cache ratio above 42, it will not lower the vcore on idle even on Adaptive. So I left minimum at 42 and max at 46.

I'm impressed how silicon lottery can affect a chip, if this wasn't a deliled CPU with AIO it would be impossible to get 5Ghz.

But at least is not the worst one as I know some 8700K just can't hit 5Ghz.

» Intel i7 8700K delided 5Ghz | » EVGA CLC 280 watercooler | » Asus MAXIMUS X HERO | » G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8GB 3400Mhz CL16
» EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra OC: 2175/8250 @ Kraken G12/x42 | » Dell S2716DG 27' 144Hz G-Sync (DP) + LG 49UJ6525 4K [email protected] (HDMI)
» Sentey 80 Plus Gold 1000W | » Thermaltake Core x71 TG | » Windows 10 Pro 1709 build 16299.1059
fleps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3344 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 10:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
scgt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 471
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post
the multiplier is on the main settings page in bios. I can dump a zip file of bios screenshots for ya. You can post bios SS simply by putting a USB stick in any port (just not an NTFS formatted stick) and when you hit F12 the screen is dumped to the usb stick as a bmp file.
edit: is the bios flashed to the most recent version?


edit: here's some bios screen shots. first thing is to set AI Tuner to manual (or XMP if you want XMP )
So is the ratio limit the multiplier? I also noticed you set best case scenario which the guide says nothing about at least at the beginning up to the point of me getting stuck. LOL I can't manually enter voltage's like you have even though I selected manual. The only thing in the boxes below was Auto with no pull down arrow to manually enter values.

I started watching
and with that noticed Windows was only seeing 4/8 not 8/16 C/T. Am I that far out of the loop to not be forcing processors through MSCONFIG anymore? Once the box was unchecked and I rebooted I show all 8/16 in task manager. I thought my chip was way down on the Cinebench list with following that video. I mean a 7700K was above my chip ***! lol I guess if it's only utilizing half the cpu you can't expect much from it. Fixed now though.

On my daily with a 6600K I still have the box checked and processors manually selected and they all show like they should. Maybe it's just something with the newest gen chips where you can't force windows to see it as it does this on it's own it seems. If you force it crap gets screwed up and it only finds half the cpu it appears.
scgt1 is offline  
post #3345 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 06:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
scgt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 471
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
@Jpmboy So with following the above video and scoping your pictures from Bios I found what the actual multiplier is. LOL Frankly I don't like in the vid how he is just says set this voltage up to this level on manual right off the bat. Isn't the purpose to see how high you can go on the lowest voltage possible stable? Just coming out of the box and cranking the voltage sure it works and all but why toss voltage at your chip if you don't need it? Something odd I'm noticing while running Cinebench and watching cpu-z is the multiplier and speed start out what they should be but are dropping to 4.2 during the test. Under load wouldn't it stay at the multiplied number and not drop?

I also don't understand the difference in auto/adaptive on core/cache voltage (which is the number he just likes to crank up to a level not really knowing if the chip needs that much) Wouldn't they be the same considering adaptive adjusts to what is needed as would auto?
I currently have it on adaptive and I'm booting to windows at 100/52 along with completing a Cinebench run. I know the real test is running Prime95 for actual stability but I don't think I'm there yet. Need to find the max sweet spot before running through that I think.

Also LLC was on auto and showed to be currently on Level 6 So I manually set it to 6 as he mentioned doing so in the video also.

Last edited by scgt1; 04-21-2019 at 06:24 AM.
scgt1 is offline  
post #3346 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 12:31 PM
Overclock Enthusiast
 
fleps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 175
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by scgt1 View Post
@Jpmboy So with following the above video and scoping your pictures from Bios I found what the actual multiplier is. LOL Frankly I don't like in the vid how he is just says set this voltage up to this level on manual right off the bat. Isn't the purpose to see how high you can go on the lowest voltage possible stable? Just coming out of the box and cranking the voltage sure it works and all but why toss voltage at your chip if you don't need it? Something odd I'm noticing while running Cinebench and watching cpu-z is the multiplier and speed start out what they should be but are dropping to 4.2 during the test. Under load wouldn't it stay at the multiplied number and not drop?

I also don't understand the difference in auto/adaptive on core/cache voltage (which is the number he just likes to crank up to a level not really knowing if the chip needs that much) Wouldn't they be the same considering adaptive adjusts to what is needed as would auto?
I currently have it on adaptive and I'm booting to windows at 100/52 along with completing a Cinebench run. I know the real test is running Prime95 for actual stability but I don't think I'm there yet. Need to find the max sweet spot before running through that I think.

Also LLC was on auto and showed to be currently on Level 6 So I manually set it to 6 as he mentioned doing so in the video also.
I'll be honest with you man: since your first message it's really hard to understand what you are saying.

Jpmboy guide is very straight forward, just follow each step with attention and there's no way stuff isn't clear.

But by your messages looks like you are too anxious or not reading each step with proper attention, and just wanting to skip to the end and reach a good OC, and that's a bad way to approach overclocking.

So my suggestion is that you go back to the guide and read it slowly and pay attention to every step until stuff is clear.
And then you can digg into more detailed stuff if you want.

Or just forget overclocking if you don't have the patience.
It's ok, it's not for everyone to spend an entire weekend changing numbers and doing stress tests.
Just enabling turbo mode these chips will already boost to whatever boost they have and there's no shame on that.

Peace.

» Intel i7 8700K delided 5Ghz | » EVGA CLC 280 watercooler | » Asus MAXIMUS X HERO | » G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8GB 3400Mhz CL16
» EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra OC: 2175/8250 @ Kraken G12/x42 | » Dell S2716DG 27' 144Hz G-Sync (DP) + LG 49UJ6525 4K [email protected] (HDMI)
» Sentey 80 Plus Gold 1000W | » Thermaltake Core x71 TG | » Windows 10 Pro 1709 build 16299.1059
fleps is offline  
post #3347 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,198
Rep: 1273 (Unique: 561)
Quote: Originally Posted by fleps View Post
I'll be honest with you man: since your first message it's really hard to understand what you are saying.

Jpmboy guide is very straight forward, just follow each step with attention and there's no way stuff isn't clear.

But by your messages looks like you are too anxious or not reading each step with proper attention, and just wanting to skip to the end and reach a good OC, and that's a bad way to approach overclocking.

So my suggestion is that you go back to the guide and read it slowly and pay attention to every step until stuff is clear.
And then you can digg into more detailed stuff if you want.

Or just forget overclocking if you don't have the patience.
It's ok, it's not for everyone to spend an entire weekend changing numbers and doing stress tests.
Just enabling turbo mode these chips will already boost to whatever boost they have and there's no shame on that.

Peace.
^^ This is too true! Stock clocks are pretty high these days, and going from say 4.7 "per core" to 5.0 (+6%) on all cores is not really a gain you feel in a game that uses 2 to 4 cores.
+1

Quote: Originally Posted by fleps View Post
Well just reporting back about my Z370, I was able to make Adaptive mode working using the guides.
It didn't improved the reported vcore from manual OC, (on load stays at 1.376/1.392), but this is using 1.3700 on bios with LLC6.
If I try LLC5 I need 1.395 on bios that will vdrop to 1.376 on load BUT reported peaks off 1.408 eventually, and I didn't liked that.
So with 1.37 and LLC6 the vcore will stay at 1.2ish on normal use, 1.376 on load with peaks of 1.392 on benchmarks.
Temps peak was 75C on 1 hour run with Prime large FFT, no WHEA errors. 3 RealBench loop with peak of 69C.
I also learned an interest thing that I didn't know: if I set my CPU minimum cache ratio above 42, it will not lower the vcore on idle even on Adaptive. So I left minimum at 42 and max at 46.
I'm impressed how silicon lottery can affect a chip, if this wasn't a deliled CPU with AIO it would be impossible to get 5Ghz.
But at least is not the worst one as I know some 8700K just can't hit 5Ghz.
the cache thing may be related to the ram frequency ( are you running 4000 or 4200 ram? min cache will be = ram freq, not ram speed). But yeah, cache can use a fair amount of power, generate extra heat, and provide only marginal gains. That said, we all try to run it has high as we can without raising the vcore (much) above what the cores need to be stable (it is basically a free cache OC at that point).

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

GPUs For Sale
X299
(26 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Jpmboy; 04-22-2019 at 07:21 AM.
Jpmboy is offline  
post #3348 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 08:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
scgt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 471
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
Well with using JJ's video I linked above I was in Windows at 5.2 (100x52) 1.3?v I didn't jot down what the max vcore utilized was. Ran the cpu-z bench, Rogbench, and cinebench all for one pass. (Using adaptive voltage and not just pumping the voltage up like JJ did and using LLC6 as stated in the vid) Considering the real goal of the silicon lottery isn't how much voltage you can dump into a chip but how high the chip will get on the lowest possible voltage all while not nuking itself either.

Since I was told yesterday I make no sense yet I read back over each post and everything makes sense to me. It's what ever. I've moved back to stock as of this morning and have started ramping the core up following the guide since with watching the video I found out what the multiplier was which is where I was hung following the guide.

I hit a wall attempting 5.0 (100x50) 1.285v which is what the previous owner said they had the chip to and stopped pushing it further. I then switched what the guide said of LLC5 to what JJ said (considering the vid I posted above is strictly for the 9900K and XI boards) which is LLC6. Doing this allowed ROG bench to not crash which it was doing previously. Switching from LLC5 to LLC6 spiked the times up about 4C to 75C max the max vcore was 1.279 with the bios set on 1.285v. Since I've ran many tests I've increased the ambient temp in our office which could be part of the culprit in the increase in 4-5C temp. I'll work on it some more tomorrow morning when it's cooler.

I'm getting there.

Last edited by scgt1; 04-22-2019 at 08:43 AM.
scgt1 is offline  
post #3349 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,198
Rep: 1273 (Unique: 561)
Quote: Originally Posted by scgt1 View Post
Well with using JJ's video I linked above I was in Windows at 5.2 (100x52) 1.3?v I didn't jot down what the max vcore utilized was. Ran the cpu-z bench, Rogbench, and cinebench all for one pass. (Using adaptive voltage and not just pumping the voltage up like JJ did and using LLC6 as stated in the vid) Considering the real goal of the silicon lottery isn't how much voltage you can dump into a chip but how high the chip will get on the lowest possible voltage all while not nuking itself either.

Since I was told yesterday I make no sense yet I read back over each post and everything makes sense to me. It's what ever. I've moved back to stock as of this morning and have started ramping the core up following the guide since with watching the video I found out what the multiplier was which is where I was hung following the guide.

I hit a wall attempting 5.0 (100x50) 1.285v which is what the previous owner said they had the chip to and stopped pushing it further. I then switched what the guide said of LLC5 to what JJ said (considering the vid I posted above is strictly for the 9900K and XI boards) which is LLC6. Doing this allowed ROG bench to not crash which it was doing previously. Switching from LLC5 to LLC6 spiked the times up about 4C to 75C max the max vcore was 1.279 with the bios set on 1.285v. Since I've ran many tests I've increased the ambient temp in our office which could be part of the culprit in the increase in 4-5C temp. I'll work on it some more tomorrow morning when it's cooler.

I'm getting there.
good job. Just FYI, the purpose of LLC is to "compensate for" and not dampen load transition spikes (technically: transient load line over and under shoot. V_ovs in intel's tech docs) that occurs when you change the amp/current flow (read: load) on a voltage clamped circuit (vcore is "clamped" to a frequency whether using manual override or adaptive). These transitiion spikes happen in the millisec time frame and are not something you can see with any std software or even a DMM hooked to the MB. It takes an oscilloscope and sometimes a socket tool. They cause degradation over time. So... what I'm sayin' is rather than meet the vcore needed by the cpu thru decreasing LLC (which is a higher number on ASUS boards. 6 and higher can/will actually add voltage to the bios set value depending on the board and bios version), allowing the chip to run light loads (or idle) at a higher vcore, which have very little current draw, compared to realbench or p95, with the heavy loads showing "healthy" vdroop is a good thing in the long run. Currrent kills, just ask Thomas Edison.
daaum - what a run-on sentence.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

GPUs For Sale
X299
(26 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Jpmboy; 04-22-2019 at 10:25 AM.
Jpmboy is offline  
post #3350 of 3413 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 12:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,665
Rep: 370 (Unique: 263)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post
good job. Just FYI, the purpose of LLC is to "compensate for" and not dampen load transition spikes (technically: transient load line over and under shoot. V_ovs in intel's tech docs) that occurs when you change the amp/current flow (read: load) on a voltage clamped circuit (vcore is "clamped" to a frequency whether using manual override or adaptive). These transitiion spikes happen in the millisec time frame and are not something you can see with any std software or even a DMM hooked to the MB. It takes an oscilloscope and sometimes a socket tool. They cause degradation over time. So... what I'm sayin' is rather than meet the vcore needed by the cpu thru decreasing LLC (which is a higher number on ASUS boards. 6 and higher can/will actually add voltage to the bios set value depending on the board and bios version), allowing the chip to run light loads (or idle) at a higher vcore, which have very little current draw, compared to realbench or p95, with the heavy loads showing "healthy" vdroop is a good thing in the long run. Currrent kills, just ask Thomas Edison.
daaum - what a run-on sentence.
Microseconds (us), not milliseconds If it was milliseconds, a good fluke would pick it up most likely.
Other than that, good advice. Raja even admitted that loadline vdroop is your friend.
The AC loadline value cushions the pain a bit by boosting the CPU power supply (depending on several factors) so you end up with a higher end voltage, as if you were using"less" vdroop (vdroop is still the same as the loadline calibration value, just the input voltage is boosted) than you would in manual voltages. Only works on Auto/offset voltages though.
Seems to add about 100mv at 1.6 mOhms AC loadline compared to 0.01 mOhms.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off