UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread - Page 355 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3541 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-20-2019, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,445
Rep: 1280 (Unique: 565)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ziver View Post
I have a very odd problem ! Maybe you can help me . I can manage to get 5.1Ghz stable With 1.32v and temps are not going above 82c. But this is before change my rams :/ When im using Corsair 32GB 8x4 3200Mhz RGB Pro , everything good and stable with 5.1Ghz. But after change my rams to 8x4 Corsair Dominator RGB 3200mhz, i cant get stable at 5.1ghz. I tried diffrent vccsa and vcsıo voltage nothing change. But when try 2 stick again i can get 5.1GHz stable but tried 4 stick again i cant do 5.1ghz. Now i can do 1.288v 5.0ghz without problem.

Why i cant do it with 4 stick Dominator ?

9700K
Asus Maximus Hero Wifi Z390
Corsair H150i Pro
the only difference in that ram swap is "Pro"? Did you try lowering the cache multiplier with the new sticks with the core at 5.1 (and the previously good 5.1 vcore)? Cache draws from vcore and it's affected by differences in ram ICs.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
GPUs For Sale
X299
(27 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370
(19 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3542 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 06:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 254
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
HELP!!!!!! My ASUS Z390-E refuses to cooperate with my 8700k. Each work in different combos, but not together!

The BIOS is latest. EDIT - No bent pins!

So, I recently purchased a combo of an i5-9400f & ASUS z390-e over ebay (open box). The plan was to "upgrade" the CPU to a delidded 8700k I had running in my son's machine. But now I have encountered problems, perhaps Motherboard, perhaps CPU related, I can't understand this weird behavior:

I tested the z390-E with the i5-9400f and two sticks of G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600c17 upon purchase, several weeks ago. All 4 RAM slots were tested (one pair then another pair), all went fine.

Just yesterday I tested the same 8700k on another solid board for my another build (Mobo GB z390AorusUltra) and it worked fine with the same kit. All 4 ram slots were tested, in dual channel mode again, and no problems.

Today:

1. I cleared CMOS, placed the 8700k into ASUS z390-E and RAM into recommended slots A2-B2 - orange RAM led turns solid, no post.

(Every time I cleared CMOS again after each RAM slots change that followed)

2. Tried one stick in RAM slot A2 as per ASUS single channel placement (mobo manual) - orange led on, no post.

3. Tried two sticks of RAM in A1-B1 - orange led on, no post.

4. Tried only one stick of RAM in A1 - orange led on, no post.

5. Tried only one stick in B2 - all fine, went into post & UEFI(!)

6. Tried only one stick in B1 - all fine,
went into post & UEFI.

7. Tried two sticks in B1-B2 - all fine, well, single channel - went into post & UEFI (yes, I then loaded optimized defaults)

8. Without clearing CMOS immediately tried ASUS recommended A2-B2 two sticks - no joy [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif[/IMG]

9. Cleared CMOS, tried A2-B2 again. Orange led, no post again.

9b. Took out 8700k, installed the 9400f and everything's fine, RAM works, PC boots into UEFI & Windows.

10. Installed the 8700k into Z390 Aorus with the same RAM kit in slots A1-B1 and it works fine,

11. installed the 8700k back into ASUS and no, it refuses to post!!!

This was written between all these attempts. Latest Asus z390-e Bios. The socket is clean. Argh!

- If 8700k works with the same RAM, in dual channel, on a z390 Aorus Ultra,

- and ASUS works fine with this RAM and 9400f,

- why on Earth doesn't ASUS Z390-E works with the 8700k and this RAM???!!!

P.S. And I did used a different RAM kit (ADATA XPG 3000C16) and still the same problem.

P.P.S. My PSU is EVGA 850P2 and I changed two cables on two different connectors to the CPU power socket, just to make sure. Still, this is the same PSU that works fine with 8700k & z390 Aorus.

I am your father?

Last edited by DarthFK; 08-23-2019 at 01:27 PM.
DarthFK is offline  
post #3543 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,445
Rep: 1280 (Unique: 565)
check the z390-e for bent socket pins.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
GPUs For Sale
X299
(27 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370
(19 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3544 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 07:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 254
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post
check the z390-e for bent socket pins.
Yeah, first thing checked. No bent pins. And i5-9400F works, but i7-8700k doesn't.

I am your father?
DarthFK is offline  
post #3545 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 01:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 254
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
If this is the "official" Asus support thread, is there an @asus rep to answer my question, please?

I am your father?
DarthFK is offline  
post #3546 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,445
Rep: 1280 (Unique: 565)
Yup, it is. NO ASUS tech support here (lately). It seems like you got a bad/bugged board off ebay... that would piss me off too.



"9b" in your description, I'll assume that the 3600c17 sticks worked in any of the (2) dual channel configurations with the 9400f? If yes, clean the bottom of the 8700K with alcohol, remount it and be sure to not overtighten the cooling block. The giga board uses a serial ram layout (afaik), and the ASUS 4 slot board uses T-topology... which seems more sensitive to over or uneven tightening around the socket. You could try flashing back to an earlier bios version - the first supporting CFL. Since your board is second hand, well you could try an ASUS support ticket if you think that will help. Or try the ROG Channel on Discord.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
GPUs For Sale
X299
(27 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370
(19 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Jpmboy; 08-23-2019 at 05:21 PM.
Jpmboy is offline  
post #3547 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 06:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 254
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Thanks Jpmboy for your reply! Understood about ASUS. Too many complaints, I guess.

Well, yes, the Asus z390-E did work with the same RAM in both channels (a2b2/a1b1), with the 9400f hooked up. But I also did wipe the 8700k before installing it. I always clean and inspect any CPU before installing them. So that wasn't the issue.

Very good point on T-topology - I didn't know that. But I've read previously that coolers might do that in some cases, and also initially thought that me overtightening the Be Quet DRP3 might have been a reason for this weird behaviour. I did use a stock intel cooler after that (and before reporting here) just to be sure. Still no joy. So, the cooler/overtightening doesn't seem to have been the reason.

I will, however, try a 9700k in that z390-E and see how it reacts.

After that I'll think about rechecking the RAM with the 9400f and flashing an older CF launch BIOS for a try. Wanted to do that this evening, but just ended my thermal paste yesterday and got an IC diamond 24 (what a mess of a paste, stained my 9400F badly). So today, instead of retesting, had to get to BestBuy and buy some basic Thermaltake TG7 paste till a new Noctua paste gets in. I'll try to see if I can test today - even if Asus is not on this thread, I'll report today or tomorrow, to keep you posted and anyone who might have a similar issue aware.

Thank you for your help and ideas!

I am your father?
DarthFK is offline  
post #3548 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 03:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 254
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Well, I tried the 9700k with the RAM in A2B2 and had the same issue as with the 8700k - no post and the boot stops before post, at orange led RAM lights.

I then tried 1 RAM stick in B2 and it was again ok. Then I downloaded and tried to downgrade the BIOS via UEFI Ez-Flash utility and it didn't allow me to. So, I used the AMI Flash Utility (USB/DOS) and I got it successfully downgraded and then upon restart it cannot pass the RAM in any slot (apparently is bricked).

Now it shows orange light upon checking, with any stick in any RAM slot and the CrashFree utility does not start (or I am doing something wrong?). It's 6am in the morning and I haven't slept a bit, trying to troubleshoot it, need some sleep. But... Help!

I am your father?

Last edited by DarthFK; 08-24-2019 at 03:36 AM.
DarthFK is offline  
post #3549 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 04:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 254
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Well:

1. The 8700k went into the "old" AsRock z370 Taichi with an identical RAM kit (TridentZ 3600c17) and works in dual channel on A2B2 slots [email protected] The thing with this specific Asrock us that it had bent pins limiting A1B1 to stock RAM speed, hence my search for another two boards. Anyway, obviously the 8700k & RAM work on AsRock (T-Topology?). Hence it is definitely the Asus z390-E at fault.

2. The Asus z390-E (that showed successfull AMI [dos/usb] utity flash for one step BIOS downgrade, but then refused to boot in any RAM config with the 9700k) - it doesn't even want to go into Asus Crashfree Bios, a feature it presumably has (fat32 formatted USB, bios name changed to z390e.cap). Any ideas if it's at all possible to force the Crashfree to work? Or I am left with eeprom flashing option only (never tried that)?

I feel like I am going deeper into the rabbit's hole every step I take with this board 😤🤯

I am your father?

Last edited by DarthFK; 08-24-2019 at 04:59 PM.
DarthFK is offline  
post #3550 of 3590 (permalink) Old 08-27-2019, 09:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
I noticed a bizarre issue while fiddling with overclocking and was hoping to find a solution. The components relevant to my question are the i7 8700k and Asus Z390-I motherboard on the latest 2417 bios revision. Getting to the point, monitoring via HWinfo64 shows the RING: VR Voltage Max, ICCmax, PL4 flag being set as true when applying an AVX offset of 2. Incidentally, I am experiencing core/cache frequency throttling. I have confirmed this AVX setting is what is causing my problem. My confusion is why it is causing this problem. If I apply a -1 offset the system behaves as expected. As soon as I go to a -2 offset the undesirable behavior occurs. I have taken the following troubleshooting steps to fix the problem to no avail.

1. Reset to defaults and apply desired settings over again from scratch.
2. Disable XMP, reboot, check results.
3. Steadily increment desired core voltage (the setting description says avx offsets may require higher core voltages).
3. Max out any and all current/power limits in bios.
4. Tried all three MCE settings of auto, disabled and enabled (I "think" this adjusts the #3 values, but am not certain).
5. Manually defined cache ratios (this works with a manual OC if both values are set to the same ratio, it does not seem to work under adaptive).
6. Adjustments to LLC settings using values between 4-6.

At this point I am at a loss. I'm wondering if some type of glitch/bug is afoot.

As an edit to my own post.... I think I figured out what is happening. It would appear if the AVX offset pushes the frequency below the default, stock turbo boost frequency the board thinks a power/current limit is being breached. The 8700k defaults to a 4.7 ghz max turbo boost frequency. I was running an OC at 4.8 ghz with a -2 AVX offset, thereby dropping it to 4.6 ghz when running anything with AVX (below 4.7 ghz). I then tested the idea with a 4.9 ghz OC with -3 AVX offset, and 5 ghz OC with -4 AVX offset. From there I tested even lower AVX offsets for the 4.8-5.0 ghz range. Sure enough, anytime the offset pushes the processor below that 4.7 stock turbo boost frequency the HWinfo error was active and the core/cache frequencies would throttle.

It does not appear to matter whether you adjust power/current limits, voltages, whatever. With manual mode defining the max/min cache ratios appears to fix the problem. With adaptive nothing appears to work. I'm curious about the reason behind this but, meh, another time perhaps. I edited my post in case someone else has a similar problem.

Last edited by Iridium31; 08-28-2019 at 01:33 AM.
Iridium31 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off