UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread. North America - Page 384 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread. North America

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3831 of 3856 (permalink) Old 03-30-2020, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 27,514
Rep: 1340 (Unique: 582)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
The CPU was perfectly fine until he put it into the Gigabyte board.
So the GB board killed two CPU's.
Bad mobo.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tumblr_e61dde89488fe15d47bc5ec7eaa0fde3_0b997c5f_640.gif
Views:	35
Size:	1.78 MB
ID:	336012  


ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
X299
(33 items)
x99
(17 items)
Z370
(20 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
10980XE
CPU
10980XE @ 4.8
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
3x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4200c17
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 1300W
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Cooling
2x Koolance -3K3U
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Case
Lian Li
Case
Case Labs
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Monitor
AOC 144Hz
Monitor
TCL 55" 4K60
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
AsRock Radeon VII / Blkski Block
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3832 of 3856 (permalink) Old 03-30-2020, 02:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 340
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Did you buy Intel's Processor Replacement Plan?
I suggest you buy that right now if it's still available. It would be Intel who replaces the processors. And that GB board needs to be RMA'd before it kills something else.
No, no replacement plan, regular Microcenter purchases. I was thinking that it should be withing warranty with Intel, without any additional replacement plans. Scratching my head, I was thinking to contact Gigabyte, under the impression that the MB manufacturer is responsible for the damage, so maybe they should replace the CPUs too (well...)

Anyway, one of my Asus related questions stemmed from the fact that after that GB board, I placed the CPU back into my Asus and got into BIOS, but it froze there, then the board threw CC (incomplete BIOS) and 55 (no RAM) errors. I thought that if the CPU would be broken it wouldn't be able to go into BIOS at all. Hence my attempts to troubleshoot on the Maximus board and trying BIOS flashback, etc, asking for any ideas.

If you have any additional thoughts about being able to enter into BIOS originally, but not now, let me know.

Thank you all for weighing in in the meantime!!!

I am your father?
Workhorse
(13 items)
CPU
Intel i7-9700k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero WiFi
GPU
Powercolor Red Devil RX5700 (flashed with RX5700XT BIOS)
RAM
Adata XPG Spetrix D41 16Gb dual kit (2x8Gb) 3600c17 Samsung B-die.
Hard Drive
Crucial P1 NVMe 1Tb QLC
Power Supply
EVGA 850W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqmax 240 II with 2 x Nidec GT2150rpm PWM
Case
Fractal Design Define C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC G2590FX 1080p 144Hz
Keyboard
CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 RAPIDFIRE Low Profile
Mouse
Pictek Gaming Mouse 7200dpi
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 XL
▲ hide details ▲
DarthFK is offline  
post #3833 of 3856 (permalink) Old 03-31-2020, 05:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 340
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Update of some sorts - I purchased locally an i3-9100f, reflashed the BIOS, cleared CMOS and my Asus Maximus X Hero board booted fine with it.

Then I cleared CMOS and tried the two 9700k and one still threw the CC and then 55 error, while the other threw 00 error (no CPU).

At this point it is more than clear that there is no way that any of the 9700k would work on the Asus (or any board at all), even after my 9700k initially booted & froze in the BIOS, giving me some remote hope.

Thanks for the suggestion about the Intel Protection Plan @Falkentyne . Gigabyte replied that the CPUs are not their problem. I looked at the intel PTPP plan and for $20 it covers CPU death due to OCing. Well... unfortunately, Intel's website is having problems for the 2nd consecutive day (lol!), but I think I will be able to purchase it next days. This was a very good advise! Thanks!

I am your father?
Workhorse
(13 items)
CPU
Intel i7-9700k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero WiFi
GPU
Powercolor Red Devil RX5700 (flashed with RX5700XT BIOS)
RAM
Adata XPG Spetrix D41 16Gb dual kit (2x8Gb) 3600c17 Samsung B-die.
Hard Drive
Crucial P1 NVMe 1Tb QLC
Power Supply
EVGA 850W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqmax 240 II with 2 x Nidec GT2150rpm PWM
Case
Fractal Design Define C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC G2590FX 1080p 144Hz
Keyboard
CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 RAPIDFIRE Low Profile
Mouse
Pictek Gaming Mouse 7200dpi
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 XL
▲ hide details ▲
DarthFK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3834 of 3856 (permalink) Old 04-02-2020, 09:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 265
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
So haven't been in overclocking game in a long while, last I was did was frist gen i7,
my questions are
1. Are my voltage and temp normal under current overclock looking at hwinfo screenshot I provided
2. First time offset option, Its been stable under blender tests with offset -130-LLC Level 3(heard vdroop is a good thing so I relaxed the LLC to 3), is offset better than fixed?
3. I have my pc connected to UPS and at stress test I was expecting a consistent wattage pull but it seems to fluctuate between 260 to 360, so it jumps 100 watts every half a tick(.5 second) or so, I'm monitoring cpu usage and its always at max during stress test and with xtu monitoring various throttle values nothing comes up throttling
4. I can just ignore my VID since I'm on offset, is that correct?

Thank you so much your help ahead of time. I just wanted some peace of mind regarding my set up and seeing the wattage jump all over the place made me feel a bit uneasy




Motherboard model:Fatal1ty Z370 Professional Gaming i7
UEFI Version: 4.20
CPU:i9 9900k
Memory kit part number (s) and amount in GB: G.SKill F4-3600C15-8GTZ Quantity 4 of total 32 gb
GPU: 1080ti
PSU: Seasonic PRIME TX-850
CPU Cooler:Corsair h100i pro
Operating system: Win 10 Pro activated
Any third Party temp/voltage software installed:hwmonitor, icue, hwinfo64, intel xtu,
System Overclocked (provide details)? 5.0ghz offset -130, LLC Level 3
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	syustemp.PNG
Views:	44
Size:	411.9 KB
ID:	336666  



Last edited by dagan; 04-02-2020 at 09:52 PM.
dagan is offline  
post #3835 of 3856 (permalink) Old 04-02-2020, 10:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 340
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by dagan View Post
So haven't been in overclocking game in a long while, last I was did was frist gen i7,
my questions are
1. Are my voltage and temp normal under current overclock looking at hwinfo screenshot I provided
2. First time offset option, Its been stable under blender tests with offset -130-LLC Level 3(heard vdroop is a good thing so I relaxed the LLC to 3), is offset better than fixed?
3. I have my pc connected to UPS and at stress test I was expecting a consistent wattage pull but it seems to fluctuate between 260 to 360, so it jumps 100 watts every half a tick(.5 second) or so, I'm monitoring cpu usage and its always at max during stress test and with xtu monitoring various throttle values nothing comes up throttling
4. I can just ignore my VID since I'm on offset, is that correct?

Thank you so much your help ahead of time. I just wanted some peace of mind regarding my set up and seeing the wattage jump all over the place made me feel a bit uneasy




Motherboard model:Fatal1ty Z370 Professional Gaming i7
UEFI Version: 4.20
CPU:i9 9900k
Memory kit part number (s) and amount in GB: G.SKill F4-3600C15-8GTZ Quantity 4 of total 32 gb
GPU: 1080ti
PSU: Seasonic PRIME TX-850
CPU Cooler:Corsair h100i pro
Operating system: Win 10 Pro activated
Any third Party temp/voltage software installed:hwmonitor, icue, hwinfo64, intel xtu,
System Overclocked (provide details)? 5.0ghz offset -130, LLC Level 3
You're asking this on an Asus thread and you have an Asrock motherboard, which counts the vdroop/llc "backwards" (LLC1 being the highest on Asrock). I'd suggest you to address that on the AsRock thread or a separate thread on OCing. Otherwise, as a previous owner of a z370 Taichi, I would suggest you to use LLC2 or LL1, and I think your vcore is high (weed probably?)

Ok, before you open your own thread or go to Asrock, go on youtube and search for Kapteeni Kuolio "i7 8700K 5Ghz & Memory Overclocking with Asrock Z370 Taichi Motherboard" - he OCs an 8700k on Asrock, as that is not a fundamentally different CPU, while the MB is practically identical, except vcore voltage on the 9900k should be lower.

I am your father?
Workhorse
(13 items)
CPU
Intel i7-9700k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero WiFi
GPU
Powercolor Red Devil RX5700 (flashed with RX5700XT BIOS)
RAM
Adata XPG Spetrix D41 16Gb dual kit (2x8Gb) 3600c17 Samsung B-die.
Hard Drive
Crucial P1 NVMe 1Tb QLC
Power Supply
EVGA 850W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqmax 240 II with 2 x Nidec GT2150rpm PWM
Case
Fractal Design Define C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC G2590FX 1080p 144Hz
Keyboard
CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 RAPIDFIRE Low Profile
Mouse
Pictek Gaming Mouse 7200dpi
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 XL
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by DarthFK; 04-02-2020 at 10:40 PM.
DarthFK is offline  
post #3836 of 3856 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 27,514
Rep: 1340 (Unique: 582)
Quote: Originally Posted by dagan View Post
So haven't been in overclocking game in a long while, last I was did was frist gen i7,
my questions are
1. Are my voltage and temp normal under current overclock looking at hwinfo screenshot I provided
2. First time offset option, Its been stable under blender tests with offset -130-LLC Level 3(heard vdroop is a good thing so I relaxed the LLC to 3), is offset better than fixed?
3. I have my pc connected to UPS and at stress test I was expecting a consistent wattage pull but it seems to fluctuate between 260 to 360, so it jumps 100 watts every half a tick(.5 second) or so, I'm monitoring cpu usage and its always at max during stress test and with xtu monitoring various throttle values nothing comes up throttling
4. I can just ignore my VID since I'm on offset, is that correct?

Thank you so much your help ahead of time. I just wanted some peace of mind regarding my set up and seeing the wattage jump all over the place made me feel a bit uneasy




Motherboard model:Fatal1ty Z370 Professional Gaming i7
UEFI Version: 4.20
CPU:i9 9900k
Memory kit part number (s) and amount in GB: G.SKill F4-3600C15-8GTZ Quantity 4 of total 32 gb
GPU: 1080ti
PSU: Seasonic PRIME TX-850
CPU Cooler:Corsair h100i pro
Operating system: Win 10 Pro activated
Any third Party temp/voltage software installed:hwmonitor, icue, hwinfo64, intel xtu,
System Overclocked (provide details)? 5.0ghz offset -130, LLC Level 3
yeah, that vcore is way too high for that frequency on that CPU. Most 9900Ks do 5.0 at under 1.3V. You should look for an AsRock or 9900K therad.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
X299
(33 items)
x99
(17 items)
Z370
(20 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
10980XE
CPU
10980XE @ 4.8
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
3x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4200c17
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 1300W
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Cooling
2x Koolance -3K3U
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Case
Lian Li
Case
Case Labs
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Monitor
AOC 144Hz
Monitor
TCL 55" 4K60
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
AsRock Radeon VII / Blkski Block
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #3837 of 3856 (permalink) Old 04-15-2020, 01:59 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
Norlig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West coast of Norway
Posts: 3,503
Rep: 118 (Unique: 108)
I got the Asus ROG z390-f Gaming
My 9900k has recently been stuck at 5.1Ghz all the time.

It's not due to windows power options (minimum processor state set to 10%)
If I set maximum power state to less than 100%, the frequency does drop.

Tried updating the Bios.

I cant figure out what setting in Bios allows it to downclock at idle, or if its related to a program thats running. (Tried killing any running applications that seemed to not be system critical)

Anyone got any suggestions?

(pictures from before I updated the bios)
Attached Images
File Type: bmp 200415223413.BMP (3.00 MB, 13 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223350.BMP (3.00 MB, 9 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223426.BMP (3.00 MB, 6 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223433.BMP (3.00 MB, 6 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223452.BMP (3.00 MB, 5 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223501.BMP (3.00 MB, 6 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223507.BMP (3.00 MB, 6 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223515.BMP (3.00 MB, 5 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223525.BMP (3.00 MB, 6 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223531.BMP (3.00 MB, 6 views)
File Type: bmp 200415223540.BMP (3.00 MB, 6 views)

Main Rig: 9900K @ 5.1Ghz , 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3200Mhz CL16 , Asus Geforce GTX 1080ti FE, Corsair RM850i, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB, 3x Samsung 850 Evo 250GB in Raid0, Custom Watercooling.
HTPC/Server: Asus Strix X299-A , Intel Core i7-7800x @ 4.5Ghz, 16GB 2666Mhz C16 ram, PNY RTX 2070 XR8 OC Twin, Kingston A1000 960GB,

Last edited by Norlig; 04-15-2020 at 02:09 PM.
Norlig is offline  
post #3838 of 3856 (permalink) Old 04-15-2020, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 27,514
Rep: 1340 (Unique: 582)
Quote: Originally Posted by Norlig View Post
I got the Asus ROG z390-f Gaming
My 9900k has recently been stuck at 5.1Ghz all the time.

It's not due to windows power options (minimum processor state set to 10%)
If I set maximum power state to less than 100%, the frequency does drop.

Tried updating the Bios.

I cant figure out what setting in Bios allows it to downclock at idle, or if its related to a program thats running. (Tried killing any running applications that seemed to not be system critical)

Anyone got any suggestions?

(pictures from before I updated the bios)
As the last bios screen shot shows, your P1 freq is base turbo... so:

1) Multicore "MCE" to Auto. Disabling it is not relevant once you overclock manually - it can only work with default settings for multi and voltage.
2) Min cache freq to Auto (XMP will do this for a silly reason)
3) Look for EIST (speedstep) and Speedshift, assure that both are set to Auto or Enabled (XMPO can putz with these too).
If after this it works correctly. enjoy. If not, or if you want to purge the system of XMP settings and begin with a better OC (not one done by the guy programming the RAM EEPROM):

Simply note the primary ram timings, Dram voltage and speed. Then CLRCMOS, do not enable XMP - set your CPU OC. Does it down clock normally? If yes, now enter the ram timings, voltage and speed manually - F10 to save and exit. Viola.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
X299
(33 items)
x99
(17 items)
Z370
(20 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
10980XE
CPU
10980XE @ 4.8
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
3x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4200c17
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 1300W
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Cooling
2x Koolance -3K3U
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Case
Lian Li
Case
Case Labs
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Monitor
AOC 144Hz
Monitor
TCL 55" 4K60
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
AsRock Radeon VII / Blkski Block
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #3839 of 3856 (permalink) Old 04-15-2020, 11:04 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
Norlig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West coast of Norway
Posts: 3,503
Rep: 118 (Unique: 108)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post
As the last bios screen shot shows, your P1 freq is base turbo... so:

1) Multicore "MCE" to Auto. Disabling it is not relevant once you overclock manually - it can only work with default settings for multi and voltage.
2) Min cache freq to Auto (XMP will do this for a silly reason)
3) Look for EIST (speedstep) and Speedshift, assure that both are set to Auto or Enabled (XMPO can putz with these too).
If after this it works correctly. enjoy. If not, or if you want to purge the system of XMP settings and begin with a better OC (not one done by the guy programming the RAM EEPROM):

Simply note the primary ram timings, Dram voltage and speed. Then CLRCMOS, do not enable XMP - set your CPU OC. Does it down clock normally? If yes, now enter the ram timings, voltage and speed manually - F10 to save and exit. Viola.
Thanks, Tried that, but it seems to have had no effect.

I tested setting the power options Plan to Balanced, then the CPU clocks started regulating again.
I had Ultimate performance selected before, but changed minimum processor state to 10%

Both High and ultimate performance would lock my clocks to the max turbo speed (5.1Ghz) , guess I'll rock with Balanced now.

Must've been a windows update or something...

Main Rig: 9900K @ 5.1Ghz , 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3200Mhz CL16 , Asus Geforce GTX 1080ti FE, Corsair RM850i, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB, 3x Samsung 850 Evo 250GB in Raid0, Custom Watercooling.
HTPC/Server: Asus Strix X299-A , Intel Core i7-7800x @ 4.5Ghz, 16GB 2666Mhz C16 ram, PNY RTX 2070 XR8 OC Twin, Kingston A1000 960GB,
Norlig is offline  
post #3840 of 3856 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 27,514
Rep: 1340 (Unique: 582)
Quote: Originally Posted by Norlig View Post
Thanks, Tried that, but it seems to have had no effect.

I tested setting the power options Plan to Balanced, then the CPU clocks started regulating again.
I had Ultimate performance selected before, but changed minimum processor state to 10%

Both High and ultimate performance would lock my clocks to the max turbo speed (5.1Ghz) , guess I'll rock with Balanced now.

Must've been a windows update or something...
in max or ultimate I'm pretty sure you need to have Processor thermal control set to active AND lower the min proc state to below 10%... I thought you had posted that you tried other power plans earlier.
anyways... Enjoy!

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
X299
(33 items)
x99
(17 items)
Z370
(20 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
10980XE
CPU
10980XE @ 4.8
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
3x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4200c17
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 1300W
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Cooling
2x Koolance -3K3U
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Case
Lian Li
Case
Case Labs
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Monitor
AOC 144Hz
Monitor
TCL 55" 4K60
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
AsRock Radeon VII / Blkski Block
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off