UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread. North America - Page 386 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread. North America

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3851 of 3858 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 11:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 11,086
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by DStealth View Post
Yes you can make such test. If you have one stick good and one bad probably the IMC is fine. If you can work with one stick but not in dual channel could be the IMC issue.
Ok, with the working stick set to XMP I got the voltages in the attached file.

VCCIO = 1.336V
VSA = 1.144V

Are those insanely high voltages on the IMC? Would those Auto values different if both sticks were plugged in and working?

I'm looking for a spare DDR4 RAM kit that I can test with to isolate if dual channel is an issue. So if, say, another 2133MHz kit works in dual channel in my system, then the IMC is probably fine?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200526_132529.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	3.99 MB
ID:	349444  


My Rig
(14 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZKW TridentZ Series
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe (OS Drive)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
SeaSonic Platinum-760 (SS-760XP) Power Supply
Cooling
Custom Watercooling Loop
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Glass
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Dell S2716DG Gaming Monitor
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3
Mouse
Roccat Savu
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck
▲ hide details ▲
kevindd992002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3852 of 3858 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 04:40 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 27,555
Rep: 1342 (Unique: 583)
Quote: Originally Posted by kevindd992002 View Post
Ok, with the working stick set to XMP I got the voltages in the attached file.

VCCIO = 1.336V
VSA = 1.144V

Are those insanely high voltages on the IMC? Would those Auto values different if both sticks were plugged in and working?

I'm looking for a spare DDR4 RAM kit that I can test with to isolate if dual channel is an issue. So if, say, another 2133MHz kit works in dual channel in my system, then the IMC is probably fine?
Yeah, I'm sure that XMP 3200 does not need anywhere near 1.336V VSA. Once you get the other stick back, if you do use XMP (ever) again I'd lower VSA by at least 100mV. Not that it is the cause of the stick failing, but why overvolt any setting?

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
X299
(33 items)
x99
(17 items)
Z370
(20 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
10980XE
CPU
10980XE @ 4.8
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
3x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4200c17
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 1300W
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Cooling
2x Koolance -3K3U
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Case
Lian Li
Case
Case Labs
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Monitor
AOC 144Hz
Monitor
TCL 55" 4K60
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
AsRock Radeon VII / Blkski Block
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #3853 of 3858 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 04:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 11,086
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post
Yeah, I'm sure that XMP 3200 does not need anywhere near 1.336V VSA. Once you get the other stick back, if you do use XMP (ever) again I'd lower VSA by at least 100mV. Not that it is the cause of the stick failing, but why overvolt any setting?
Right, but is the possibility of IMC degradation high with these voltages?

EDIT: I'm trying to think hard if my personal system was the one I had XMP set on. I might've been confused with the fact that the most recent system I built (for my sister) was the one I had XMP set on (3700X with G. Skill RAM modules also) as linked here: https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...t28180124.html

I have 9/5/2019 screenshots of the UEFI pages of my personal ASUS Maximus X Code system and I didn't have XMP set there but I'm not a 100% sure that those were the latest settings I had before one of the RAM sticks failed. I have a gut feeling that I read about the VCCIO/VCSA voltage being high when set to Auto with these boards which prevented me from blindly enabling XMP in the first place. Is there a way, perhaps in Windows 10, for me to verify what the "historical" values of VCCIO and VCSA were?

My Rig
(14 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZKW TridentZ Series
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe (OS Drive)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
SeaSonic Platinum-760 (SS-760XP) Power Supply
Cooling
Custom Watercooling Loop
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Glass
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Dell S2716DG Gaming Monitor
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3
Mouse
Roccat Savu
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by kevindd992002; 05-26-2020 at 05:21 AM.
kevindd992002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3854 of 3858 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 05:18 AM
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,835
Rep: 455 (Unique: 316)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post
Yeah, I'm sure that XMP 3200 does not need anywhere near 1.336V VSA. Once you get the other stick back, if you do use XMP (ever) again I'd lower VSA by at least 100mV. Not that it is the cause of the stick failing, but why overvolt any setting?
In Elmor's video with his 4300 mhz sticks, hes using 1.5v VCCSA and 1.40v VCCIO and doesn't care one bit. And I trust Elmor.

But this is 10th gen.

The intel spec sheet says SA can go up to 1.52v, and there's no loadline calibration to mess things up like there is with 1.52v vcore (which is only max safe with 1.1 mOhms LLC (10th gen) or 1.6 mOhms (9th gen) or 2.1 mOhms (6 core 9th gen or 8th gen).


[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is online now  
post #3855 of 3858 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 27,555
Rep: 1342 (Unique: 583)
Quote: Originally Posted by kevindd992002 View Post
Right, but is the possibility of IMC degradation high with these voltages?

EDIT: I'm trying to think hard if my personal system was the one I had XMP set on. I might've been confused with the fact that the most recent system I built (for my sister) was the one I had XMP set on (3700X with G. Skill RAM modules also) as linked here: https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...t28180124.html

I have 9/5/2019 screenshots of the UEFI pages of my personal ASUS Maximus X Code system and I didn't have XMP set there but I'm not a 100% sure that those were the latest settings I had before one of the RAM sticks failed. I have a gut feeling that I read about the VCCIO/VCSA voltage being high when set to Auto with these boards which prevented me from blindly enabling XMP in the first place. Is there a way, perhaps in Windows 10, for me to verify what the "historical" values of VCCIO and VCSA were?
it's not likely that 1.2-ish VSA is gonna damage an 8700K. That's a pretty robust cpu. It just that XMP programming is necessarily set to accomodate the range of CPUs the ram is on the market with... and the entire range of silicon wins and losses. Think of it like "Auto Volt". Two 4 letter words banned by overclockers.
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
In Elmor's video with his 4300 mhz sticks, hes using 1.5v VCCSA and 1.40v VCCIO and doesn't care one bit. And I trust Elmor.
But this is 10th gen.
The intel spec sheet says SA can go up to 1.52v, and there's no loadline calibration to mess things up like there is with 1.52v vcore (which is only max safe with 1.1 mOhms LLC (10th gen) or 1.6 mOhms (9th gen) or 2.1 mOhms (6 core 9th gen or 8th gen).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osMr...ature=emb_logo
Yeah, Skylake and Cascade lake are that different. INtel spec limits are pretty complex in that the ceiling for one is set with all other rails/frequencies/temperatures at default limits - when you start pushing multiple rails higher is when the specs are very "optimistic". If you look at the fine print in their spec sheets, it always says "limit when all other parameters are within the acceptable operating range" or something like that. you can trust Elmor, but remember he gets his gear free.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
X299
(33 items)
x99
(17 items)
Z370
(20 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
10980XE
CPU
10980XE @ 4.8
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
3x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4200c17
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 1300W
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Cooling
2x Koolance -3K3U
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Case
Lian Li
Case
Case Labs
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Monitor
AOC 144Hz
Monitor
TCL 55" 4K60
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
AsRock Radeon VII / Blkski Block
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #3856 of 3858 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 09:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 11,086
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post
it's not likely that 1.2-ish VSA is gonna damage an 8700K. That's a pretty robust cpu. It just that XMP programming is necessarily set to accomodate the range of CPUs the ram is on the market with... and the entire range of silicon wins and losses. Think of it like "Auto Volt". Two 4 letter words banned by overclockers.



Yeah, Skylake and Cascade lake are that different. INtel spec limits are pretty complex in that the ceiling for one is set with all other rails/frequencies/temperatures at default limits - when you start pushing multiple rails higher is when the specs are very "optimistic". If you look at the fine print in their spec sheets, it always says "limit when all other parameters are within the acceptable operating range" or something like that. you can trust Elmor, but remember he gets his gear free.
Right, though I'm more worried about the VCCIO reaching around 1.34V rather than VSA reaching around 1.2V. I guess I won't have proof of degradation until I proceed with the overclock of the whole system (which I'll be doing very soon).

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

My Rig
(14 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZKW TridentZ Series
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe (OS Drive)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
SeaSonic Platinum-760 (SS-760XP) Power Supply
Cooling
Custom Watercooling Loop
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Glass
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Dell S2716DG Gaming Monitor
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3
Mouse
Roccat Savu
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck
▲ hide details ▲
kevindd992002 is offline  
post #3857 of 3858 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 03:51 PM
Old to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 258
Rep: 0
What is the best, in terms of OC, bios ver to choose for M10H(wifi)?

My Rig
(7 items)
CPU
8700K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Hero (Wifi)
GPU
Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
RAM
F4-3000C14D-32GTZR
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Case
Cosmos C700P
Audio
OPPO HA2-se + HE400i
▲ hide details ▲
Robostyle is offline  
post #3858 of 3858 (permalink) Old 06-08-2020, 09:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DStealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 893
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
The latest one is very solid. While tested all the BIOSes for this board since day 1 I get best results with the last one. OS and Spi32M are not optimized...just a casual run while having background proccesses with the latest BIOS.

.
DStealth is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off