UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread. North America - Page 77 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

UPDATED: ASUS Z370 and Z390 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread. North America

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #761 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 12:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,242
Rep: 283 (Unique: 184)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyIV View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post

yeah man - +1. that's a mistake in the manual.


You guys are confusing me. The manual for the Max X Hero Wifi does say to name the BIOS file M10H.CAP. I downloaded 0802 a while back and updated my MOBO with it through the BIOS. It loaded off the USB fine. So you are saying that the Max X Hero WIFI BIOS file should be named M10HWIFI.CAP? If so, that is a pretty serious mistake in the manual. If true, then why did it flash OK when named M10H.CAP?

To use the BIOS Flashback port with a USB with the PC off, the best way to flash the BIOS, it needs to be renamed properly.

It'll still flash from within the BIOS if it's not, but that's not the preferred way to do it.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte/EVGA 1080 Ti SLI FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #762 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 12:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
webwilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 37
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
New MXA-Bios also:

Version 1003 2018/01/02 9.48 MBytes

ROG MAXIMUS X APEX BIOS 1003
Improve system performance.
Improved DRAM compatibility
*Apex ONLY* If upgrading directly from BIOS ver. 0802 or lower, this will also update the ME code. Power loss during the ME Code update will cause the board to be unbootable.

http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA1151/ROG_MAXIMUS_X_APEX/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-APEX-ASUS-1003.zip
webwilli is offline  
post #763 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 01:57 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Rowethren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 122
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Anyone installed the new BIOS and seen if they have fixed adaptive voltage behaviour?
Rowethren is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #764 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 02:01 PM
OCCT Stable OCD
 
schoolofmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 2,195
Rep: 39 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowethren View Post

Anyone installed the new BIOS and seen if they have fixed adaptive voltage behaviour?

Going to install soon, but I don't use adaptive, though I can try.

schoolofmonkey is offline  
post #765 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 02:02 PM
2 Easy
 
nyk20z3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Westchester NY
Posts: 3,353
Rep: 70 (Unique: 52)
Quote:
Originally Posted by webwilli View Post

New MXA-Bios also:

Version 1003 2018/01/02 9.48 MBytes

ROG MAXIMUS X APEX BIOS 1003
Improve system performance.
Improved DRAM compatibility
*Apex ONLY* If upgrading directly from BIOS ver. 0802 or lower, this will also update the ME code. Power loss during the ME Code update will cause the board to be unbootable.

http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA1151/ROG_MAXIMUS_X_APEX/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-APEX-ASUS-1003.zip

Just updated, i was surprised because they just released an update like last week.
nyk20z3 is offline  
post #766 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 02:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 249
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
So far only positive I've seen is that CPU-Z now correctly reads vcore on my Hero X.

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(8 items)
CPU
8700K
Motherboard
Hero-X
GPU
1080ti
RAM
F4-3200C14-8GRV
Cooling
Intel Raystorm pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
HWLABS 560mm
Operating System
Win10
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
post #767 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 02:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
vonPelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Hm, at 5GHz, the system is now throttling! HWInfo says it is because of IA: VR Thermal Alert and RING: VR Thermal Alert. The VRMs can't take it? CPU temps are fine, around 70c. Any way to mitigate with tweaking?

Current settings: 5GHz, adaptive w/ turbo voltage 1.32v, SVID behavior Typical and LLC at 4. IA AC and DC at 0.0.1.

Edit: Do I actually have to install the optional 40/50mm fan for the VRMs. That'd be ironic since I thought it seemed funny a fan holder was included...

ASUS Z370-E | [email protected] | Corsair 32GB 3.2GHz | Sapphire RX Vega 64 Nitro+
vonPelz is offline  
post #768 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 03:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
renhanxue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowethren View Post

Anyone installed the new BIOS and seen if they have fixed adaptive voltage behaviour?

What was the problem with it, exactly? I still haven't gotten around to actually overclocking by much because I'm waiting for my delid tool to arrive, but I'm running adaptive on 1003 right now on barely-above-stock settings. 4.7GHz, no AVX offset, adaptive 1.3v with offset -0.01v, LLC4, best-case SVID behavior. When running OCCT's small dataset test the VID is 1.334v with no offset and 1.324v with -0.01v offset, so that part works as expected. Seems to work fine?
renhanxue is offline  
post #769 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 04:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpeedyIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 461
Rep: 20 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by renhanxue View Post

Thanks, appreciated! I went off to eat though and in the meantime it showed up on the Asus site (under "Drivers/Win10 64-bit", but not yet under "BIOS/Firmware", weirdly enough).

I just checked the Max X Hero WIFI and it still shows 0802 under BIOS and Drivers - Win10 64-bit. I do see 1003 for some of the other boards but not the Hero Wifi. I am going to go ahead and update to the fiel Kedarwolf posted but I don't understand why I do not see it on the Asus site. Was there a list of changes?
Quote:
Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post

To use the BIOS Flashback port with a USB with the PC off, the best way to flash the BIOS, it needs to be renamed properly.

It'll still flash from within the BIOS if it's not, but that's not the preferred way to do it.

OK that makes sense. I am getting ready to flash the file you posted, which I have renamed "M10HWIFI.CAP ". I just checked the Asus site again for the Hero Wifi. I still see only version 0803. I do see 1003 for some of the other boards but not the Hero Wifi. Really strange. I am still working on pre-de-lid baseline so I guess if I am going to update the BIOS, I might as well do it before I go any further...

SpeedyIV is offline  
post #770 of 3734 (permalink) Old 01-02-2018, 04:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpeedyIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 461
Rep: 20 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gammagoat View Post

So far only positive I've seen is that CPU-Z now correctly reads vcore on my Hero X.

I have tried 2 different versions of CPU-Z on my Hero wifi (running BIOS 0803) and both of them show a Core Voltage value that is about half what AIDA, SIV, and HWiNFO give. Is that what you were seeing?

SpeedyIV is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off