Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 / 8700K Overclocking settings - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 / 8700K Overclocking settings

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 720 (permalink) Old 10-28-2017, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,301
Rep: 674 (Unique: 476)
Looking for other members that are working with this combo.

Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 with bios F4a
Trident Z 2x16 GB 3200hz CL 14 dual channel kit
Corsair H100i V2 for cooling with updated fans.

Doing some initial test runs

Initial settings

CPU Base Clock 100hz
CPU Clock Ratio 47x (to start)
Uncore Ratio 40x

Disable:

Intel Speed Shift
CPU C1E
C3 State
C6/C7 State
C8 State
C10 State
Ring to Core Offset
CPU EIST
Race to Halt
Energy Turbo
Voltage Optimize

Set memory settings to XMP

CPU VCore Loadline Calibration - set to Turbo (side note, you have to manually type the word Turbo with a capital T to make it stick)
CPU VCore: 1.29 (for now)


Plus I disabled:

VT-d
Onboard Audio and Video (I have a discrete sound card)

Home PC
(13 items)
CPU
Intel G3440
Motherboard
Asus B85M-E/CSM
GPU
EVGA GTX 950
RAM
Patriot Viper 3 - 2x8GB 1600hz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850 - 500GB + 4TB x2 / 3TB x 2 - WD
Optical Drive
LG CH12LS28 Bluray
Power Supply
Corsair CX430 V2
Cooling
Scythe Big Shuriken 2 w/Corsair SP120 Fan
Case
NMEDIAPC HTPC 6000B w/ Pro LCD Module
Operating System
Windows 10 64 Bit
Monitor
Samsung 75" TV....
Keyboard
GooBang Doo MX3
Mouse
GooBang Doo MX3
▲ hide details ▲
Robilar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 720 (permalink) Old 10-28-2017, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,301
Rep: 674 (Unique: 476)
So far, 2 hours of OCCT passed without issue. Temps peak across all cores at 81C (but average mid 60's).

Seems like there is a lot of VDroop on this board. Setting 1.29 vcore in the bios shows me 1.26 in CPUZ under load.

My temps are pretty much ceilinged with the Corsair cooler. No interest in going over the 80C ceiling.

I will try it next with the vcore dialed back a bit to see if I can decrease the temps a bit.

Home PC
(13 items)
CPU
Intel G3440
Motherboard
Asus B85M-E/CSM
GPU
EVGA GTX 950
RAM
Patriot Viper 3 - 2x8GB 1600hz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850 - 500GB + 4TB x2 / 3TB x 2 - WD
Optical Drive
LG CH12LS28 Bluray
Power Supply
Corsair CX430 V2
Cooling
Scythe Big Shuriken 2 w/Corsair SP120 Fan
Case
NMEDIAPC HTPC 6000B w/ Pro LCD Module
Operating System
Windows 10 64 Bit
Monitor
Samsung 75" TV....
Keyboard
GooBang Doo MX3
Mouse
GooBang Doo MX3
▲ hide details ▲
Robilar is offline  
post #3 of 720 (permalink) Old 10-28-2017, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,301
Rep: 674 (Unique: 476)
Just passed another 2 hours at 1.27.

One thing worth noting is that smart fan control for the CPU fan connector is enabled by default. It was undervolting my Corsair pump and fans (Despite system being under full load) by about 30%. Set it to full power and it works at full speed.

Now to try 1.24 and then up to 4.9ghz.

VCore readings on this board are occasionally wonky....

With vcore set in the bios at 1.24 I sometimes see readings of 2.5v and .45v. Clearly a sensor issue of some kind.

Dropping vcore from 1.29 to 1.24 drops max temps by roughly 7c across all cores, currently topping out at 74c.

Home PC
(13 items)
CPU
Intel G3440
Motherboard
Asus B85M-E/CSM
GPU
EVGA GTX 950
RAM
Patriot Viper 3 - 2x8GB 1600hz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850 - 500GB + 4TB x2 / 3TB x 2 - WD
Optical Drive
LG CH12LS28 Bluray
Power Supply
Corsair CX430 V2
Cooling
Scythe Big Shuriken 2 w/Corsair SP120 Fan
Case
NMEDIAPC HTPC 6000B w/ Pro LCD Module
Operating System
Windows 10 64 Bit
Monitor
Samsung 75" TV....
Keyboard
GooBang Doo MX3
Mouse
GooBang Doo MX3
▲ hide details ▲
Robilar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 720 (permalink) Old 10-29-2017, 05:31 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,054
Rep: 815 (Unique: 548)
Did you see https://www.overclock.net/t/1640228/aorus-z370-5ghz-oc-guide

summary
Cliffnotes:
i7-8700k @ 4.9GHz-5GHz with 1.25V-1.3V V_core is normal
  • Load XMP
  • Set Multi
  • Disable C-states
  • Disable VT-d (not an option for virtual machine users IMO)
  • Set Uncore frequency to 45 multiplier , 40 multiplier to start
  • Adjust V_Core under M.I.T. page under 1.35V suggested , starting with 1.28V
    ---> V_Core adjusts Uncore as well
  • "Optional" LLC set to Turbo/Extreme <-- shouldn't be optional right??? Isn't Turbo too high?
  • Optional VCCIO 1.4-1.45V is high but OK
  • Optional BCLK , adjust from the normal 100MHz
  • Use Prime95 Small FFTs to test for stability , with AVX offsets as necessary
  • Delid removed 15-20°C (OCUK observed 20-25°C) ; 5.1GHz+ requires delid


OCUK 5GHz binned chip instructions
Quote:
Originally Posted by https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/posts/31216758 
Get 3600Mhz set xmp.

Insert cpu and add your cooling.
50 multi
4.4 cache

1.35vcore -1.4vcore
1.1io
1.1Sa

Done......

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #5 of 720 (permalink) Old 11-23-2017, 12:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mooncheese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 373
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robilar View Post

Looking for other members that are working with this combo.

Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 with bios F4a
Trident Z 2x16 GB 3200hz CL 14 dual channel kit
Corsair H100i V2 for cooling with updated fans.

Doing some initial test runs

Initial settings

CPU Base Clock 100hz
CPU Clock Ratio 47x (to start)
Uncore Ratio 40x

Disable:

Intel Speed Shift
CPU C1E
C3 State
C6/C7 State
C8 State
C10 State
Ring to Core Offset
CPU EIST
Race to Halt
Energy Turbo
Voltage Optimize

Set memory settings to XMP

CPU VCore Loadline Calibration - set to Turbo (side note, you have to manually type the word Turbo with a capital T to make it stick)
CPU VCore: 1.29 (for now)


Plus I disabled:

VT-d
Onboard Audio and Video (I have a discrete sound card)

LLC to Turbo? Looking at your post count you have to know that anything higher than say "High" is ill-advised? Have you actually measured the voltage on the mobo (if possible)?

https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/24019-load-line-calibration-why-overclockers-should-care/

8700k @ 5.0 GHz - 0 AVX @ 1.37v w/ EK Monoblock + Delid | Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 | GTX 1080 Ti FE - Full EK Block @ 2025 MHz | EK SE 420 + EK PE 360 | 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 MHz XMP | 1 TB Samsung 970 EVO | Corsair RM1000x | Thermaltake View 71 | Alienware AW3418DW + Asus ROG Swift PG278Q (for 3D Vision) on Amazon Basics Arms | Win10 Pro 1703
Mooncheese is offline  
post #6 of 720 (permalink) Old 11-23-2017, 12:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mooncheese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 373
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post

Did you see https://www.overclock.net/t/1640228/aorus-z370-5ghz-oc-guide

summary
Cliffnotes:
i7-8700k @ 4.9GHz-5GHz with 1.25V-1.3V V_core is normal
  • Load XMP
  • Set Multi
  • Disable C-states
  • Disable VT-d (not an option for virtual machine users IMO)
  • Set Uncore frequency to 45 multiplier , 40 multiplier to start
  • Adjust V_Core under M.I.T. page under 1.35V suggested , starting with 1.28V
    ---> V_Core adjusts Uncore as well
  • "Optional" LLC set to Turbo/Extreme <-- shouldn't be optional right??? Isn't Turbo too high?
  • Optional VCCIO 1.4-1.45V is high but OK
  • Optional BCLK , adjust from the normal 100MHz
  • Use Prime95 Small FFTs to test for stability , with AVX offsets as necessary
  • Delid removed 15-20°C (OCUK observed 20-25°C) ; 5.1GHz+ requires delid


OCUK 5GHz binned chip instructions

Turbo has to be too high, check my post above, I'm assuming OP knows what they are doing given the 20k post count, watch 1.29v be like 1.5v measured on the board with a DMM with that much LLC.

8700k @ 5.0 GHz - 0 AVX @ 1.37v w/ EK Monoblock + Delid | Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 | GTX 1080 Ti FE - Full EK Block @ 2025 MHz | EK SE 420 + EK PE 360 | 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 MHz XMP | 1 TB Samsung 970 EVO | Corsair RM1000x | Thermaltake View 71 | Alienware AW3418DW + Asus ROG Swift PG278Q (for 3D Vision) on Amazon Basics Arms | Win10 Pro 1703
Mooncheese is offline  
post #7 of 720 (permalink) Old 11-28-2017, 08:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Leethal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 635
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
I'm using the settings from the 5Ghz guide but since im on air i went with 4.8Ghz

My vcore is 1.280 and it will go from 1.264 to 1.284 so that's not too bad thumb.gif

Good thing you mentioned having to write out Turbo for LLC, i ended up doing the same hoping it worked haha thumb.gif

Leethal is offline  
post #8 of 720 (permalink) Old 11-29-2017, 10:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sin0822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McLean, Virginia
Posts: 13,266
Rep: 2037 (Unique: 1171)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooncheese View Post

LLC to Turbo? Looking at your post count you have to know that anything higher than say "High" is ill-advised? Have you actually measured the voltage on the mobo (if possible)?

https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/24019-load-line-calibration-why-overclockers-should-care/

It's not such a huge deal. It's okay to set Turbo, it used to be the second highest setting, now it's the highest since the BIOS guys are working with a new PWM controller (it's also why all the other advanced PWm options are gone now). The BIOS engineers don't really pay attention to what it's called, they just want to find bigger words. lol

Also to switch through settings, pressing +/- or pageup/down works as a quicker shortcut.

Sin0822 is offline  
post #9 of 720 (permalink) Old 11-29-2017, 11:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Leethal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 635
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sin0822 View Post

It's not such a huge deal. It's okay to set Turbo, it used to be the second highest setting, now it's the highest since the BIOS guys are working with a new PWM controller (it's also why all the other advanced PWm options are gone now). The BIOS engineers don't really pay attention to what it's called, they just want to find bigger words. lol

Also to switch through settings, pressing +/- or pageup/down works as a quicker shortcut.

Thanks for that tip thumb.gif

so setting LLC to turbo is fine?

also i set a vcore of 1.280 in the bios but in cpuz i'm seeing it go from 1.262-1.284

Leethal is offline  
post #10 of 720 (permalink) Old 11-29-2017, 11:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sin0822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McLean, Virginia
Posts: 13,266
Rep: 2037 (Unique: 1171)
The BIOS puts a constant load on the CPU, CPUz is reporting ups and downs due to load.

Even GBT says to set Turbo and even Extreme (although I saw Turbo was the highest, I think they might have removed extreme) in their 5GHz guide. Does it drop down under load to 1.262 and at idle at 1.284?

Sin0822 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off