Gigabyte Ultra Gaming 2.0 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte Ultra Gaming 2.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 02:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Gigabyte Ultra Gaming 2.0

Hi All,

anyone got this board?

I have F2 Bios installed

I can't seem to get AVX working it just crashes the system, on both bios F1 & F2. is this broken?
warrenk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 02:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,372
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
Are you running everything at stock speeds and voltage?

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 03:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
no i'm running at 4.8ghz
1.295v
warrenk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
found another problem would this be the motherboard or cpu

at stock speed and everything returned to default on the motherboard, the clock speed step does not clock down to an idle speed, it stays around 4.4-4.7ghz.

the voltage core clocks down though.

i've tried both bios F1 & F2 but still the same.

any help - i've emailed the shop i got it from as i only bought it on the 4th.

thanks

warren
warrenk is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 03:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,372
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
That's just speed shift working. Clock speed won't degrade it, lots of wattage will so I wouldn't worry about it.
If you get a crash while overclocked it's likely the OC being unstable and nothing to do with the board.

You really need to read this:
https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-int...1621347?page=1

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 03:15 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,272
Rep: 831 (Unique: 555)
Are you cooling your VRM? What's your current limit set at?

If you're running 4.8GHz <1.3V you likely need an AVX offset , try offset 2 or offset 3

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 04:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,256
Rep: 59 (Unique: 44)
What are you running at 4.8GHz overclock that is not stable, also what processor do you have? You need to increase Vcore for overclocking stability. Show a screenshot of HWiNFO of CPU and VRM temperatures.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-13-2018, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
here is screenshots of it with the motherboard restored to factory default, as you can see clock speed does not idle.

wingmann i'll take screenshots of it overclocked at 4.8ghz


last pick is under load
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3399.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	1.51 MB
ID:	148025  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3398.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	1.47 MB
ID:	148033  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3397.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	1.35 MB
ID:	148041  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3396.JPG
Views:	15
Size:	1.50 MB
ID:	148049  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3395.JPG
Views:	37
Size:	1.56 MB
ID:	148057  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3394.JPG
Views:	16
Size:	1.72 MB
ID:	148065  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3393.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	1.54 MB
ID:	148073  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3392.JPG
Views:	15
Size:	1.59 MB
ID:	148081  

Click image for larger version

Name:	monitor idle.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	637.7 KB
ID:	148089  

Click image for larger version

Name:	load.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	946.9 KB
ID:	148097  


Last edited by warrenk; 04-13-2018 at 12:55 AM.
warrenk is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-13-2018, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
AVX offset just crashes the system can't use it.
warrenk is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-13-2018, 04:49 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
here's 4.8ghz running prime 26.6 non avx small fft for over an hour.

these are my settings
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	load.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	1.20 MB
ID:	148161  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3408.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	1.46 MB
ID:	148169  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3407.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	1.50 MB
ID:	148177  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3406.JPG
Views:	15
Size:	1.47 MB
ID:	148185  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3405.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	1.37 MB
ID:	148193  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3404.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	1.57 MB
ID:	148201  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3403.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	1.63 MB
ID:	148209  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3402.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	1.51 MB
ID:	148217  

warrenk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off