Official MSI MEG z390 ACE motherboard thread - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Official MSI MEG z390 ACE motherboard thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-18-2018, 03:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Hiikeri View Post
Originally on DDR rams 1T is for 1-chip-side modules and 2T for 2-side modules.
They might work fine or maybe not at all 1T.
4 modules is also harder to memory controller than 2 modules.

I'M HAVING THE SAME TROUBLE WAITING FOR A BIOS UPDATE
Omega Cain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-18-2018, 03:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by HBizzle View Post
Has anyone figured out a way to interpret the LLC levels in the bios? There also seem to be two LLC or potential LLC values you can edit. The MSI livestream they did of the Godlike and adjusting the bios literally had them altering the one that it is less clear if it is LLC or not, and the guy was all over the place on what things meant. Also they focused more on underclocking to save power then ocing the chip. Was crazy to watch.

JUST PUT IT ON LIKE 3-4 THE LOWER THE MODE THE HIGHER THE VOLTAGE
IF THAT MAKES SENSE ..... SO IF U PUT IN SAY 1.30VCORE AND HAVE OF SAY MODE 3 IT WILL BE LIKE 1.32VCORE UNDERLOAD.....
Omega Cain is offline  
post #43 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 01:55 PM
WAT
 
HBizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 196
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Omega Cain View Post
JUST PUT IT ON LIKE 3-4 THE LOWER THE MODE THE HIGHER THE VOLTAGE
IF THAT MAKES SENSE ..... SO IF U PUT IN SAY 1.30VCORE AND HAVE OF SAY MODE 3 IT WILL BE LIKE 1.32VCORE UNDERLOAD.....
Yeah but which exact setting is this in the bios? That is where I got super confused.
HBizzle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 02:24 PM
WAT
 
HBizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 196
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Everyone in this thread is probably eligible for this promotion.

https://www.msi.com/Promotion/assass...odyssey-bundle
HBizzle is offline  
post #45 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 05:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hiikeri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 201
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Omega Cain View Post
I'M HAVING THE SAME TROUBLE WAITING FOR A BIOS UPDATE
You understand it on wrong way. Bios cant fix it becouse thats not an bios issue.

Single side memory modules (example most of 8Gb modules, so 2x of those, 2x8Gb = 16Gb RAM) are the only one that can handle 1T -setting.

Double side memory modules (16Gb memory modules= 2x16Gb = 32Gb) are meand for 2T settings.

If someone can drive 16Gb modules @1T setting, then he have an PRO Motherboard and special CPU(=MemoryController) and they can handle 1T.

Z390 Godlike | 9900K @5400 | 16Gb @4500 - cl17 | 2080Ti @2000+ /16Gbps | 3xNVME + 512Gb 850Pro | Finland
Hiikeri is offline  
post #46 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 06:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,450
Rep: 364 (Unique: 260)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hiikeri View Post
You understand it on wrong way. Bios cant fix it becouse thats not an bios issue.

Single side memory modules (example most of 8Gb modules, so 2x of those, 2x8Gb = 16Gb RAM) are the only one that can handle 1T -setting.

Double side memory modules (16Gb memory modules= 2x16Gb = 32Gb) are meand for 2T settings.

If someone can drive 16Gb modules @1T setting, then he have an PRO Motherboard and special CPU(=MemoryController) and they can handle 1T.

Are you sure about this?
I have double sided SODIMM's (laptop memory) and they run 1T just fine.

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...r-Overclocking


DRAM Command Mode: Also known as Command Rate. Specifies the number of DRAM clock cycles that elapse between issuing commands to the DIMMs after a chip select. The impact of Command Rate on performance can vary. For example, if most of the data requested by the CPU is in the same row, the impact of Command Rate becomes negligible. If however the banks in a rank have no open pages, and multiple banks need to be opened on that rank or across ranks, the impact of Command Rate increases.


Most DRAM module densities will operate fine with a 1N Command Rate. Memory modules containing older DRAM IC types may however need a 2N Command Rate.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 11-19-2018 at 06:08 PM.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #47 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-20-2018, 05:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by HBizzle View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Omega Cain View Post
JUST PUT IT ON LIKE 3-4 THE LOWER THE MODE THE HIGHER THE VOLTAGE
IF THAT MAKES SENSE ..... SO IF U PUT IN SAY 1.30VCORE AND HAVE OF SAY MODE 3 IT WILL BE LIKE 1.32VCORE UNDERLOAD.....
Yeah but which exact setting is this in the bios? That is where I got super confused.
It's in your digital power settings it's just above the cpu vcore settings in the bios
Omega Cain is offline  
post #48 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-20-2018, 05:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Hiikeri View Post
You understand it on wrong way. Bios cant fix it becouse thats not an bios issue.

Single side memory modules (example most of 8Gb modules, so 2x of those, 2x8Gb = 16Gb RAM) are the only one that can handle 1T -setting.

Double side memory modules (16Gb memory modules= 2x16Gb = 32Gb) are meand for 2T settings.

If someone can drive 16Gb modules @1T setting, then he have an PRO Motherboard and special CPU(=MemoryController) and they can handle 1T.

Are you sure about this?
I have double sided SODIMM's (laptop memory) and they run 1T just fine.

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...r-Overclocking


DRAM Command Mode: Also known as Command Rate. Specifies the number of DRAM clock cycles that elapse between issuing commands to the DIMMs after a chip select. The impact of Command Rate on performance can vary. For example, if most of the data requested by the CPU is in the same row, the impact of Command Rate becomes negligible. If however the banks in a rank have no open pages, and multiple banks need to be opened on that rank or across ranks, the impact of Command Rate increases.


Most DRAM module densities will operate fine with a 1N Command Rate. Memory modules containing older DRAM IC types may however need a 2N Command Rate.
I don't know man I got 16gb of ram and it can only run on 2t Excalibar 4000mhz
Omega Cain is offline  
post #49 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-20-2018, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Subby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 687
Rep: 27 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by HBizzle View Post
Everyone in this thread is probably eligible for this promotion.

https://www.msi.com/Promotion/assass...odyssey-bundle
awesome, thanks! Have the Carbon pro and it was eligible.

Subby is offline  
post #50 of 201 (permalink) Old 11-20-2018, 10:07 AM
WAT
 
HBizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 196
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Omega Cain View Post
It's in your digital power settings it's just above the cpu vcore settings in the bios
Thanks will test this next week.
HBizzle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off