(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 260 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2591 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 04:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 127
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
So how is new BIOS for MASTER F8h guinea pigs?

TT View 71 RGB TGE | Gigabyte AORUS MASTER Z390 (F9) | INTEL Core i7 8700K Pre-bin & Delid @ 5.0Ghz - EK SUPREMACY EVO RGB Nickel | GSkill Trident Z RGB 3200 (14 CAS) - 2 x 16Gb (32Gb) DDR4 | EVGA Supernova 850W G3 PSU | Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB AORUS XTREME WATERFORCE WB | EK-XRES 140 REVO D5 PWM | EKWB CoolStream CE 420 | 1 x Samsung 970 Pro 512Gb NVMe - 1 x Samsung 970 EVO 500Gb NVMe - 1 x Samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD | E5 DAC | ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q | Windows 10 Ent 2019 LTSC x64
scaramonga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2592 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 06:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,420
Rep: 398 (Unique: 284)
I went back to F8G. F8H was giving me errors in 1344K AVX prime95 at my barely stable VMIN (dropped threads on settings which were previously 2 hours stable and giving WHEA correectable/L0 errors--that was a giveaway something was not right) when I was at the bare min voltage (VMIN) required for stability, while 15K AVX/FMA3 was unaffected. Since only 1344K AVX (did not test this with AVX disabled, far different VMINS) was affected (on F8G, i would either get a random dropped thread on thread #7 or #8, after 1 hour to 1 hour 45 minutes, but with *NO* WHEA correctable or CPU L0 errors at all), I assume that's memory or IMC related and i needed more VCCIO or VCCSA. I went back to F8G and everything was back to as it was before. Can't be bothered trying to find what RAM changes were done in F8H as I know nothing about RAM except command rate, trfc and trefi.

If you are on F8G already, please do me a favor (i'm sure some of you have the time) and write down all of the "secondary" and "tertiary" RAM subtimings that are set to auto, and then when you update to F8H, re-check to see if any of those timings have changed somehow. (both XMP of course).

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 03-02-2019 at 06:54 PM.
Falkentyne is online now  
post #2593 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 10:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
milan616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by sygnus21 View Post
So you mean motherboard hub? If so, that sounds like either a driver issue or a motherboard issue in a failed or dying USB controller.
I quite understand that the motherboard ports are USB root complexes. Ever since my USB hub has been disconnected I haven't had any problems. You're going way past what I stated what the issue ended up being.
milan616 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2594 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 11:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 127
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
I went back to F8G. F8H was giving me errors in 1344K AVX prime95 at my barely stable VMIN (dropped threads on settings which were previously 2 hours stable and giving WHEA correectable/L0 errors--that was a giveaway something was not right) when I was at the bare min voltage (VMIN) required for stability, while 15K AVX/FMA3 was unaffected. Since only 1344K AVX (did not test this with AVX disabled, far different VMINS) was affected (on F8G, i would either get a random dropped thread on thread #7 or #8, after 1 hour to 1 hour 45 minutes, but with *NO* WHEA correctable or CPU L0 errors at all), I assume that's memory or IMC related and i needed more VCCIO or VCCSA. I went back to F8G and everything was back to as it was before. Can't be bothered trying to find what RAM changes were done in F8H as I know nothing about RAM except command rate, trfc and trefi.

If you are on F8G already, please do me a favor (i'm sure some of you have the time) and write down all of the "secondary" and "tertiary" RAM subtimings that are set to auto, and then when you update to F8H, re-check to see if any of those timings have changed somehow. (both XMP of course).
Sounds good, as I never run Prime95, never will, and certainly don't plan to, after all, why would I? An hour in RealBench is all I need, as that is a more realistic scenario of what one's system is ever gonna get, lol, through 'day to day' use. Of course, Prime95 will kill that, but then again, I'm not running that, so I have no worries

May just stay on F8b then, as I see no reason to flash, happy @ 5GHz gaming with no hitches, so thx

TT View 71 RGB TGE | Gigabyte AORUS MASTER Z390 (F9) | INTEL Core i7 8700K Pre-bin & Delid @ 5.0Ghz - EK SUPREMACY EVO RGB Nickel | GSkill Trident Z RGB 3200 (14 CAS) - 2 x 16Gb (32Gb) DDR4 | EVGA Supernova 850W G3 PSU | Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB AORUS XTREME WATERFORCE WB | EK-XRES 140 REVO D5 PWM | EKWB CoolStream CE 420 | 1 x Samsung 970 Pro 512Gb NVMe - 1 x Samsung 970 EVO 500Gb NVMe - 1 x Samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD | E5 DAC | ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q | Windows 10 Ent 2019 LTSC x64
scaramonga is offline  
post #2595 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 02:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
I rolled back to F8g. Previous overclock become unstable, and my temps rose by over 10c, even when compared a stock settings between F8g and F8h.
GaryLiao is offline  
post #2596 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 09:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sygnus21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 343
Rep: 9 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by milan616 View Post
I quite understand that the motherboard ports are USB root complexes. Ever since my USB hub has been disconnected I haven't had any problems. You're going way past what I stated what the issue ended up being.
Your post was a bit confusing but ok.

sygnus21 (Z390)
(17 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9-9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
32 Gig Corsair Dominator Platinum Ram (3333MHz)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro NVME M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro NVME M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA Super Nova 1000 P2
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 Bit
Monitor
NEC PA242W
Keyboard
Logitech Wave (Wireless)
Mouse
Logitech MX Master 2S
Audio
On-board
▲ hide details ▲
sygnus21 is offline  
post #2597 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 01:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Performer81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 306
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
WIth Bios F9b voltage offset and vdroop is not working properly on my Z390 Aorus Pro. Back to F8 everything is fine.
Performer81 is offline  
post #2598 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 11:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,328
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
Quote: Originally Posted by sygnus21 View Post
Define "anymore"?
Turns out that this was a user fault: We recently moved and I inserted an USB plug hanging out of the PC into a USB port to carry the midi-tower. Important thing is: this USB cable carries a PCIe signal, not an USB signal. Seems like this combination specifically broke the enumeration of the X-Fi.

Quote:
Which version of Windows are you using? For Windows 10 (1809) right click the speaker icon and click "Sounds", click the "Playback" tab and make sure the correct device it checked for sound output. Click the Recording tab and do the same. You could also try "Troubleshoot sound problems" and see how that goes.
Did all that, everything is set correctly and Windows does play sounds (meter does move), but nothing comes out of the headphones when connected to either the backpanel or frontpanel output. Sometimes a single bleep can be heard, that's it. I did both versions of Windows reset, the one where you keep your files and settings and the one that deletes everything and practically does a fresh Windows installation. Still nothing on my headphones when plugged into the onboard ports.

Quote:
Oh, and remembering who Creative is, they're not exactly known for extending driver support to new OS's with their old cards so I wonder what drivers you're using if running Windows 10 with that X-Fi card. BTW, which one is it???
When the card is not enumerated (aka detected) by the hardware then the driver does not matter. It does not even show up in device-manager as unknown device then. That being said, Creative only just released a new X-Fi driver (Titanium) this February. And last time I checked I even could get my old PCI (non e) X-Fi to work with Windows 10. What I miss is the Windows option to increase microphone pre-amplification like you get with the Realtek driver. I mean to remember that this was possible with the X-Fi in the past.
Timur Born is offline  
post #2599 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 05:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 199
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I'm getting a weird error where got will say Sata drive removed, then drive reappears but I can't access files. Reboot fixes it. The drive is and old one, SMART status says it's ok. Any idea what's hapening?

Intel i9-9900k
Gigabyte Z390 Aorous Master
MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio
16GB G.Skill DDR4-3200, 16-16-16-36
850 Seasonic Focus Gold PSU
Padinn is offline  
post #2600 of 5410 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 06:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
deniskos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Performer81 View Post
WIth Bios F9b voltage offset and vdroop is not working properly on my Z390 Aorus Pro. Back to F8 everything is fine.
Is it easy to rollback to F8? Can you just flash F8 if you have F9? Thanks.
deniskos is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 members and 3 guests)
kazukun
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off