(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 277 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2761 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 07:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 146
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by GRat View Post
Do we know if those pci-e lanes are shared with m.2 or sata slots?
Check manual, its in there wher r it talks about installing m2 drives

Intel i9-9900k
Gigabyte Z390 Aorous Master
MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio
16GB G.Skill DDR4-3200, 16-16-16-36
850 Seasonic Focus Gold PSU
Padinn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2762 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 07:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 146
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Padinn View Post
If I'm running AC and DC loadlines at 1, do I risk high transient overshoots? I have a -.05 offset
If VRM loadline calibration is left at standard/Normal (1.6 mOhms) or Low (I'm going to guess that Gigabyte's Low is 1.3 mOhms and medium is 1.0 mOhms), then I'm guessing no, but I'm talking out of my butthole here.

Transient risks come from VRM loadline being at low mOhms, not AC loadline. But I still don't know precisely how AC loadline works, except the more mOhms on it (default is 1.6 for 8 cores, 2.1 mohms for 4 and 6 core CFL, 1.8 mOhms for Kaby Lake), the higher the VID will be boosted from a base VID, then that VID is sent to the VRM (before DC loadline changes the VID from there). AC loadline does not control "Vcore" vdroop--VRM loadline does.
However, Padinn, this is still a very good question--whether HIGHER values for AC loadline have any risks of spikes compared to lower values (as long as VRM loadline is left at standard)...It would take an oscilloscope to answer this question. And of course, no one here seems to have access to one.

It will just lower the base VID from the defaults. But you would usually need a positive voltage offset to compensate.
Note that I have currently seen NO benefit (yet) of lowering DC loadline to 1, versus leaving it at 160 (1.6 mOhms).
If you do lower AC loadline to 1 (0.01 mOhms, for those with Asus boards), try keeping DC loadline at 1.6 mOhms and see if VID and VR VOUT (Vcore on Maximus XI boards) still lines up if not using any offsets (this won't work at all on manual vcore of course).
Also im running a +.05v offset, I know that's a huge difference. Thanks brain

I am going to try out Power Saving on the Loadline and see if does anything (also set VAXG Loadline to Normal since I'm not using internal graphics). What is the latest recommendations for Prime testing? I remember reading somewhere that what we thought was useful isn't, and I can't remember what the proper settings are now.

Intel i9-9900k
Gigabyte Z390 Aorous Master
MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio
16GB G.Skill DDR4-3200, 16-16-16-36
850 Seasonic Focus Gold PSU

Last edited by Padinn; 03-17-2019 at 08:07 AM.
Padinn is offline  
post #2763 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 08:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Rep: 0
Can someone help me better understand the PWM Phase Control option?

My understanding is that it tells the voltage regulator to favor current over temperature. Which tells me that there are certain elements restricting current either due to the present temperature, or anticipated temperature increases.

I would guess that these elements exist outside of whatever TjMax is set to.

1. If this is the case, when set to auto - what are the conditions that would lead the motherboard to favor lower temperatures over current?
2. What is the danger of setting this option to Extreme Performance?
3. What should I be observing when setting this option to Extreme Performance? For instance my temperatures look good, but what else could go wrong?

CPU
i9 9900k
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS MASTER
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC - 11GB
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series - 32 GB, DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB Internal SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W Fully Modular
Cooling
CORSAIR Hydro Series, H115i RGB PLATINUM
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase MC500P
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by derelict360; 03-18-2019 at 08:41 AM.
derelict360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2764 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 08:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bravoexo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 92
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Is that new f8 bios "new", and what happened to f8e?
Bravoexo is offline  
post #2765 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 08:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Bravoexo View Post
Is that new f8 bios "new", and what happened to f8e?
I believe when you get an e after the BIOS version it means it's like a beta or something. I saw that around here somewhere... not 100% sure it's true.

CPU
i9 9900k
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS MASTER
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC - 11GB
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series - 32 GB, DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB Internal SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W Fully Modular
Cooling
CORSAIR Hydro Series, H115i RGB PLATINUM
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase MC500P
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
▲ hide details ▲
derelict360 is offline  
post #2766 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 08:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bravoexo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 92
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by GRat View Post
Do we know if those pci-e lanes are shared with m.2 or sata slots?
the only m.2 slot that affects a pci-e slot is the bottom one, and it disables the lowest most pci-e full size slot, the 2nd m.2 takes 2 sata allotments, while the top m.2 takes one of the first sata slots. IIRC
Bravoexo is offline  
post #2767 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,357
Rep: 188 (Unique: 170)
Quote: Originally Posted by Bravoexo View Post
the only m.2 slot that affects a pci-e slot is the bottom one, and it disables the lowest most pci-e full size slot, the 2nd m.2 takes 2 sata allotments, while the top m.2 takes one of the first sata slots. IIRC

If you plan to run SLI and use all the sata slots you need to run your NVME in the bottom m.2 slot it is the only one that won't take your sata away.
Moparman is offline  
post #2768 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 08:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bravoexo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 92
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Moparman View Post
If you plan to run SLI and use all the sata slots you need to run your NVME in the bottom m.2 slot it is the only one that won't take your sata away.
which is what I have, two GTX 1080's in SLI and the 970 Evo is on the bottom m.2 slot
Bravoexo is offline  
post #2769 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 11:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Rep: 0
Anyone plop 4400Mhz RAM into this thing yet?

CPU
i9 9900k
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS MASTER
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC - 11GB
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series - 32 GB, DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB Internal SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W Fully Modular
Cooling
CORSAIR Hydro Series, H115i RGB PLATINUM
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase MC500P
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
▲ hide details ▲
derelict360 is offline  
post #2770 of 3392 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 11:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sygnus21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 321
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Never mind.

sygnus21 (Z390)
(17 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9-9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
GPU
Sapphire Tri-X R9 Fury
RAM
32 Gig Corsair Dominator Platinum Ram (3333MHz)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro NVME M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro NVME M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA Super Nova 1000 P2
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 Bit
Monitor
NEC PA242W
Keyboard
Logitech Wave (Wireless)
Mouse
Logitech MX Master 2S
Audio
On-board
▲ hide details ▲
sygnus21 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off