(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 278 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2771 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 12:37 PM
Gunnery Sergeant Hartman
 
Intrud3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 235
Rep: 9 (Unique: 2)
Just updated to Bios F7 on my Aorus Ultra and it frecked up my memory overclock ...

ah well, at least something to do again

Otherwise it's running fine (for the 10 min. it's running).

--> Let me correct myself ... dumb dumb ... set everything up in bios except ddr voltage ....

Back at 3733Mhz C17-20-20-43-560

i9 9900K: Base Clock = 100 | CPU Clock Ratio = 50 | AVX Offset = Auto | Uncore Ratio = 47 | Internal AC/DC Load Line = Turbo | AC Loadline = 1 | DC Loadline = 1 | Vcore Loadline Calibration = Medium | Vcore = Normal | DVID = +0.100V | BCLK Adaptive Voltage = Disabled | SVID offset = Disabled | VCCIO = 1.150V (1.133V) | VCCSA = 1.200V (1.212V)| Intel Turbo Boost Technology = Disabled | Intel SST = Auto | C-States = C3 | CPU EIST Function = Auto
My Precious
(20 items)
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Hard Drive
WD 2 TB HDD
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Case
Corsair Crystal 570X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung UE40D6530 40"
Monitor
Samsung 226BW
Monitor
Iiyama Prolite E2208HDS
Monitor
Dell 2209WA
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Onkyo TX-NR509 (hdmi)
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Intrud3r; 03-18-2019 at 12:50 PM.
Intrud3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2772 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 12:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 146
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Padinn View Post
Also im running a +.05v offset, I know that's a huge difference. Thanks brain

I am going to try out Power Saving on the Loadline and see if does anything (also set VAXG Loadline to Normal since I'm not using internal graphics). What is the latest recommendations for Prime testing? I remember reading somewhere that what we thought was useful isn't, and I can't remember what the proper settings are now.
I still seem stable with these settings.

Intel i9-9900k
Gigabyte Z390 Aorous Master
MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio
16GB G.Skill DDR4-3200, 16-16-16-36
850 Seasonic Focus Gold PSU
Padinn is offline  
post #2773 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 01:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,860
Rep: 251 (Unique: 172)
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
So,

On my Master if I disable C-States and Speed Shift, just leave EIST enabled, and put my minimum CPU at 5% in Windows Power options, my VROut goes down to .295v and i get random reboots, even with Power Loading a dummy load on low voltages enabled in the BIOS. I get random reboots when it goes this low.

With Speed Shift, C-States and EIST enabled my VCore voltage goes just under .800v and no reboots.

This with both a positive and negative CPU voltage with IA AC Loadline 1 or 0.


Wish I could fix this, I'd rather not use C-States.

Edit: Never mind, I was looking at the wrong VROut.
It seems to be a bug with the Master F8g BIOS and Medium LLC.

I put it on High LLC and lowered my negative offset by -.020v and now no more reboots.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.155v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-36 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.45v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G903 Wireless Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.1 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.155 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-36 2T 1.45v - SA 1.25/VCCIO 1.23
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
512GB Samsung 960 Pro M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 LTSC 2019
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech Orion Spark G910
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2774 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 02:00 PM
Gunnery Sergeant Hartman
 
Intrud3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 235
Rep: 9 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
It seems to be a bug with the Master F8g BIOS and Medium LLC.

I put it on High LLC and lowered my negative offset by -.020v and now no more reboots.
Not really a bug I would say, just shows that you needed more idle voltage.

If I understand it correctly ... medium loadline gives the yellow line and shows how the voltage drops under heavier load. Left to right, lower load to heavier load, less to more voltage drop.

High has a higher line, even at idle, so should give a tad more voltage at idle so keeps you stable.

Again, this is just my mind trying to make sense of it.

P.S. Idle is not 0, idle is let's say the first vertical line under the "i" or the second vertical line under the "c".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Loadlines.png
Views:	6
Size:	230.1 KB
ID:	259988  


i9 9900K: Base Clock = 100 | CPU Clock Ratio = 50 | AVX Offset = Auto | Uncore Ratio = 47 | Internal AC/DC Load Line = Turbo | AC Loadline = 1 | DC Loadline = 1 | Vcore Loadline Calibration = Medium | Vcore = Normal | DVID = +0.100V | BCLK Adaptive Voltage = Disabled | SVID offset = Disabled | VCCIO = 1.150V (1.133V) | VCCSA = 1.200V (1.212V)| Intel Turbo Boost Technology = Disabled | Intel SST = Auto | C-States = C3 | CPU EIST Function = Auto
My Precious
(20 items)
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Hard Drive
WD 2 TB HDD
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Case
Corsair Crystal 570X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung UE40D6530 40"
Monitor
Samsung 226BW
Monitor
Iiyama Prolite E2208HDS
Monitor
Dell 2209WA
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Onkyo TX-NR509 (hdmi)
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Intrud3r; 03-18-2019 at 02:03 PM.
Intrud3r is offline  
post #2775 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,356
Rep: 188 (Unique: 170)
Quote: Originally Posted by derelict360 View Post
Anyone plop 4400Mhz RAM into this thing yet?

I have had issues getting over 4200 with a few different kits with my 9600k and Master.
Moparman is offline  
post #2776 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 03:21 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,390
Rep: 1554 (Unique: 1016)
Does anyone know if it is safe to set AI AC Loadline and AI DC loadline to 1 (GIGABYTE) / 0.01 (ASUS).

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
post #2777 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 03:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
davidm71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,162
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
New F8 bios out for the Master. Anyone try it out yet?

Save with EVGA. Associate code: K8XL098LGS5O4WZ
Z390 Master
(8 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 FTW2 SLI
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Operating System
Windows 10 64
▲ hide details ▲
davidm71 is offline  
post #2778 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 04:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,644
Rep: 368 (Unique: 262)
Quote: Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
New F8 bios out for the Master. Anyone try it out yet?
Tried it out and went back to F8E. Seems like some bugs were probably fixed (I haven't tested the issue I saw with F8G where when you flip on the power supply, the board 'warms up' for 3 seconds then shuts off, also didn't test that F8G issue with F8H either, but F8E did not do that), but I am "slightly" more unstable at my "minimum stable voltage" (same ambients) with F8 compared to F8E (F8H seems to be the same as F8).
Hard to test stuff like this without equipment but: F8E: 5 ghz, 1.265v, LLC Turbo, Realbench 2.56: one WHEA/L0 error after 1 hour 10 minutes. F8: 5 ghz 1.265v, Realbench 2.56: one WHEA/L0 error after 15 minutes (no crashes, just logged in HWinfo64).

Power draw and VR VOUT seemed to be identical; usually stuff like this that goes pear shaped when you are borderline stable can do with RAM subtimings, especially where AVX instructions are concerned, as I didn't notice anything different on 15k small FFT's at all. But I don't have the the time nor patience to spend hours and hours testing stuff like this. Also voltage fluctuations from higher loadline calibration and load changes can cause failures when you are borderline to be very erratic and happen sometimes fast and sometimes it takes forever. Probably more effective to drop the LLC to high or medium (but this requires a much higher bios voltage, but lower LLC=much better transient response than LLC=Turbo) to get the same VR VOUT, then go down 5mv until you start getting errors more predictably. Very torturous stuff and I can't be bothered with that crap now.

When I get my delid kit (ordered one this morning), and I delid and LM the core and relid, hopefully with reduced temps, I can drop the volts then I can see if I can test more precisely. It's really not fun when it takes ages (and heat) to find an error. And I know very little if anything about RAM subtimings or tertiary timings.

YMMV.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 03-18-2019 at 04:20 PM.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #2779 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 05:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
davidm71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,162
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Tried it out and went back to F8E. Seems like some bugs were probably fixed (I haven't tested the issue I saw with F8G where when you flip on the power supply, the board 'warms up' for 3 seconds then shuts off, also didn't test that F8G issue with F8H either, but F8E did not do that), but I am "slightly" more unstable at my "minimum stable voltage" (same ambients) with F8 compared to F8E (F8H seems to be the same as F8).
Hard to test stuff like this without equipment but: F8E: 5 ghz, 1.265v, LLC Turbo, Realbench 2.56: one WHEA/L0 error after 1 hour 10 minutes. F8: 5 ghz 1.265v, Realbench 2.56: one WHEA/L0 error after 15 minutes (no crashes, just logged in HWinfo64).

YMMV.
Are you saying on the F8 Beta's you got double posting behavior? And since F8E did not do that I assume F8 doesn't do that as well??

Hate double posting boards. Hate them.

Thanks.

Save with EVGA. Associate code: K8XL098LGS5O4WZ
Z390 Master
(8 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 FTW2 SLI
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Operating System
Windows 10 64
▲ hide details ▲
davidm71 is offline  
post #2780 of 3370 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 05:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,644
Rep: 368 (Unique: 262)
Quote: Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
Are you saying on the F8 Beta's you got double posting behavior? And since F8E did not do that I assume F8 doesn't do that as well??

Hate double posting boards. Hate them.

Thanks.
I don't expose my hardware to testing stuff intentionally like that.
All I am saying is *F8G* had this and it was NOT double posting behavior. It was the board 'warming up' and shutting down when the AC switch or PSU plug is plugged in from a complete shutoff.
I didn't see this happen in F8E. I did see a 'warmup' when you press the case button manually on f8e (or maybe f8b I honestly forgot) after the AC was shut off completely, but I *never* shut off the entire AC, so I really can't tell you more. I'm also not going to intentionally do this for anyone unless I'm paid to do it. Already had to mess around shutting off the PSU in the middle of windows or on the bios screen to see if I could replicate the "switching to backup bios" thing some people had experienced. And I sure do not appreciate that one bit. Not even a bloody thank you from anyone from my tests. So I'll only test what serves my needs, not others.

Whatever it was, you do NOT want the board immediately warming up and then turning off (as soon as the PSU is turned on) like F8G did. I do NOT know if F8H or F8 does that nor am I about to find out, either. I'd rather have it do it with the case button if anything.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (2 members and 2 guests)
milan616 , Smokediggity
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off