(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 377 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3761 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 01:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
diedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 140
Rep: 0
I still can't flash F9B on top of F9 , Cleared CMOS and loaded optimised defaults still can't flash it, it gives me error !! invalid command !! I use

Code:
efiflash.exe 1.F9b /X \NoOemID
Aorus Master here.

Ahmose
(15 items)
Methylator
(12 items)
CPU
Intel 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Master
GPU
Sapphire R9 290X Vapor-X Tri-X UEFI OC
RAM
Kingstone HyperX Predator RGB
Power Supply
Corsair RMx850 [2018]
Cooling
CoolerMaster 212 Turbo
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 ARGB 360mm [Soon]
Case
NZXT Phantom 530
Monitor
ASUS XG258Q
Monitor
ASUS PG279Q
Keyboard
CoolerMaster RapidFire Ultimate
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wirless
Mousepad
Kingston HyperX Fury S Large
Audio
FiiO K3
Audio
Kingstron HyperX Cloud Flight
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X R9 290X TRI-X OC (UEFI)
RAM
Kingston ValueRam CL11 1600 4GB
RAM
Kingstone ValueRam CL9 1333 2GB
Hard Drive
2x WD10EZEX-00UD2A00 Blue 1TB 7200 RPM
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX500M Semi Modular Bronze PSU
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64
Operating System
Apple OS X Yosemite 10.10.1
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster S22B300 (D-SUB/DVI-D)
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
▲ hide details ▲
diedo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3762 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 03:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,143
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by alv-OC View Post
Hi guys!

After many weeks having problems to get my G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR stable yestrady I decided to send the MoBo back to Caseking for RMA. Before of that I RMA'd the memory kits and G.Skill just gave me brand new sticks (maybe there was something wrong with it?, can't say, they look to do always replacements right away) so the chance of getting 2 'faulty' memory kits of cherry-picked memory is almost impossible.

In the meantine Gigabite's support team answered me saying that they were able to replicate my exact same issue on their lab, and their BIOS team gave me a modified version of the BIOS (wich they called 'F10a') just a few days ago. I tried that BIOS but it didn't make much difference from last official release F9. XMP ON, everything else on Auto and I strugled to pass Mem Training being always stucked at Debug LED code 55, but after a CMOS clean it booted and I could land into windows desktop, however it was very, very, very unestable, I was able to run R15 a couple of times but MemTest64 sowed between 120 and 170 errors the few times it could complete the first loop..., atempting to open any program or even web browsers would cause inmediate BSOD.

F9 was more stable as at least I use internet for a few minutes before crashing, however it was giving me more errors on MemTest64 (it doesn't make much sense for me).

Speaking with another user on G.Skill forums that had exact same hardware than me (even PSU and M.2 device) he got it MoBo replaced from Amazon and looks like he just activated XMP and is runig rock solid....

I tryen to relax some timings, but didn't work at all. setting XMO Off and setting frequency manually at 4000MHz and leaving every thing else on Auto o would boot but timings were so crazy high like 20 20 28 62, totally unacceptable.

Does anyone have a clue of what could be the issue or has heard about someone having this issue as well? I don't have previous experience with Caseking's RMA service and I'm not feeling very optimistic...

PS: if someone is interested in having a look to this F10a BIOS just give me a shout by PM and I'll send a WeTransfer with it.
I PM'd you. Can you add it as a .zip file as an attachment either here or in my PM?

Thank you.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is online now  
post #3763 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 03:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,143
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by diedo View Post
I still can't flash F9B on top of F9 , Cleared CMOS and loaded optimised defaults still can't flash it, it gives me error !! invalid command !! I use

Code:
efiflash.exe 1.F9b /X \NoOemID
Aorus Master here.
I'll make you a regular F9b BIOS without the password reset fix when I get home from work in a few hours. You use the regular command to flash it, not the OemID one.

But I flashed the password fix F9b with that command and it worked just fine. Is the BIOS you are flashing named '1.F9b'?

Edit: And you sure you made the USB properly with Rufus and put the efiflash.exe on the USB drive?

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3764 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 03:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,143
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by diedo View Post
I still can't flash F9B on top of F9 , Cleared CMOS and loaded optimised defaults still can't flash it, it gives me error !! invalid command !! I use

Code:
efiflash.exe 1.F9b /X \NoOemID
Aorus Master here.
.zip files have F9 BIOS and F9b with the latest microcode, RST firmware and Ethernet firmware as of 19/07/2019.

F9b is older but seems doesn't have that reboot at idle bug some boards have. F9b has the password reset fix.

Make a FreeDOS USB with included RUFUS. Put BIOS and efiflash.exe onto the USB after making it.



When it boots into DOS, type
Code:
Code:
efiflash 1.F9b /x \NoOemID
or
Code:
Code:
efiflash 1.F9 /x
To flash back from password reset F9b to any other BIOS example F9.
Code:
Code:
efiflash 1.F9 /x \NoOemID
Profit!!

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by KedarWolf; 07-19-2019 at 10:15 PM.
KedarWolf is online now  
post #3765 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 04:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
diedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 140
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
.zip files have F9 BIOS and F9b with the latest microcode, RST firmware and Ethernet firmware as of 19/07/2019.

F9b is older but seems doesn't have that reboot at idle bug some boards have. F9b has the password reset fix.

Make a FreeDOS USB with included RUFUS. Put BIOS and efiflash.exe onto the USB after making it.



When it boots into DOS, type
Code:
Code:
efiflash 1.F9b /x \NoOemID
or
Code:
Code:
efiflash 1.F9 /x
To flash back from password reset F9b to any other BIOS example F9.
Code:
Code:
efiflash 1.F9 /x \NoOemID
Profit!!
I have F9 flashed successfully tho with efiflash 1.f9 /x but the efiflash 1.f9b /x \noeomid doesn't work at all, Do I have to set the bios to single mode from the switch on the mother board when I try efiflash 1.f9b /x it shows oem mismatch error.

Ahmose
(15 items)
Methylator
(12 items)
CPU
Intel 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Master
GPU
Sapphire R9 290X Vapor-X Tri-X UEFI OC
RAM
Kingstone HyperX Predator RGB
Power Supply
Corsair RMx850 [2018]
Cooling
CoolerMaster 212 Turbo
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 ARGB 360mm [Soon]
Case
NZXT Phantom 530
Monitor
ASUS XG258Q
Monitor
ASUS PG279Q
Keyboard
CoolerMaster RapidFire Ultimate
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wirless
Mousepad
Kingston HyperX Fury S Large
Audio
FiiO K3
Audio
Kingstron HyperX Cloud Flight
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X R9 290X TRI-X OC (UEFI)
RAM
Kingston ValueRam CL11 1600 4GB
RAM
Kingstone ValueRam CL9 1333 2GB
Hard Drive
2x WD10EZEX-00UD2A00 Blue 1TB 7200 RPM
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX500M Semi Modular Bronze PSU
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64
Operating System
Apple OS X Yosemite 10.10.1
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster S22B300 (D-SUB/DVI-D)
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
▲ hide details ▲
diedo is offline  
post #3766 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 10:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,143
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by diedo View Post
I have F9 flashed successfully tho with efiflash 1.f9 /x but the efiflash 1.f9b /x \noeomid doesn't work at all, Do I have to set the bios to single mode from the switch on the mother board when I try efiflash 1.f9b /x it shows oem mismatch error.
i'm not sure why, but the password modded F9b not flashing for myself any more either.

I can make regular updated F9b though. bbiab.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is online now  
post #3767 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 10:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,143
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
F9b BIOS with the latest microcode, RST firmware and Ethernet firmware as of 20/07/2019.

F9b is older but seems doesn't have that reboot at idle bug some boards have. This F9b does NOT have the password reset fix.

Make a FreeDOS USB with included RUFUS. Put BIOS and efiflash.exe onto the USB after making it.



When it boots into DOS, type

Code:
Code:
efiflash 1.F9b /x
Profit!!
Attached Files
File Type: zip F9b.zip (7.88 MB, 4 views)

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is online now  
post #3768 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 04:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
robertr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 157
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by alv-OC View Post
Hi guys!

After many weeks having problems to get my G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR stable yestrady I decided to send the MoBo back to Caseking for RMA. Before of that I RMA'd the memory kits and G.Skill just gave me brand new sticks (maybe there was something wrong with it?, can't say, they look to do always replacements right away) so the chance of getting 2 'faulty' memory kits of cherry-picked memory is almost impossible.

In the meantine Gigabite's support team answered me saying that they were able to replicate my exact same issue on their lab, and their BIOS team gave me a modified version of the BIOS (wich they called 'F10a') just a few days ago. I tried that BIOS but it didn't make much difference from last official release F9. XMP ON, everything else on Auto and I strugled to pass Mem Training being always stucked at Debug LED code 55, but after a CMOS clean it booted and I could land into windows desktop, however it was very, very, very unestable, I was able to run R15 a couple of times but MemTest64 sowed between 120 and 170 errors the few times it could complete the first loop..., atempting to open any program or even web browsers would cause inmediate BSOD.

F9 was more stable as at least I use internet for a few minutes before crashing, however it was giving me more errors on MemTest64 (it doesn't make much sense for me).

Speaking with another user on G.Skill forums that had exact same hardware than me (even PSU and M.2 device) he got it MoBo replaced from Amazon and looks like he just activated XMP and is runig rock solid....

I tryen to relax some timings, but didn't work at all. setting XMO Off and setting frequency manually at 4000MHz and leaving every thing else on Auto o would boot but timings were so crazy high like 20 20 28 62, totally unacceptable.

Does anyone have a clue of what could be the issue or has heard about someone having this issue as well? I don't have previous experience with Caseking's RMA service and I'm not feeling very optimistic...

PS: if someone is interested in having a look to this F10a BIOS just give me a shout by PM and I'll send a WeTransfer with it.
You're likely not going to get that mem to run at XMP on these boards with 2 sticks.

These boards are very poor at 2 stick performance.

The chances of you booting with those timings and being stable are somewhere between 0 and .5% I'd love have someone show me a 17-17-17 4000mhz in a 2 stick config on their GB Z390 board running stable.

RMA the board, get an Asus Apex if you want high mem speeds and want to stick with 2 sticks. Don't touch a GB Z390 board if you goal is 2 stick mem performance.

If you want to add 2 more sticks, you'll have a much higher chance of running XMP.
robertr1 is offline  
post #3769 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 10:06 AM
Just another nerd
 
Sheyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So-Cal, U.S.A
Posts: 5,351
Rep: 336 (Unique: 241)
Quote: Originally Posted by robertr1 View Post
You're likely not going to get that mem to run at XMP on these boards with 2 sticks.
I'd love have someone show me a 17-17-17 4000mhz in a 2 stick config on their GB Z390 board running stable.
Yep, that's the reason I switched to 4 sticks of B-die. My friend's ASRock Taichi Z390 fires right up in XMP at 4000 with 2 sticks with a G.skill 4000 CL18 2 stick kit, at 1.35v. I had the same kit and it was a nightmare even getting it to boot at all, at 4000. This was on a Z390 Pro board, the Master might be a little better in this regard.

CPU: intel Core i9 9900K - 5 GHz all core HT on - 1.26v - Air cooled
MOBO: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
GPU: MSI Duke OC RTX 2080 Ti - 380w PL BIOS
RAM: G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 CL14 @ 3600 CL15 (Samsung B-die)
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
CASE: "Open bench" - Stripped down Tt Core X9
Sheyster is offline  
post #3770 of 4495 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 10:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,994
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by alv-OC View Post
Hi guys!

After many weeks having problems to get my G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR stable yestrady I decided to send the MoBo back to Caseking for RMA. Before of that I RMA'd the memory kits and G.Skill just gave me brand new sticks (maybe there was something wrong with it?, can't say, they look to do always replacements right away) so the chance of getting 2 'faulty' memory kits of cherry-picked memory is almost impossible.

In the meantine Gigabite's support team answered me saying that they were able to replicate my exact same issue on their lab, and their BIOS team gave me a modified version of the BIOS (wich they called 'F10a') just a few days ago. I tried that BIOS but it didn't make much difference from last official release F9. XMP ON, everything else on Auto and I strugled to pass Mem Training being always stucked at Debug LED code 55, but after a CMOS clean it booted and I could land into windows desktop, however it was very, very, very unestable, I was able to run R15 a couple of times but MemTest64 sowed between 120 and 170 errors the few times it could complete the first loop..., atempting to open any program or even web browsers would cause inmediate BSOD.

F9 was more stable as at least I use internet for a few minutes before crashing, however it was giving me more errors on MemTest64 (it doesn't make much sense for me).

Speaking with another user on G.Skill forums that had exact same hardware than me (even PSU and M.2 device) he got it MoBo replaced from Amazon and looks like he just activated XMP and is runig rock solid....

I tryen to relax some timings, but didn't work at all. setting XMO Off and setting frequency manually at 4000MHz and leaving every thing else on Auto o would boot but timings were so crazy high like 20 20 28 62, totally unacceptable.

Does anyone have a clue of what could be the issue or has heard about someone having this issue as well? I don't have previous experience with Caseking's RMA service and I'm not feeling very optimistic...

PS: if someone is interested in having a look to this F10a BIOS just give me a shout by PM and I'll send a WeTransfer with it.
Did you ever get around to posting that BIOS for Kedarwolf?

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (2 members and 5 guests)
Falkentyne , KedarWolf
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off