(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 379 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3781 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 01:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
robertr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 155
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by memery.uag View Post
I'm running 2 sticks of 16gb Corsair vengeance, you guys are saying it's more stable with all 4 slots filled? I'm gonna have to run out now before the wife gets home!
The boards use T-Toplogy memory layout meaning they'll always perform better with all 4 slots filled out. Be careful on the pro though. The master has more PCB layers than our Pro's which gives it better mem OC. You should be able to run 3600mhz or so with 2 stick and decent timings on the pro. More than that is gonna be tough.
robertr1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3782 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 05:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
alv-OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Just post it here as an attachment and then @KedarWolf can do his magic on it!
Yeah he wrote me on PM and I just sent a ZIP file with it.


Quote: Originally Posted by Intrud3r View Post
Don't know if it helps, but I read that you put xmp = off and frequency = 4000 Mhz ... everything else on auto.

On my board I was playing around with my memory, and when I set my XMP = off and left DRAM voltage on AUTO, it only gave something like 1.2V to my dimm's which was logically not enough.

I had to manually enter 1.350V or higher for it to run well when I set xmp = off.

Maybe it helps.
Actually I tryed that but BIOS would set ridiculous timings like 20 20 28 62 with DDR voltage: 1.4v @4000MHz...


Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
You also have to manually set DDR VTT to 1/2 DDRV if it doesn't adjust it manually.
Seen cases where DDR VTT was set to 0.6v instead of 0.675v.
ummm... if I still recall that was my case, VTT was always exactly at 0.600v on Auto (both XMP On and Off)

Al's Rig
(15 items)
CPU
I9 9900K Delided + Der8auer DDC mount
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti Extreme
RAM
G.Skill 4000MHZ CL17
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB M.2 NMVe
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
Corsair AX1000
Cooling
EK Custom Loop w/ 2x420mm Rads + 240ml RGB res/pump combo. CPU & GPU block
Case
Corsair C71 View RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator Z35p UltraWide 21:9 3440x1440p
Keyboard
All rely Mechanical one hand Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech 502
Audio
Cooler Master MH752
Audio
Philips 5.1 65W
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by alv-OC; 07-21-2019 at 05:38 AM.
alv-OC is offline  
post #3783 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 12:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
memery.uag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United States of Texas
Posts: 44
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by robertr1 View Post
The boards use T-Toplogy memory layout meaning they'll always perform better with all 4 slots filled out. Be careful on the pro though. The master has more PCB layers than our Pro's which gives it better mem OC. You should be able to run 3600mhz or so with 2 stick and decent timings on the pro. More than that is gonna be tough.
Yeah I would have gone that route with the Master if I had known that. I did want the wifi and Bluetooth though so I think I'm happy. I went out and grabbed 2 more sticks of ram yesterday though, lol. It was impulsive and not well thought out. I now have two of these https://www.bestbuy.com/site/corsair...?skuId=6333800 Latency is 16-18-18-36 and they have been booting into their 3200MHz XMP profile no problem. I just think I really don't need 64GB of RAM! Is there a better set of 4 I could get for the same price, $350+/-?

Over My Head
(10 items)
CPU
Core i9-9900k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
GTX970
RAM
Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MGz 16, 18, 18, 36
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1000p2
Cooling
Heatkiller IV Basic with custom loop, Swiftech MCP655 and Alphacool Rads
Case
Coolermaster
Operating System
Windows 10 64bit
▲ hide details ▲
memery.uag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3784 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 01:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
robertr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 155
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by memery.uag View Post
Yeah I would have gone that route with the Master if I had known that. I did want the wifi and Bluetooth though so I think I'm happy. I went out and grabbed 2 more sticks of ram yesterday though, lol. It was impulsive and not well thought out. I now have two of these https://www.bestbuy.com/site/corsair...?skuId=6333800 Latency is 16-18-18-36 and they have been booting into their 3200MHz XMP profile no problem. I just think I really don't need 64GB of RAM! Is there a better set of 4 I could get for the same price, $350+/-?
You'd be hard pressed. 32gb kits are dual rank which puts more stress on the mem controller/imc. 2x8 is generally the fastest setup. Just enjoy the 64gb. Hopefully you run a lot of VM's and/or professional editing and can make use of it. For gaming, 0 point. If you're only gaming, 32gb is more than enough and spend that money towards a GPU upgrade all day.
robertr1 is offline  
post #3785 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 01:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,140
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by memery.uag View Post
Yeah I would have gone that route with the Master if I had known that. I did want the wifi and Bluetooth though so I think I'm happy. I went out and grabbed 2 more sticks of ram yesterday though, lol. It was impulsive and not well thought out. I now have two of these https://www.bestbuy.com/site/corsair...?skuId=6333800 Latency is 16-18-18-36 and they have been booting into their 3200MHz XMP profile no problem. I just think I really don't need 64GB of RAM! Is there a better set of 4 I could get for the same price, $350+/-?
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-...82E16820232585

Pretty much the best set you can get for 4x8GB. G.Skill CL16 3600 NOT RGB. RGB kits have issues overclocking except the G.Skill Royal kits.

I run 24/7 at 4133MHz 17-17-17-38 2T with tight second and third timings on my Master with that kit and can run 4200Mhz 17-18-18-39 2T as well but get a bit better benchmarks with 4133Mhz in most benches. Only bench 4200 is better is AIDA64 Extreme.

There is a black kit as well but out of stock at newegg.com. You may be able to find it other places though.

Edit: This is pretty amazing for a 5GHz CPU.

Second edit: Here the black kit if you want to search the model number for another store.

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-...82E16820232584

I'm pretty happy with this.


KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by KedarWolf; 07-21-2019 at 01:21 PM.
KedarWolf is offline  
post #3786 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 01:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
memery.uag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United States of Texas
Posts: 44
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by robertr1 View Post
You'd be hard pressed. 32gb kits are dual rank which puts more stress on the mem controller/imc. 2x8 is generally the fastest setup. Just enjoy the 64gb. Hopefully you run a lot of VM's and/or professional editing and can make use of it. For gaming, 0 point. If you're only gaming, 32gb is more than enough and spend that money towards a GPU upgrade all day.
Last night after putting in the second set of (2x16) I booted up and set up my system, (I run a few games but I also do a lot of work with photos and some video work. I also run a secure boot system so I lean towards stability a bit). I opened up as many applications as I could possibly think of, all of Microsoft Office with large files, my photo apps, Hand Brake, monitoring software, put a 4k movie running on VLC about 10 tabs open in Edge and loaded in Steam and started playing a game. All together it only sucked up around 16GB~. So I'm feeling foolish with 64GB. Newegg has the Dominators in a 2x8 kit, what would be better, 3200MHz x 16C or 3600MHz x 18C ? it would actually save me money too

Edit: You saw my GPU huh? lol well I'd have to get a new waterblock too if I got a new GPU and I refuse to buy another xx70 again, if I get a new GPU it's gonna be the 2080ti which is … lots.

Over My Head
(10 items)
CPU
Core i9-9900k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
GTX970
RAM
Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MGz 16, 18, 18, 36
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1000p2
Cooling
Heatkiller IV Basic with custom loop, Swiftech MCP655 and Alphacool Rads
Case
Coolermaster
Operating System
Windows 10 64bit
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by memery.uag; 07-21-2019 at 01:44 PM.
memery.uag is offline  
post #3787 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 02:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,140
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by memery.uag View Post
Last night after putting in the second set of (2x16) I booted up and set up my system, (I run a few games but I also do a lot of work with photos and some video work. I also run a secure boot system so I lean towards stability a bit). I opened up as many applications as I could possibly think of, all of Microsoft Office with large files, my photo apps, Hand Brake, monitoring software, put a 4k movie running on VLC about 10 tabs open in Edge and loaded in Steam and started playing a game. All together it only sucked up around 16GB~. So I'm feeling foolish with 64GB. Newegg has the Dominators in a 2x8 kit, what would be better, 3200MHz x 16C or 3600MHz x 18C ? it would actually save me money too

Edit: You saw my GPU huh? lol well I'd have to get a new waterblock too if I got a new GPU and I refuse to buy another xx70 again, if I get a new GPU it's gonna be the 2080ti which is … lots.
4x8GB kits are single rank. DIMMs that are 16GB each are Dual Rank.

Check out that kit I linked, way to go for 4x8GB. You can go 4x16GB but won't overclock near as well, and you want to go G.Skill, best RAM by far. And 3200 CL16 are not very good, don't think 3600 CL18 are either.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #3788 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 02:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,140
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by robertr1 View Post
You'd be hard pressed. 32gb kits are dual rank which puts more stress on the mem controller/imc. 2x8 is generally the fastest setup. Just enjoy the 64gb. Hopefully you run a lot of VM's and/or professional editing and can make use of it. For gaming, 0 point. If you're only gaming, 32gb is more than enough and spend that money towards a GPU upgrade all day.
4x8GB kits are single rank and Gigabyte boards are T-Topology, you do much better with four DIMMs then say 2x8GB.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #3789 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 03:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,140
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Deleted, that f10a BIOS I was provided will not flash with modded or regular Efiflash.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.45v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by KedarWolf; 07-21-2019 at 03:52 PM.
KedarWolf is offline  
post #3790 of 4463 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 07:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
Deleted, that f10a BIOS I was provided will not flash with modded or regular Efiflash.
I had no problems flashing it with regular EFIflash.
I just ran efiflash f10amod.f10 /x
like usual, after renaming the file

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 10 (2 members and 8 guests)
thuNDa , w3ggy
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off