(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 444 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4431 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 11:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Medvediy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Smokediggity View Post
It seems that I have bricked the main bios on my Master. I've tried the whole boot with backup bios, flip the switch to the broken bios, then flash using q-flash, but it isn't working. It just keeps flashing the backup bios. Anyone have any suggestions on how I could reflash the main bios chip? Of course, it may be time to invest in a chip programmer, for which I am open to recommendations.
How you bricked it? What you've done wrong?

Intel Core i7 9700k / Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master / Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 4x8GB DDR4 3200 C14 (CMW16GX4M2C3200C14) / EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb / Samsung 860 Evo 1tb m.2 / Samsung 860 Evo 1tb 2.5"
Seasonic SSR-850FX / Custom PSU cables ModPC.ru
Corsair Commander Pro / Corsair LL120 RGB x7
Corsair K70 Lux RGB / Corsair Glaive RGB
Medvediy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4432 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 12:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
robertr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 168
Rep: 8 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Madness11 View Post
I just order 1 kit , after 1 more 🙂 yes this memory in qvl list on aorus master.
Even if QVL, dont' let the board set auto timings for VCCIO/SA. Unless you hate your IMC.
robertr1 is offline  
post #4433 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 09:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by robertr1 View Post
Even if QVL, dont' let the board set auto timings for VCCIO/SA. Unless you hate your IMC.
Whats a good base value to start from with VCCIO/SA in your opinion?
Deathtech00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4434 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 10:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,647
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
Quote: Originally Posted by Deathtech00 View Post
Whats a good base value to start from with VCCIO/SA in your opinion?
1.2V
I don't even need more with 4x 8GB @3900CL15, but YMMV with typical timings for B-Dies and 1.3V is ok too. Actually i would start with 1.3V and try to lower it when your RAM-OC is set.

thuNDa is offline  
post #4435 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 10:24 AM
Just another nerd
 
Sheyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So-Cal, U.S.A
Posts: 5,389
Rep: 336 (Unique: 241)
Quote: Originally Posted by Deathtech00 View Post
Whats a good base value to start from with VCCIO/SA in your opinion?

1.23/1.23 or 1.23/1.25. I prefer SA to be a little higher. Like the other guy said, YMMV. CPU IMC's are all different.

CPU: intel Core i9 9900K - 5 GHz all core HT on - 1.26v - Air cooled
MOBO: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
GPU: MSI Duke OC RTX 2080 Ti - 380w PL BIOS
RAM: G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 CL14 @ 3600 CL15 (Samsung B-die)
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
CASE: "Open bench" - Stripped down Tt Core X9
Sheyster is offline  
post #4436 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 11:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
This
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DZC36GY/

I don't know about socket adapters; the RT809F comes with a bunch of them. Since the main bios is socketed (dip8 I think?), you just pull it out and put it in the programmer (maybe with an adapter) but not sure where to go with that, you're on your own there. The backup bios is soldered SOIC8, and a Pomona clip can flash that directly on the board; I don't know if the Pomona clip is compatible with socketed dip8 or not.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HHH65T4/

and https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01EV70C78/ for hooking up the clip to the programmer.
Thanks for the recommendation. I think I should be ok with out an adapter. Since the backup bios seems to be working fine I'll likely skip getting the clip for the time being.


Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
Yeah, BIOS flash DON'T work, I had to use a BIOS programmer, but take a pic of the BIOS before you pull it out, put it back the wrong way and you'll fry it, I know, or buy a preprogrammed BIOS from ebay, they are cheap.
Thanks for the tip about taking a picture. I'll be sure to take note of its orientation.


Quote: Originally Posted by Medvediy View Post
How you bricked it? What you've done wrong?
I stayed up way too late and was tired and accidentally used the Flash Programming Tool instead of the FWUpdate tool to update my ME firmware.
Smokediggity is offline  
post #4437 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 07:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,162
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by Smokediggity View Post
Thanks for the recommendation. I think I should be ok with out an adapter. Since the backup bios seems to be working fine I'll likely skip getting the clip for the time being.



Thanks for the tip about taking a picture. I'll be sure to take note of its orientation.



I stayed up way too late and was tired and accidentally used the Flash Programming Tool instead of the FWUpdate tool to update my ME firmware.
This one worked on my Master. You need to know which software works though. PM me when you're ready.

https://www.amazon.com/Computer-Comp.../dp/B07M6P9BVJ

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte/EVGA 1080 Ti SLI FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #4438 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 08:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 124
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
I'm pretty sure we are on OVERCLOCK.net but I might be wrong.
Yes we are, and when then is something worth clocking (and there is), apart from RAM, roll all you want

TT View 71 RGB TGE | Gigabyte AORUS MASTER Z390 (F8b) | INTEL Core i7 8700K Pre-bin & Delid @ 5.0Ghz - EK SUPREMACY EVO RGB Nickel | GSkill Trident Z RGB 3200 (14 CAS) - 2 x 16Gb (32Gb) DDR4 | EVGA Supernova 850W G3 PSU | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 TI FTW3 - EK-FC1080 GTX TI FTW3 RGB Nickel | EK-XRES 140 REVO D5 PWM | EKWB CoolStream CE 420 | 1 x Samsung 970 Pro 512Gb NVMe - 1 x Samsung 970 EVO 500Gb NVMe - 1 x Samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD | E5 DAC | ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q | Windows 10 Ent 2019 LTSC x64
scaramonga is offline  
post #4439 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-14-2019, 06:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Can someone explain me how a motherboard decide which frequency she will use?
Now I use 3600 17 17 17 36 1T
But in reality it starts with 3700 17 17 17 36 1T

If I decrease 36 to 35 it starts with
2600 17 17 17 35 1T
What's going wrong? How to disable it?
I have a lot of issues with memory and it makes me angry sometimes.

My motherboard:
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wi-Fi
BIOS version is F10.
w3ggy is offline  
post #4440 of 4633 (permalink) Old 09-14-2019, 07:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,060
Rep: 385 (Unique: 275)
Quote: Originally Posted by w3ggy View Post
Can someone explain me how a motherboard decide which frequency she will use?
Now I use 3600 17 17 17 36 1T
But in reality it starts with 3700 17 17 17 36 1T

If I decrease 36 to 35 it starts with
2600 17 17 17 35 1T
What's going wrong? How to disable it?
I have a lot of issues with memory and it makes me angry sometimes.

My motherboard:
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wi-Fi
BIOS version is F10.
That is a verifiied bug. Contact support.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 members and 3 guests)
Driller au
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off