(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 465 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4641 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 06:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Desktop is buggy, how? Memory instability?

Try to send a tag or PM to @GBT-MatthewH so he can let GB Support know.
I think this BIOS is required for 9900KS support, unless F10a / b will have microcode for it.

I looked at a new MSI BIOS and they are also shipping the old microcode, so I assume the older microcodes support the KS, though that doesn't guarantee that the older BIOSes will be able to properly detect the CPU or have the necessary strings to display product specific info.
Smokediggity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4642 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 08:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,475
Rep: 398 (Unique: 284)
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
Actually, the desktop buggy was my Nvidia 'Manage 3D Settings' but the tREFI bug remains.
Disabling Thermal Velocity Boost voltage optimizations will raise the idle voltage considerably by allowing AC Loadline to boost the VID as high as the impedance allows, or up to 1.520v, whatever comes first (before vdroop, calm down ladies). The load voltage will also be higher, unless the impedance will put you at 1.520v (before vdroop), and it would also be at 1.520v if TvB voltage optimizations were enabled anyway (in which case the load voltage wouldn't change). If you disable TvB voltage optimizations, be prepared to adjust your AC Loadlines or DVID offsets for the VID increase that will result in VR VOUT increase.

Testing CPU stability is as bad as testing overclocked RAM. You never know if you're stable or 'partially stable' until a north wind blows your way. I "seem" to be maybe 5mv more stable than before, but I won't know for a few days of testing.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #4643 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 01:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Z390 Aorus Pro owner here.
Anywhere I could find changelog for F11 bios?
Currently I am on f11a, with "finalized" mem and cpu clocks. Dont want to blindly update.
edhutner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4644 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 09:42 AM
Just another nerd
 
Sheyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So-Cal, U.S.A
Posts: 5,540
Rep: 340 (Unique: 242)
Quote: Originally Posted by edhutner View Post
Z390 Aorus Pro owner here.
Anywhere I could find changelog for F11 bios?
Currently I am on f11a, with "finalized" mem and cpu clocks. Dont want to blindly update.
Is that a Beta BIOS you found on Tweaktown? I don't see it on the official support page. Also, can you please upload it so we can figure out which microcode they're using.

CPU: intel Core i9 9900K - 5 GHz all core HT on - 1.26v - Air cooled
MOBO: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
GPU: MSI Duke OC RTX 2080 Ti - 380w PL BIOS
RAM: G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 CL14 @ 3600 CL15 (Samsung B-die)
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
CASE: "Open bench" - Stripped down Tt Core X9
Sheyster is offline  
post #4645 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 10:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
johnyb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 34
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Sheyster View Post
Is that a Beta BIOS you found on Tweaktown? I don't see it on the official support page. Also, can you please upload it so we can figure out which microcode they're using.
He's probably talking about this thread on TweakTown: https://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyt...beta-bios.html
johnyb0y is offline  
post #4646 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 10:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Yes the latest beta from tweaktown.
https://www.mediafire.com/file/g0pvq...USPRO.F11/file
edhutner is offline  
post #4647 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 11:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
johnyb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 34
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
For my workstation I recently ordered this 32GB 4133Mhz C17 Kit from G.Skill: F4-4133C17Q-32GTZR
http://www.gskill.com/product/165/16...40V32GB-(4x8GB)

On my Aorus Z390 Pro Wifi (F10 Bios) I wasn't able to boot anything higher than 3800Mhz but I was able to tune the timings.
Currently I'm on 1.16v VCCIO & VCCSA and 1.40v on Ram. I even tried 1.3 VCCIO & VCCSA and 1.50v on Ram, but anything higher than 3800Mhz fails Ram Training.
It's possible that my IMC is just kinda ****ty. Anyway, I'm happy with my current results.

This is just FYI, maybe helpful to someone.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.png
Views:	44
Size:	519.7 KB
ID:	301420  


Last edited by johnyb0y; 10-20-2019 at 11:12 AM.
johnyb0y is offline  
post #4648 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 11:10 AM
Just another nerd
 
Sheyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So-Cal, U.S.A
Posts: 5,540
Rep: 340 (Unique: 242)
Quote: Originally Posted by edhutner View Post
Yes the latest beta from tweaktown.
https://www.mediafire.com/file/g0pvq...USPRO.F11/file
@KedarWolf - can you please confirm the microcode used in this BIOS?

CPU: intel Core i9 9900K - 5 GHz all core HT on - 1.26v - Air cooled
MOBO: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
GPU: MSI Duke OC RTX 2080 Ti - 380w PL BIOS
RAM: G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 CL14 @ 3600 CL15 (Samsung B-die)
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
CASE: "Open bench" - Stripped down Tt Core X9
Sheyster is offline  
post #4649 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 11:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,449
Rep: 143 (Unique: 101)
Quote: Originally Posted by johnyb0y View Post
For my workstation I recently ordered this 32GB 4133Mhz C17 Kit from G.Skill: F4-4133C17Q-32GTZR

http://www.gskill.com/product/165/16...40V32GB-(4x8GB)



On my Aorus Z390 Pro Wifi (F10 Bios) I wasn't able to boot anything higher than 3800Mhz but I was able to tune the timings.

Currently I'm on 1.16v VCCIO & VCCSA and 1.40v on Ram. I even tried 1.3 VCCIO & VCCSA and 1.50v on Ram, but anything higher than 3800Mhz fails Ram Training.

It's possible that my IMC is just kinda ****ty. Anyway, I'm happy with my current results.



This is just FYI, maybe helpful to someone.


That DDR actually lists as QVL for these Gigabyte Z390 mobos, but not the Pro.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
GPU
EVGA RTX2080 Gaming XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 950
Power Supply
Corsair AX-1200
Case
CaseLabs M8
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GPU
Nvidia GTX1080Ti
RAM
G.Skill SNIPER 12GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
RAM
G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX SSD
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30 BD burner
Optical Drive
TSH663B DVD burner
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-750PD Flagship Prime Series 750W Platinum
Cooling
EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
XSPC RX360 radiator
Cooling
EK WB D-BAYD5 PWM reservoir
Case
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Acer GD235HZbid
Keyboard
Ducky Mechanical
CPU
8600K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
GPU
Nvidia GTX 1070 FE
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series PC4 24000
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Power Supply
Rosewill Quark Series 750W Full Modular Gaming Power Supply with LED Indicator
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z270/Z370 GAMING Monoblock - Nickel
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
ezveedub is offline  
post #4650 of 5650 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 11:34 AM
Just another nerd
 
Sheyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So-Cal, U.S.A
Posts: 5,540
Rep: 340 (Unique: 242)
Quote: Originally Posted by ezveedub View Post
That DDR actually lists as QVL for these Gigabyte Z390 mobos, but not the Pro.
The Pro is definitely much more picky than the Master, and also much harder to OC memory to 4000+.

CPU: intel Core i9 9900K - 5 GHz all core HT on - 1.26v - Air cooled
MOBO: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
GPU: MSI Duke OC RTX 2080 Ti - 380w PL BIOS
RAM: G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 CL14 @ 3600 CL15 (Samsung B-die)
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
CASE: "Open bench" - Stripped down Tt Core X9
Sheyster is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 8 (1 members and 7 guests)
bigfootnz
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off