(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 497 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4961 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 08:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,876
Rep: 218 (Unique: 175)
My 9900KF is P0 stepping, and the Z390 ultra is at F7 BIOS, running fine for about a week now. Any improvement/degradation with BIOS upgrade?

If you can keep your beer while all about you are spilling theirs and blaming it on you, then you'd be a playa, my brutha. - Dudyard Broling
gamervivek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4962 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 08:34 AM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,749
Rep: 338 (Unique: 213)
Quote: Originally Posted by gamervivek View Post
My 9900KF is P0 stepping, and the Z390 ultra is at F7 BIOS, running fine for about a week now. Any improvement/degradation with BIOS upgrade?
Some may not agree with me on this but my veiw on bios updates are simple.

If it's all working, don't try to fix it.

Unless there is a specific need or something not functional, there is little reason to update the bios imo.

CPU
i9 9900k
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro
GPU
Msi 1080ti gaming x
RAM
Corsair DDR4 3000mhz cl 15
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 500 gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 1tb
Hard Drive
2tb WD 5400 rpm
Power Supply
Seasonic G-750
Cooling
EK XRES 140 DDC Top
Cooling
swiftech MCP-35X
Cooling
Gentle typhoon AP-15 X 3
Cooling
Be quite 140mm
Cooling
Nocuta 120mm Redux 1700rpm
Cooling
Bitspower DDC Heatsink Black
Cooling
Hardware Labs 240mm GTS
Cooling
EK Supremecy MX
Cooling
Ek 360mm pe rad
Cooling
Ek msi 1080ti gaming x waterblock
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
WIN 10
Monitor
Acer XF250Q 240hz
Keyboard
G410 atlas
Mouse
G502
▲ hide details ▲
Wirerat is offline  
post #4963 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 08:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 35
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
C6 microcodes, fast ones.



Latest microcodes.

This is my PR so far on the Master board... Pretty strong board for what it is.



This is my PR so far with my 9900K on the Master...


https://valid.x86.fr/flvj1i

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: Fire Strike [32941] | Time Spy [16678] | Cinebench R15 [2332cb] | Cinebench R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299 w/ 7980XE and Z390 Dark w/ 9900K Golden Egg
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4964 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 09:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 35
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Some may not agree with me on this but my veiw on bios updates are simple.

If it's all working, don't try to fix it.

Unless there is a specific need or something not functional, there is little reason to update the bios imo.
I agree 100%. Newer isn't always better.

Quote: Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
Do you really need that much memory for Photoshop?
Even when I have Premiere, Photoshop and CaptureOne all working, I am still fine with 64GB but I wanted the peace of mind of course since I always have a lot of browsing tabs etc. Sucks that the memory slot is bad..having to switch all that is a pain..well at least for me with all the crap I have on my PC
Hope you are lucky with the Master but just dont expect much memory OC (if that is your thing) with 4x16GB ..or at least mine wont do much at all.
Quote: Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
Yes, I need that much memory. 30 MP and stitching and processing multiple photos with many layers quite often crashes photoshop now. Ans I also run DXO Photolab alongside photoshop.

Memory OC is not that important to me. I have RGB 3200 CL14 and even though it is B-die, it doesn't OC that well. I will be OK with XMP 3200, 64 GB.
Quote: Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
Yeah I dont care much for memory OC but I did try it and it was a big failure. As long as my 5Ghz is stable I am happy. Good luck!
Regarding RAM overclocking on the Master board, it's actually pretty good for what it is...

I've been tuning my RAM (G.Skill 4266MHz TridentZ RGB 32GB kit [8GBx4] lately to get the most out of it at the right timings, speed etc.. to my liking...

So far this has been rock solid for me... hours of gaming, memtest 20x run @ 75% mem capacity etc...

4133MHz @ 17-17-17-37


Note: I've ran more Aida tests after these runs and actually scored higher, but this screenshot gets the point across so it's all good... Check out the Read/Write/Copy and Cache speeds...

BZ got this same kit to 4533 iirc on the Master board, so RAM OC'ing on this board is actually really good for this class/price point.

When you guys have some time on a rainy day, definitely go for it with some RAM tweaking.

Edit: Just realized that the image doesn't expand when you click on it so I've attached it as well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4133 RAM - iunlock.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	1.66 MB
ID:	306500  


Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: Fire Strike [32941] | Time Spy [16678] | Cinebench R15 [2332cb] | Cinebench R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299 w/ 7980XE and Z390 Dark w/ 9900K Golden Egg
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png

Last edited by iunlock; 11-16-2019 at 09:15 AM.
iunlock is offline  
post #4965 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 10:01 AM
Just another nerd
 
Sheyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: So-Cal, U.S.A
Posts: 5,534
Rep: 340 (Unique: 242)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Some may not agree with me on this but my veiw on bios updates are simple.

If it's all working, don't try to fix it.

Unless there is a specific need or something not functional, there is little reason to update the bios imo.
+1

I've been on F9 for quite a while and will probably upgrade to the F10b Kedarwolf modded BIOS soon, just for newer/faster microcode.

I have no plans to upgrade to F11 anytime soon.

And I'll just say it, some of these GB updates are a bit questionable.

"Gigabyte BIOS is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you're gonna get".

CPU: intel Core i9 9900K - 5 GHz all core HT on - 1.26v - Air cooled
MOBO: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
GPU: MSI Duke OC RTX 2080 Ti - 380w PL BIOS
RAM: G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 CL14 @ 3600 CL15 (Samsung B-die)
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
CASE: "Open bench" - Stripped down Tt Core X9
Sheyster is offline  
post #4966 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 11:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
shaolin95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 950
Rep: 33 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
I agree 100%. Newer isn't always better.







Regarding RAM overclocking on the Master board, it's actually pretty good for what it is...

I've been tuning my RAM (G.Skill 4266MHz TridentZ RGB 32GB kit [8GBx4] lately to get the most out of it at the right timings, speed etc.. to my liking...

So far this has been rock solid for me... hours of gaming, memtest 20x run @ 75% mem capacity etc...

4133MHz @ 17-17-17-37


Note: I've ran more Aida tests after these runs and actually scored higher, but this screenshot gets the point across so it's all good... Check out the Read/Write/Copy and Cache speeds...

BZ got this same kit to 4533 iirc on the Master board, so RAM OC'ing on this board is actually really good for this class/price point.

When you guys have some time on a rainy day, definitely go for it with some RAM tweaking.

Edit: Just realized that the image doesn't expand when you click on it so I've attached it as well.
Note that we are running 16GBx4 3200 C14 not 8GBx4. That makes a BIG difference for overclocking when the CPU is already at 5GHZ all cores

Aš tikrai myliu Lietuva!
9900k "The Kraken"
(12 items)
CPU
i9-9900k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
GPU
EVGA 1080ti Hybrid
RAM
4x16GB G.SKILL Trident Z Royal Series Model F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 970 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1000 G3
Cooling
Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition
Case
Thermaltake View 71
Monitor
BenQ PD3200u
Keyboard
ROCCAT VULCAN 120 AIMO
Mouse
Roccat AIMO
Mousepad
ROCCAT Alumic Double-Sided
▲ hide details ▲
shaolin95 is offline  
post #4967 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 03:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,242
Rep: 283 (Unique: 184)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
I agree 100%. Newer isn't always better.







Regarding RAM overclocking on the Master board, it's actually pretty good for what it is...

I've been tuning my RAM (G.Skill 4266MHz TridentZ RGB 32GB kit [8GBx4] lately to get the most out of it at the right timings, speed etc.. to my liking...

So far this has been rock solid for me... hours of gaming, memtest 20x run @ 75% mem capacity etc...

4133MHz @ 17-17-17-37


Note: I've ran more Aida tests after these runs and actually scored higher, but this screenshot gets the point across so it's all good... Check out the Read/Write/Copy and Cache speeds...

BZ got this same kit to 4533 iirc on the Master board, so RAM OC'ing on this board is actually really good for this class/price point.

When you guys have some time on a rainy day, definitely go for it with some RAM tweaking.

Edit: Just realized that the image doesn't expand when you click on it so I've attached it as well.
See my timings, you may want to weak yours.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	11
Size:	331.9 KB
ID:	306620  


KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte/EVGA 1080 Ti SLI FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #4968 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 05:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 35
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
Note that we are running 16GBx4 3200 C14 not 8GBx4. That makes a BIG difference for overclocking when the CPU is already at 5GHZ all cores
Indeed. 3200 @ C14 is solid...
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
See my timings, you may want to weak yours.

Thanks. I'll test it out some more tonight. What's your dram and training voltage at, along with SA & IO? Any other changes in the bios? Do you have any of the memory enhancements enabled to normal etc...?

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: Fire Strike [32941] | Time Spy [16678] | Cinebench R15 [2332cb] | Cinebench R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299 w/ 7980XE and Z390 Dark w/ 9900K Golden Egg
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
post #4969 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 05:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,242
Rep: 283 (Unique: 184)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
Indeed. 3200 @ C14 is solid... Thanks. I'll test it out some more tonight. What's your dram and training voltage at, along with SA & IO? Any other changes in the bios? Do you have any of the memory enhancements enabled to normal etc...?





KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte/EVGA 1080 Ti SLI FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #4970 of 5479 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 07:15 PM
Optimal Pessimist
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,393
Rep: 120 (Unique: 93)
Well, testing manual overclock @5GHZ with my XMP 3200Cl14 on new Aorus Master.. Trying 1.215 VROUT load on Realbench 2.43 now. I think this is over clocking better than my Asus code did.
RAM seems to run cooler as well as my960 Pro m.2.

Everything appears to be working.

So far I am a happy camper. I would like to be able to lower voltage at idle. Is that possible with this board?

FDR4-8086k
(23 items)
CPU
8086k 5.1/4.8 GHz @ 1.28v, 5.2/4.9 GHz @ 1.326v (AVX 0)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
Asus GTX 2070 Super A8GB
RAM
64GB Trident Z RGB 3200 CL14 @3600 Cl16
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Black 2 TB in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 6 TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Green in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 (only middle NF-A15 Chromax)
Cooling
4 x Noctua NF-A14 Chromax black swap
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 Chromax black swap
Case
Fractal Design R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
Eizo CG2730
Monitor
DELL P2217H
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid TKL
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mouse
perixx dx-2000
Audio
On Board ALC1220-VB/ESS SABRE 9118 DAC
Audio
Vanatoo Transparent One
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by GeneO; 11-16-2019 at 07:29 PM.
GeneO is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (3 members and 4 guests)
elmor , Intrud3r , Medvediy
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off