(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 503 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5021 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 12:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 96
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
I tried with and without,. Weird though it changed values I entered and booted. I tried 1.35v (which it should have been able to do) and 1.38v
Try upping your voltage just a tad on your CPU as cache memory increases you need more voltage. It could be the culprit and/or it may be that you need to adjust your SA/IO as well.

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: FS [32941] | TS [16678] | CB R15 [2332cb] | CB R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299:7980XE + Z390 Dark:9900K + Zenith II Extreme TRX40:3970x
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5022 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 01:42 AM
OC / WC under-achiever
 
mmcneil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Gigabyte noob needs help

Upgrading from an i7 4790K to an i7 9700k and was hoping to get a little advice. I'm planning on getting the Aorus Pro, along with 32GB of RAM. I plan to OC the memory and OC the the 9700K to 5ghz and I have a custom cooling loop. This is would be my first Gigabyte board, so I wanted to know:

1. are there any issues I need to be aware of as far as using this board/CPU combo?
2. for 32mb, should I use 4x8GB DIMMS or 2x16GB?
3. Should I bump up to the latest F10 bios? (dumb question, but I figured I'd ask just to be sure)

Thanks in advance
mmcneil is offline  
post #5023 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 02:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 96
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by mmcneil View Post
Upgrading from an i7 4790K to an i7 9700k and was hoping to get a little advice. I'm planning on getting the Aorus Pro, along with 32GB of RAM. I plan to OC the memory and OC the the 9700K to 5ghz and I have a custom cooling loop. This is would be my first Gigabyte board, so I wanted to know:

1. are there any issues I need to be aware of as far as using this board/CPU combo?
2. for 32mb, should I use 4x8GB DIMMS or 2x16GB?
3. Should I bump up to the latest F10 bios? (dumb question, but I figured I'd ask just to be sure)

Thanks in advance
Hey there,

That'd be a nice upgrade...congrats.

1. A few pages back, there were some fellow Pro owners who were talking about the RAM OC limitations on the Pro. iirc 3866 was about the sweet spot on the Pro board. If you find a sale on the Master board and can make that happen, it would yield you better RAM OC overall. The sweet spot for the Master is ~4133 with some decent timings.

2. I always like to populate all the dimm slots... I went 4x8GB on my Master as I didn't want to have two open slots. It's personal preference really. Only for major RAM OC'ing cases, 2x sticks would have better scalability, but going 4x8GB may even be cheaper too, while filling up your dimm slots.

3. The actual F10 bios from the website is buggy... I would recommend updating the bios to Kedarwolf's modded (F10b) BIOS. It works perfectly.

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: FS [32941] | TS [16678] | CB R15 [2332cb] | CB R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299:7980XE + Z390 Dark:9900K + Zenith II Extreme TRX40:3970x
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5024 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 04:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bigfootnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Hi @Falkentyne , I've question for you. I was running my 9900k on manual voltage in BIOS 1.295v with turbo LLC, with this voltage my PC was stable in everything except Prime95 or LinX. For these two programs I need at least 1.35v (VR Vout~1.27v) in BIOS to be stable.
But after reading your few last posts I've tried these settings, CPU voltage Auto, LLC standard and AC Loadline=80 and DC Loadline=0. With these settings I'm stable even now in Prime95 29.8b6 smallest FFT AVX and Linx 0.9.5 with VR Vout~1.24v. Of course temp are much better. My question is any problems for me running AC Loadline=80? Thanks

Intel Rig
(14 items)
Ryzen Rig
(10 items)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER
GPU
Gigabyte RTX 2080 Windforce
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z Neo RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZN x 2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD 660P 3D2 QLC 1TB M.2 2280 NVMe x 2
Hard Drive
Adata XPG Series SX8200 Pro SSD, 1TB, M.2 (2280), PCIe 3.0 x4, 3D TLC NAND
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i
Cooling
EK-Supremacy MX
Cooling
EK-Vector RTX RE - Copper + Plexi & EK-Vector RTX Backplate - Black
Cooling
EK-CoolStream XE 360 (Triple)
Cooling
EK-CoolStream PE 360 (Triple)
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM (incl. pump)
Case
Phanteks Eclipse P600S Anthracite Grey
Monitor
Dell P2418D
CPU
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
GPU
Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 Windforce 8G Gaming
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600Mhz CL16 x 2
Hard Drive
Adata XPG Series SX8200 SSD, 960GB, M.2 (2280), PCIe 3.0 x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 QVO MZ-76Q2T0BW 2TB x 2
Power Supply
Corsair RM 850i
Cooling
Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro RGB AIO Liquid CPU Cooler 360mm Radiator
Case
Fractal Design Meshify Series C Mid Tower Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
bigfootnz is offline  
post #5025 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 05:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
On my 9900ks, I ran OCCT Linpack overnight and it passed with no errors at 5.1ghz and adaptive voltage set to +0.075.

Looking at max voltage readings in HWInfo.

Vcore was 1.46 with averages around 1.35V
VR VOUT was 1.37 with averages around 1.28V
Max Temps were in the mid to high 90s though averages were a lower. Can’t remember what they were specifically.


Does that look ok?

I set it to run today again and dropped the voltages to +0.050 to see if it is stable with a lower voltage.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rbk_3 is offline  
post #5026 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 07:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 62
Rep: 0
Hi. Have some questions.

I got a 9900ks , and have the Master motherboard.

I only want to have the cpu running 5ghz all core all the time, with lowest voltage (i know i have to test this)

But there are so many settings in the bios that i hope someone could provide me a little list of settings to change for me to get started

Regards
Lurifaks is offline  
post #5027 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 07:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Lurifaks View Post
Hi. Have some questions.



I got a 9900ks , and have the Master motherboard.



I only want to have the cpu running 5ghz all core all the time, with lowest voltage (i know i have to test this)



But there are so many settings in the bios that i hope someone could provide me a little list of settings to change for me to get started



Regards


https://forums.bit-tech.net/index.ph...master.353729/

These will get you the lowest voltage. It works much better than manually setting voltage.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rbk_3 is offline  
post #5028 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 07:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,802
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by bigfootnz View Post
Hi @Falkentyne , I've question for you. I was running my 9900k on manual voltage in BIOS 1.295v with turbo LLC, with this voltage my PC was stable in everything except Prime95 or LinX. For these two programs I need at least 1.35v (VR Vout~1.27v) in BIOS to be stable.
But after reading your few last posts I've tried these settings, CPU voltage Auto, LLC standard and AC Loadline=80 and DC Loadline=0. With these settings I'm stable even now in Prime95 29.8b6 smallest FFT AVX and Linx 0.9.5 with VR Vout~1.24v. Of course temp are much better. My question is any problems for me running AC Loadline=80? Thanks
No issues at all. But how did you manage to cool it? What temps were you getting in those tests?

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #5029 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:06 AM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lurifaks View Post
Hi. Have some questions.

I got a 9900ks , and have the Master motherboard.

I only want to have the cpu running 5ghz all core all the time, with lowest voltage (i know i have to test this)

But there are so many settings in the bios that i hope someone could provide me a little list of settings to change for me to get started

Regards
Most settings you don't need to touch.

I'm using an adaptive offset method I found

https://forums.bit-tech.net/index.ph...master.353729/

It's not that many settings to change. For example, my 5ghz profile looks like:

Core 50
Uncore 46
Ac loadline powersave
Llc low
Vcore normal
Offset +.080v
Intel speed shift enabled

For my ram I manually tuned but xmp will also work.

Above gives me a 5ghz oc with voltages that drop at idle.

A few other users here been running this method with nice results.

The manual Oc version is also simple.

Llc turbo or high
Vcore 1.31v
Core 50
Uncore 46

Then tune the ram or enable xmp.

Below is my offset/adaptive profile 5ghz. My voltages are example only. You need to dial that in.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp 5_1574175854282.0 reverse.bmp (5.61 MB, 33 views)

Last edited by Wirerat; 11-19-2019 at 08:10 AM.
Wirerat is offline  
post #5030 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Hi guys,
I'm running a 9700k on Aorus Master, stable at 5Ghz at a static 1.25v.
I was checking and trying some adaptive setting (as discussed here some time ago, after another user posted a sort of tutorial). Using those adaptive (-0.09 offset) settings I peak at 1.36v under load and i'm wondering if it's worth it...
And or what would be best for a 5ghz overclock.
Grobro is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (1 members and 6 guests)
Antedeus
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off