(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 504 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5031 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:13 AM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
Hi guys,
I'm running a 9700k on Aorus Master, stable at 5Ghz at a static 1.25v.
I was checking and trying some adaptive setting (as discussed here some time ago, after another user posted a sort of tutorial). Using those adaptive (-0.09 offset) settings I peak at 1.36v under load and i'm wondering if it's worth it...
And or what would be best for a 5ghz overclock.
negative offsets can be tricky. Many report instability at low loads like chrome and YouTube.

I suggest reducing the llc so you can run a more stable +offset.

But if it's stable for you in everything you do that -.090v is fine.
Wirerat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5032 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,256
Rep: 283 (Unique: 184)
Quote: Originally Posted by mmcneil View Post
Upgrading from an i7 4790K to an i7 9700k and was hoping to get a little advice. I'm planning on getting the Aorus Pro, along with 32GB of RAM. I plan to OC the memory and OC the the 9700K to 5ghz and I have a custom cooling loop. This is would be my first Gigabyte board, so I wanted to know:

1. are there any issues I need to be aware of as far as using this board/CPU combo?
2. for 32mb, should I use 4x8GB DIMMS or 2x16GB?
3. Should I bump up to the latest F10 bios? (dumb question, but I figured I'd ask just to be sure)

Thanks in advance
The Ultra is a much better board than the Pro. If you can afford the extra $20, get it.

Also, 4x8GB overclocks much better than 2x8GB or even 2x16GB or Dual Rank 4x16GB. Gigabyte Z390 are T-Topology and 4x8GB, all four DIMMs filled are best for maximising your overclock. Single Rank 4x8GB overclocks much better than Dual Rank 4x16GB. Google 'b-die finder' and make sure your RAM is b-die.

4x8GB CL14 Trident Z 3200 or CL16 Trident Z 3600 is the way to go. Non-RGB overclocks better than RGB RAM as well.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte/EVGA 1080 Ti SLI FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #5033 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
Hi guys,
I'm running a 9700k on Aorus Master, stable at 5Ghz at a static 1.25v.
I was checking and trying some adaptive setting (as discussed here some time ago, after another user posted a sort of tutorial). Using those adaptive (-0.09 offset) settings I peak at 1.36v under load and i'm wondering if it's worth it...
And or what would be best for a 5ghz overclock.
negative offsets can be tricky. Many report instability at low loads like chrome and YouTube.

I suggest reducing the llc so you can run a more stable +offset.
I'll give that a try tomorrow or so. Because i'm not so satisfied with peaking at 1.36v, maybe your advice may help with that.
Grobro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5034 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:20 AM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
Hi guys,
I'm running a 9700k on Aorus Master, stable at 5Ghz at a static 1.25v.
I was checking and trying some adaptive setting (as discussed here some time ago, after another user posted a sort of tutorial). Using those adaptive (-0.09 offset) settings I peak at 1.36v under load and i'm wondering if it's worth it...
And or what would be best for a 5ghz overclock.
negative offsets can be tricky. Many report instability at low loads like chrome and YouTube.

I suggest reducing the llc so you can run a more stable +offset.
I'll give that a try tomorrow or so. Because i'm not so satisfied with peaking at 1.36v, maybe your advice may help with that.
Ac loadline powersave + low llc give me the tightest vrout voltages. It also runs .020v less vcore.

In this image there is only like .05v delta.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp 5_1574176787813.0 reverse.bmp (5.61 MB, 21 views)

Last edited by Wirerat; 11-19-2019 at 08:24 AM.
Wirerat is offline  
post #5035 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Thanks!
Will let you know for sure how it ended up.

Also how would i go tightening positive offsets? Start from 0, add 10mv and test or something else?
Grobro is offline  
post #5036 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:44 AM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
Thanks!
Will let you know for sure how it ended up.

Also how would i go tightening positive offsets? Start from 0, add 10mv and test or something else?
I knew what I needed for manual vrout under x264 stressor load.

So the way I did it was boot with a small +.050v offset then put it under load to see how much to add to keep vrout at 1.24v.

If you already stress tested at a manual Oc you should know the min voltage you need after vdroop.

Last edited by Wirerat; 11-19-2019 at 08:48 AM.
Wirerat is offline  
post #5037 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 62
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Rbk_3 View Post
https://forums.bit-tech.net/index.ph...master.353729/

These will get you the lowest voltage. It works much better than manually setting voltage.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks, but would the cpu hold all core 5ghz and dont drop down after the turbo period is over and drop down to 127w ?

Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Most settings you don't need to touch.

I'm using an adaptive offset method I found

https://forums.bit-tech.net/index.ph...master.353729/

It's not that many settings to change. For example, my 5ghz profile looks like:

Core 50
Uncore 46
Ac loadline powersave
Llc low
Vcore normal
Offset +.080v
Intel speed shift enabled

For my ram I manually tuned but xmp will also work.

Above gives me a 5ghz oc with voltages that drop at idle.

A few other users here been running this method with nice results.

The manual Oc version is also simple.

Llc turbo or high
Vcore 1.31v
Core 50
Uncore 46

Then tune the ram or enable xmp.

Below is my offset/adaptive profile 5ghz. My voltages are example only. You need to dial that in.
Thanks, but would the cpu hold all core 5ghz and dont drop down after the turbo period is over to 127w ?
Lurifaks is offline  
post #5038 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 09:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Posts: 116
Rep: 0
@KedarWolf which ram kit do you recommend here in Canada.
Just sold my dual rank sticks
AndrejB is offline  
post #5039 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 09:26 AM
OC / WC under-achiever
 
mmcneil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
Hey there,

That'd be a nice upgrade...congrats.

1. A few pages back, there were some fellow Pro owners who were talking about the RAM OC limitations on the Pro. iirc 3866 was about the sweet spot on the Pro board. If you find a sale on the Master board and can make that happen, it would yield you better RAM OC overall. The sweet spot for the Master is ~4133 with some decent timings.

2. I always like to populate all the dimm slots... I went 4x8GB on my Master as I didn't want to have two open slots. It's personal preference really. Only for major RAM OC'ing cases, 2x sticks would have better scalability, but going 4x8GB may even be cheaper too, while filling up your dimm slots.

3. The actual F10 bios from the website is buggy... I would recommend updating the bios to Kedarwolf's modded (F10b) BIOS. It works perfectly.
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
The Ultra is a much better board than the Pro. If you can afford the extra $20, get it.

Also, 4x8GB overclocks much better than 2x8GB or even 2x16GB or Dual Rank 4x16GB. Gigabyte Z390 are T-Topology and 4x8GB, all four DIMMs filled are best for maximising your overclock. Single Rank 4x8GB overclocks much better than Dual Rank 4x16GB. Google 'b-die finder' and make sure your RAM is b-die.

4x8GB CL14 Trident Z 3200 or CL16 Trident Z 3600 is the way to go. Non-RGB overclocks better than RGB RAM as well.
First, thank you both iunlock and Kedarwolf for your replies. Right now, Amazon has the Master for $4 more than the Ultra, so if I can get a good Black Friday deal on the Master, then that's what I'll go with. I'll go with the Trident Z sticks that Kedarwolf recommended as well. A few more questions; What are your idle temps sitting at when OC'd at 5Ghz? Is there an OC guide for the Gigabyte BIOS? Where can I get a copy of Kedarwolfs BIOS?

Thanks again!

Thanks again!
mmcneil is offline  
post #5040 of 7117 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 10:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 62
Rep: 0
With the Master , where is the most trustable cpu vcore reading? I belive in HWinfo , but there is so many readings for cpu and so many different values

Thanks
Lurifaks is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (1 members and 6 guests)
wholeeo
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off