(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 506 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5051 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 06:28 PM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
That bug @Falkentyne mentions only matters if you switch back to manual overclocking often.


It's not a bad idea when making lots of changes to go back into bios on reboot and make certain the changes stuck before going to desktop.

I usually do this anyway. Its why I never seen the bug until he mentioned it.

Rebooting twice clears it up.

Last edited by Wirerat; 11-19-2019 at 07:01 PM.
Wirerat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5052 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

So here is my HWinfo information after a 2 hour run of OCCT Linpak. Does everything look ok? It passed 8 hours last night.


Last edited by Rbk_3; 11-19-2019 at 08:41 PM.
Rbk_3 is offline  
post #5053 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 09:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,802
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by Rbk_3 View Post
So here is my HWinfo information after a 2 hour run of OCCT Linpak. Does everything look ok? It passed 8 hours last night.

Do you think you can reupload your sensors window because you uploaded it to a strange site and it's tiny and not zoomable in at all. Can't read your voltages/VR VOUT at all.

IMGUR "direct link to image post" would be better (if you can't upload them directly on OCN).

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5054 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 09:22 PM
Optimal Pessimist
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,484
Rep: 123 (Unique: 95)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
If you set AC/DC load line to 0 that will allow + offset so your not using negative DVID. Using AC/DC load line 0 with + DVID will keep the idle voltage from lowering below stock default, to prevent low CPU load crashes.
Actually I think you want these both set to 1. 0 is auto and will give you too high a voltage. You can do a positive DVID with 1.

Ran into the same thing on my Asus, but the units were different.

FDR4-8086k
(23 items)
CPU
8086k 5.1/4.8 GHz @ 1.28v, 5.2/4.9 GHz @ 1.326v (AVX 0)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
Asus GTX 2070 Super A8GB
RAM
64GB Trident Z RGB 3200 CL14 @3600 Cl16
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Black 2 TB in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 6 TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Green in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 (only middle NF-A15 Chromax)
Cooling
4 x Noctua NF-A14 Chromax black swap
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 Chromax black swap
Case
Fractal Design R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
Eizo CG2730
Monitor
ViewSonic VP2768
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid TKL
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mouse
perixx dx-2000
Audio
On Board ALC1220-VB/ESS SABRE 9118 DAC
Audio
Vanatoo Transparent One
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by GeneO; 11-19-2019 at 09:35 PM.
GeneO is offline  
post #5055 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 10:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 96
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Bios bugs.
I tried using DVID voltage. Didn't like the settings (was not stable with kedarwolf's settings).

Got bored and switched to a fixed saved profile (1.375v + Vcore LLC High @ 5.1) and loaded it.
Saved and entered Bios.

Saw 1.54v.
Instantly rebooted fast.
Saw 1.36v when I entered BIOS again.

Never again am I using DVID.
I'm with you mate. Having only used static voltages ... zero issues. I get that some people want to save power etc... totally understandable, but efficiency is something I focus on with laptops, not gaming/work station desktops that we are overclocking to go all out.

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: FS [32941] | TS [16678] | CB R15 [2332cb] | CB R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299:7980XE + Z390 Dark:9900K + Zenith II Extreme TRX40:3970x
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
post #5056 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 11:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 96
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by mmcneil View Post
First, thank you both iunlock and Kedarwolf for your replies. Right now, Amazon has the Master for $4 more than the Ultra, so if I can get a good Black Friday deal on the Master, then that's what I'll go with. I'll go with the Trident Z sticks that Kedarwolf recommended as well. A few more questions; What are your idle temps sitting at when OC'd at 5Ghz? Is there an OC guide for the Gigabyte BIOS? Where can I get a copy of Kedarwolfs BIOS?

Thanks again!

Thanks again!
Very welcome mate. Glad to be of help. Definitely go with the Master if you can, especially for such a small price difference. I'm keeping an eye out for BF sales on the Master myself for another build. That's how satisfied I am with the board.

As for the RAM kit the TridentZ's are great...and as Kedarwolf said, if you don't care for RGB, just go with the non RGB for better overclocking.

My idle temps at 5.0GHz on all cores on my main gaming rig is 20C.

There are a lot of information contained within this thread on OC'ing, however, as a reminder every silicon is different so one size doesn't fit all. KedarWolf's bios is also contained in this thread. A quick search will take you right there.

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: FS [32941] | TS [16678] | CB R15 [2332cb] | CB R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299:7980XE + Z390 Dark:9900K + Zenith II Extreme TRX40:3970x
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
post #5057 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 11:51 PM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post

I'm with you mate. Having only used static voltages ... zero issues. I get that some people want to save power etc... totally understandable, but efficiency is something I focus on with laptops, not gaming/work station desktops that we are overclocking to go all out.
Efficiency is not why I run this way. I get lower vrout by .020v stable and a tighter vdroop. The name "powersave" ac loadline is just a preset that runs the lowest VID table of the canned VR loadline options.

Being able to run low llc instead of turbo is where the benefits are.

But if manual gives the results you want no need to fix something that is working for you. 🙂

I think it's great the aorus boards have three viable methods to OC.

1.Auto vcore with VR loadline tweaks

2. Offset with powersave ac loadline

3. Manual vcore with high/turbo LLC.

Last edited by Wirerat; 11-20-2019 at 12:24 AM.
Wirerat is offline  
post #5058 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 11:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,802
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Efficiency is not why I run this way. I get lower vrout by .020v stable and a much tighter vdroop.

Being able to run low llc instead of turbo is where the benefits are.
This is true.
Going from Turbo LLC to high LLC (even without offsets or auto vcore/low LLC) allows you to reduce your load VR VOUT by about 20mv. I'm assuming because you're doubling the vdroop (0.4 mOhms to 0.8 mOhms).

So going from high LLC to Standard LLC should be another 20mv improvement I'm guessing with very dirty science (high=0.8 mOhms to standard=1.6 mOhms). This improvement is purely from "random instability" from transient dips, not from "RMS voltage". Like, if you get an L0 error after 30 minutes or a thread crash after an hour, not from "insta-crash".

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #5059 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 12:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 96
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Efficiency is not why I run this way. I get lower vrout by .020v stable and a tighter vdroop.

Being able to run low llc instead of turbo is where the benefits are.

It's a very specific bug. I don't run manual so never happens.
Yes I agree...having options is great.

What are you running on all your cores and what is your vrout voltages? (min. / avg. / max.)

I get that one size doesn't fit all, trust me... that's one of the things that enthusiasts like about being able to tune to find the sweet spot for their given hardware etc...

It's always interesting to see what works for people and what doesn't.

There will always be different configurations depending on the usage case of the user.

Have you tried static voltages?

Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
This is true.
Going from Turbo LLC to high LLC (even without offsets or auto vcore/low LLC) allows you to reduce your load VR VOUT by about 20mv. I'm assuming because you're doubling the vdroop (0.4 mOhms to 0.8 mOhms).

So going from high LLC to Standard LLC should be another 20mv improvement I'm guessing with very dirty science (high=0.8 mOhms to standard=1.6 mOhms). This improvement is purely from "random instability" from transient dips, not from "RMS voltage". Like, if you get an L0 error after 30 minutes or a thread crash after an hour, not from "insta-crash".
Well said. Speaking of LLC have you tried any other combos with using static voltage? Honestly, I haven't even bothered as the system is running very solid and didn't find the need to drop below Turbo in respect to my settings.

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: FS [32941] | TS [16678] | CB R15 [2332cb] | CB R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299:7980XE + Z390 Dark:9900K + Zenith II Extreme TRX40:3970x
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
post #5060 of 7134 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 12:39 AM
Optimal Pessimist
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,484
Rep: 123 (Unique: 95)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
This is true.
Going from Turbo LLC to high LLC (even without offsets or auto vcore/low LLC) allows you to reduce your load VR VOUT by about 20mv. I'm assuming because you're doubling the vdroop (0.4 mOhms to 0.8 mOhms).

So going from high LLC to Standard LLC should be another 20mv improvement I'm guessing with very dirty science (high=0.8 mOhms to standard=1.6 mOhms). This improvement is purely from "random instability" from transient dips, not from "RMS voltage". Like, if you get an L0 error after 30 minutes or a thread crash after an hour, not from "insta-crash".
If you go back to builzoid's video:

Turbo -> High gets a 20mv better margin
High -> medium 10mv

The last is in the noise and probably YMMV.

FDR4-8086k
(23 items)
CPU
8086k 5.1/4.8 GHz @ 1.28v, 5.2/4.9 GHz @ 1.326v (AVX 0)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
Asus GTX 2070 Super A8GB
RAM
64GB Trident Z RGB 3200 CL14 @3600 Cl16
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Black 2 TB in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 6 TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Green in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 (only middle NF-A15 Chromax)
Cooling
4 x Noctua NF-A14 Chromax black swap
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 Chromax black swap
Case
Fractal Design R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
Eizo CG2730
Monitor
ViewSonic VP2768
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid TKL
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mouse
perixx dx-2000
Audio
On Board ALC1220-VB/ESS SABRE 9118 DAC
Audio
Vanatoo Transparent One
▲ hide details ▲
GeneO is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (1 members and 5 guests)
reachthesky
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off