(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 507 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5061 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 12:58 AM
OC / WC under-achiever
 
mmcneil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
Very welcome mate. Glad to be of help. Definitely go with the Master if you can, especially for such a small price difference. I'm keeping an eye out for BF sales on the Master myself for another build. That's how satisfied I am with the board.

As for the RAM kit the TridentZ's are great...and as Kedarwolf said, if you don't care for RGB, just go with the non RGB for better overclocking.

My idle temps at 5.0GHz on all cores on my main gaming rig is 20C.

There are a lot of information contained within this thread on OC'ing, however, as a reminder every silicon is different so one size doesn't fit all. KedarWolf's bios is also contained in this thread. A quick search will take you right there.
Thanks man, I appreciate that. About the Trident Z.. I see a lot of them, but most are RGB. The ones that I've found that aren't RGB, say that they're for Z370 chipsets. Do you have a link to the ones you're recommending?

EDIT: KedarWolf hooked me up with the link for the SDRAM

Last edited by mmcneil; 11-20-2019 at 01:23 AM.
mmcneil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5062 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 01:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 92
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by mmcneil View Post
Thanks man, I appreciate that. About the Trident Z.. I see a lot of them, but most are RGB. The ones that I've found that aren't RGB, say that they're for Z370 chipsets. Do you have a link to the ones you're recommending?

EDIT: KedarWolf hooked me up with the link for the SDRAM
There a few kits. With BF rolling around if you can find a good deal on either a RGB or non RGB kit that is Samsung B-Die, you'll be good either way.
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...82E16820232306

Although non RGB kits may ever so slightly scale better (not definite and a few clicks past a theory), keep in mind that a lot of the record holders for varies benchmarks use RGB kits. In fact, most of my kits are all RGB (TridentZ and RoyalZ) and they OC just fine. Most of all the high end RAM's in the 4600+ range are RGB.

If you see a good deal, go for it.

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: FS [32941] | TS [16678] | CB R15 [2332cb] | CB R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299:7980XE + Z390 Dark:9900K + Zenith II Extreme TRX40:3970x
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
post #5063 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 03:04 AM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post

Yes I agree...having options is great.

What are you running on all your cores and what is your vrout voltages? (min. / avg. / max.)

I get that one size doesn't fit all, trust me... that's one of the things that enthusiasts like about being able to tune to find the sweet spot for their given hardware etc...

It's always interesting to see what works for people and what doesn't.

There will always be different configurations depending on the usage case of the user.

Have you tried static voltages?
Yes. I ran static at first.

5ghz all cores no avx offsets. Some screen shots below. Windows Power mode was set to performance so no clocks drop.

Vrout doesn't go above 1.288v. The min is 1.237v. That is .051v droop.

My 9900k is simply average. My fastest profile is 5.1ghz.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190802_195939_1574244173775.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	1.07 MB
ID:	307254  

Attached Images
File Type: bmp 5_1574244188316.0 reverse.bmp (5.61 MB, 18 views)

Last edited by Wirerat; 11-20-2019 at 03:25 AM.
Wirerat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5064 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 04:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 92
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Yes. I ran static at first.

5ghz all cores no avx offsets. Some screen shots below. Windows Power mode was set to performance so no clocks drop.

Vrout doesn't go above 1.288v. The min is 1.237v. That is .051v droop.

My 9900k is simply average. My fastest profile is 5.1ghz.
Very nice... yea that droop. All good though. Makes all the sense to run it with your method in your case indeed.

Custom Water Cooled Beast: Z390 Master ┊ 9900K @ 5.5GHz ┊ 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 4266MHz ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ w/ 8086K @ 5.4GHz All Cores (Stable)
☆ PR's so far with this combo/set up: FS [32941] | TS [16678] | CB R15 [2332cb] | CB R20 [5572cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299:7980XE + Z390 Dark:9900K + Zenith II Extreme TRX40:3970x
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/flvj1i-6.png
iunlock is offline  
post #5065 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 05:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Wirerat View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
Thanks!
Will let you know for sure how it ended up.

Also how would i go tightening positive offsets? Start from 0, add 10mv and test or something else?
I knew what I needed for manual vrout under x264 stressor load.

So the way I did it was boot with a small +.050v offset then put it under load to see how much to add to keep vrout at 1.24v.

If you already stress tested at a manual Oc you should know the min voltage you need after vdroop.
I've been trying dynamic again at 5Ghz and somehow it looks like the normal vcore is at 1.3v and not 1.2 as it's supposed to be.
VRVOUT *sometimes* drops to 0.7v or so but it's pretty much static at around 1.3v

Anybody with any idea as why that could be?!
Grobro is offline  
post #5066 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 05:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Already when i just boot in the bios, vcore is at 1.368v
Something is fishy
Grobro is offline  
post #5067 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 11:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Do you think you can reupload your sensors window because you uploaded it to a strange site and it's tiny and not zoomable in at all. Can't read your voltages/VR VOUT at all.



IMGUR "direct link to image post" would be better (if you can't upload them directly on OCN).


https://i.imgur.com/B1aQoNi.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/kA3WeuF.jpg





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rbk_3 is offline  
post #5068 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 11:41 AM
Optimal Pessimist
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,477
Rep: 122 (Unique: 94)
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
Already when i just boot in the bios, vcore is at 1.368v
Something is fishy
Did you change IA loadline AC and DC from 0 to 1?

FDR4-8086k
(23 items)
CPU
8086k 5.1/4.8 GHz @ 1.28v, 5.2/4.9 GHz @ 1.326v (AVX 0)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
Asus GTX 2070 Super A8GB
RAM
64GB Trident Z RGB 3200 CL14 @3600 Cl16
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Black 2 TB in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 6 TB
Hard Drive
Western Digitial Caviar Green in USB 3.0 enclosure
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 (only middle NF-A15 Chromax)
Cooling
4 x Noctua NF-A14 Chromax black swap
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 Chromax black swap
Case
Fractal Design R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
Eizo CG2730
Monitor
ViewSonic VP2768
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid TKL
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mouse
perixx dx-2000
Audio
On Board ALC1220-VB/ESS SABRE 9118 DAC
Audio
Vanatoo Transparent One
▲ hide details ▲
GeneO is offline  
post #5069 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 11:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,784
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by Rbk_3 View Post
Thank you. That's much better.
That's a good chip. Is that a KS or a K ?

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 11-20-2019 at 11:50 AM.
Falkentyne is online now  
post #5070 of 7022 (permalink) Old 11-20-2019, 11:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,784
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
I've been trying dynamic again at 5Ghz and somehow it looks like the normal vcore is at 1.3v and not 1.2 as it's supposed to be.
VRVOUT *sometimes* drops to 0.7v or so but it's pretty much static at around 1.3v

Anybody with any idea as why that could be?!
Quote: Originally Posted by Grobro View Post
Already when i just boot in the bios, vcore is at 1.368v
Something is fishy
Working as expected.
C-states and power saving do not work in the BIOS.
"Normal" and "Auto" Vcore is not 1.2v. It's based partially on the CPU VID and every CPU will have a different VID. Thermal Velocity Boost and the "AC Loadline" value also affects the VID. The VID rises or drops depending on CPU multiplier and it stops scaling at the 1 core turbo multiplier.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (2 members and 4 guests)
Falkentyne , Lurifaks
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off