(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 565 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5641 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 05:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Posts: 124
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post

I was always under the impression we were supposed to boot with xmp profile, then modify the timings/frequency of the xmp profile after xmp has already been trained. Have I been doing this wrong?

still looking at your settings before I can give you a definitive opinion.

Ok, after looking at the settings, I can't really say whether it is optimal or not, I don't tune with anything other than dvid mode or the basic set it and forget it fixed voltage mode. I'm not too great at balancing the higher acdc settings. Am curious about the ram thing I mentioned earlier.

I am curious though, Why not just run stock if you were going to run 47x? You'll get more performance in other areas while still having your 47x all core multiplier.
These are more or less stock settings, but running a constant frequency.
Don't like my voltage jumping all over the place.
If I go by Falkentynes recommendation of ac/dc 100/160 I get an unequal residual every once in a while, these settings provide equal residuals after 16+ h powered off.

Regarding the memory, this seems to be completely stable, I copied how Kedarwolf did it (same kit as yours)
AndrejB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5642 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 05:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 675
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by AndrejB View Post
These are more or less stock settings, but running a constant frequency.
Don't like my voltage jumping all over the place.
If I go by Falkentynes recommendation of ac/dc 100/160 I get an unequal residual every once in a while, these settings provide equal residuals after 16+ h powered off.

Regarding the memory, this seems to be completely stable, I copied how Kedarwolf did it (same kit as yours)
Fair enough.

I'll have to try out kedarwolf's method, I never tried that before. I wonder if it will yield better latency or if RTLs will train better or w/e. Right now i'm getting 38.x ns latency at cl15/4000, i don't know if that is where it should be or not.

Yeah I guess I can't really offer much advice on your set up, just kind of out of my realm of knowledge, sorry mate.

RGB increases FPS!
(6 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
z390 Aorus [email protected]
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme [email protected]/8000
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/4133
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Monitor
Alienware AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
▲ hide details ▲
reachthesky is offline  
post #5643 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 06:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Posts: 124
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by AndrejB View Post
These are more or less stock settings, but running a constant frequency.
Don't like my voltage jumping all over the place.
If I go by Falkentynes recommendation of ac/dc 100/160 I get an unequal residual every once in a while, these settings provide equal residuals after 16+ h powered off.

Regarding the memory, this seems to be completely stable, I copied how Kedarwolf did it (same kit as yours)
Fair enough.

I'll have to try out kedarwolf's method, I never tried that before. I wonder if it will yield better latency or if RTLs will train better or w/e. Right now i'm getting 38.x ns latency at cl15/4000, i don't know if that is where it should be or not.

Yeah I guess I can't really offer much advice on your set up, just kind of out of my realm of knowledge, sorry mate.
Nw, hopefully you'll yield better results with the memory but note Kedarwolf had all his timings set (he spent quite a bit of time on the 24/7 stability thread)

Honestly I'm pretty happy with these, Apex finally isn't crashing at max pl + oc scanner (I knew it wasn't the card giving errors)
AndrejB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5644 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 06:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 675
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by AndrejB View Post
Nw, hopefully you'll yield better results with the memory but note Kedarwolf had all his timings set (he spent quite a bit of time on the 24/7 stability thread)

Honestly I'm pretty happy with these, Apex finally isn't crashing at max pl + oc scanner (I knew it wasn't the card giving errors)
btw, on the aorus master with a 9900k, you can do CL 16-16-16-36(or 34)-372-65534-2T @4133mhz with 1.45v vdimm/training voltage or less and with 1.25v sa/io or less with that kit as long as your IMC is decent and as long as you have enough case airflow for the dimms.


Please do me a favor since you have the same kit. Please try to train 4200mhz with those dimms using auto motherboard timings. What timings does it give you? You should be able to train it with dram voltage on auto and sa/io 1.25v but once it trains, go back into bios right away and raise the dram/training voltage to 1.4v or 1.43v to get into windows. Then please screenshot the timings in asrock timing configurator and post here. Let me know if you need asrock timing configurator.

RGB increases FPS!
(6 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
z390 Aorus [email protected]
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme [email protected]/8000
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/4133
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Monitor
Alienware AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by reachthesky; 12-14-2019 at 06:26 PM.
reachthesky is offline  
post #5645 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 07:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Posts: 124
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post
btw, on the aorus master with a 9900k, you can do CL 16-16-16-36(or 34)-372-65534-2T @4133mhz with 1.45v vdimm/training voltage or less and with 1.25v sa/io or less with that kit as long as your IMC is decent and as long as you have enough case airflow for the dimms.


Please do me a favor since you have the same kit. Please try to train 4200mhz with those dimms using auto motherboard timings. What timings does it give you? You should be able to train it with dram voltage on auto and sa/io 1.25v but once it trains, go back into bios right away and raise the dram/training voltage to 1.4v or 1.43v to get into windows. Then please screenshot the timings in asrock timing configurator and post here. Let me know if you need asrock timing configurator.

Didn't need 1.4v to boot into windows. This is XMP + 4200
Also put the 4133 @ 1.4v (enhanced performance)



Now you got my itch going again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-12-14 210239.png
Views:	20
Size:	359.9 KB
ID:	312022  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-12-14 204506.png
Views:	15
Size:	216.7 KB
ID:	312024  

AndrejB is offline  
post #5646 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 07:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 675
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by AndrejB View Post
Didn't need 1.4v to boot into windows. This is XMP + 4200
Also put the 4133 @ 1.4v (enhanced performance)



Now you got my itch going again
Thank you for posting this! Those are the same timings I get as well. I challenge you to manually tune and stabilize 4200 on all 4 dimms at less than cl 18 whenever you have the free time if you should desire to do so. Scratch that itch .

Btw, I don't think enhanced performance does anything at all. Each time, The same timings were trained for my sticks regardless of selecting that option or not. or at least all the timings that can be viewed between asrock timing configurator and aida64. I think there was a weird time where I thought that setting it to enhanced performance helped me train better but i don't think that is the case.

The relax timings has an effect but it just makes ALL of your timings ultra loose, sometimes too loose to the point where you can't even navigate windows properly lol. I don't see why anyone would ever use this. Maybe during LN2 memory overclocking just so they could validate a memory frequency real quick through cpu-z?

I think the high density option is for 16gb ram sticks or dual ranked sticks or double sided ram sticks or whatever.

4500+ option is self explanatory and does work. Used it to boot to 4500 or 4533.

Not really sure what "normal" does, maybe it automatically selects the least aggressive xmp profile on the stick if a set of sticks have 2 xmp profiles on them or something, what be interested to hear what others have to say about this option.

I don't know what selecting auto does either lol, but I usually leave it on auto

RGB increases FPS!
(6 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
z390 Aorus [email protected]
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme [email protected]/8000
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/4133
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Monitor
Alienware AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by reachthesky; 12-14-2019 at 07:45 PM.
reachthesky is offline  
post #5647 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 07:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 675
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
And was that starcraft or starcraft 2 in the background? lol

RGB increases FPS!
(6 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
z390 Aorus [email protected]
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme [email protected]/8000
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/4133
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Monitor
Alienware AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
▲ hide details ▲
reachthesky is offline  
post #5648 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 08:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Montreal
Posts: 124
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post
And was that starcraft or starcraft 2 in the background? lol
Nah just a space wallpaper 🙂

Regarding the memory tuning, that'll have to wait sometime as I nothing about it.

Still trying to figure out how much io/sa affect gpu oc...
AndrejB is offline  
post #5649 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-15-2019, 01:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kamyk155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 96
Rep: 0
Guys - is the Vcore/VCCSA/SysAgent all three in 1,28V safe ?
Someone wrote here that SA/VCCIO should be 0,05V difference ?

Testing now 1,260V on all three settings.
Cpu drops to 1,248V. IO drops to 1,243V.
Three tests passed without errors.

Core i9 9900KS + Aorus Z390 Master G2 + 4x8GB 4000MHz Viper Steel + RTX 2080Ti MSI Trio X + M.2 SSD 512GB Samsung 950 Pro + M.2 SSD 1TB ADATA 8200 Pro + HDD 6GB WD GREEN + SSD 480GB Iridium Pro + PSU Super Flower Leadex Platinum 1000W + Lian Li PC-D888WX 8Pack Limited Edition with 3x360 RAD and CPU block

Last edited by kamyk155; 12-15-2019 at 02:42 AM.
kamyk155 is offline  
post #5650 of 7263 (permalink) Old 12-15-2019, 03:08 AM
Go Again!
 
Wirerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 5,864
Rep: 343 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by kamyk155 View Post
Guys - is the Vcore/VCCSA/SysAgent all three in 1,28V safe ?
Someone wrote here that SA/VCCIO should be 0,05V difference ?

Testing now 1,260V on all three settings.
Cpu drops to 1,248V. IO drops to 1,243V.
Three tests passed without errors.
I have always ran vccio and sa at the same voltage. 1.225 is what both mine are with 3800mhz CL 15 ram.

The general idea is xmp/mce puts those voltages too high. 1.35v is way too high.

1.25v ish is fine. Some are running below 1.2v.

I never even bothered to work it down. 1.225v has worked so I left it for all my profiles on both rigs.
Wirerat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 10 (1 members and 9 guests)
Gen.
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off