(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 780 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7791 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 07:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 174
Rep: 10 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lurifaks View Post
Wow nice , if u got 4266 stable u are the first i seen with this on Aorus Master
Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post
I don't think he did a full stability test yet since he said I think I just found my daily driver settings or something like that.
Quote: Originally Posted by Gen. View Post
@iunlock 4266 is stable for you? What settings do you use besides timings? Could there be resistance or improvement?
I ran a long 3DMark loops of Time Spy and Fire Strike Ultra with zero errors. So far so good... one of many tests... All I need is game stable as this is just my gaming and semi-work rig. As long as it throws zero errors and it doesn't crash on me, that's pretty darn stable for me.

Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post
Don't use 2 sticks in the master, use 4. If you can't afford 4, sell the master off and get a 2 dimm board. It's a mediocre 4 dimm board as is, it's flicking terrible with 2 dimms. I hear the pro is a pretty good bang for the buck and it would leave you with more money left over for even better dimms .
I would much rather keep the Master board and save up for 2x more sticks rather than ridding the Master board entirely just to get 4x sticks on a Pro. That's just me though. IMO the Master board is one of, if not the best board in its class / price range.

Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post
Just for funsies, I'll raise you with c15-4200 while we wait for those results


1 round of modern warfare map:rust Full ultra settings 1080p rtx disabled/motion blur disabled. gsync compatible enabled + 240 fps limiter in NCP. This is my "tournament" profile for the tournaments I never play in because i'm always so busy fooling around with this thing . 1.35v sa/io + 1.57 vdimm ROFL. It's sillllly. Definitely not memtest stable but gaming stable.
Nice lol... wait til' I get to my Test Bench... I have yet to test RAM there, because I've already got those dialed in, but 1.57v I wouldn't ever use for a daily... pushing it... bench territory for sure, and great for numbers. Just careful not to run them long term. You wouldn't want to degrade those fancy Samsung B-Die Mem chips.

To be clear my goal is to get the best balance at 1.50v (max.) ... not anything beyond that. If you want to see bench numbers for giggles I'll run them on my test bench with the 4600MHz kit lol...

* The pics are very blurry and hard to make out the numbers... maybe it's because I'm on my phone, but could you upload them with slightly better res? Thanks.

Regarding your question about the Z390 Dark board, simply put the best darn board, period. Both in its class/price range and even above. I'll put that board up against any of those fancy 800-1000 boards, any day. It's that good.

Custom Optimus Water Cooled Beast: =Project 42= Z390 Master ┊ 9900KS @ 5.5GHz (1.35v) Ambient ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ 32GB G.Skill RoyalZ RGB @ 4600MHz* ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊
☆ FS [35745] | TS [17707] | CB R15 [8787cb] | CB R20 [19880cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299: 7980XE @ 5.4GHz https://valid.x86.fr/sb92qz ☆ Z390 Dark: 9900KS @ 5.5GHz https://valid.x86.fr/g3ibif ☆ Zenith II Extreme TRX40 - 3970x @ 4.6GHz [All Core] https://valid.x86.fr/kxzfzs

Last edited by iunlock; 02-13-2020 at 08:54 PM.
iunlock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7792 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 09:00 PM
Pigeon Poop Enthusiast
 
wholeeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,244
Rep: 254 (Unique: 187)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
I ran a long 3DMark loops of Time Spy and Fire Strike Ultra with zero errors. So far so good... one of many tests... All I need is game stable as this is just my gaming and semi-work rig. As long as it throws zero errors and it doesn't crash on me, that's pretty darn stable for me.
Ram Test, TM5 1usmus V3 Profile, or GSAT for memory breh breh.

{CPU} i9-9900K @ 5.4/5.4/5.3/5.2 {MB} Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master {Ram} HyperX Predator 64GB DDR4 3600
{GPU} Gigabyte Aorus 5700XT {Case} TT P3 {PSU} Evga SuperNova 1200W P2 {Fans} Corsair ML120 Pros
{Rads} EKWB XE 360 {Pump} EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 {Block} EK Supremacy Evo {Monitor} LG 32" 32UD99-W 4K
{NVME's} {1} Samsung 970 Evo 500GB (MacOS) {2} Samsung 970 Pro 512GB (W10) {3} Inland Premium 1TB (Storage)
{Keyboard} Corsair K70 RGB MK2 Blues {Mouse} Logitech G502
wholeeo is offline  
post #7793 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 10:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 174
Rep: 10 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by wholeeo View Post
Ram Test, TM5 1usmus V3 Profile, or GSAT for memory breh breh.
Yup those are in the arsenal for tests.

Requoting some brilliant words..

"I guess if you need your cpu to do insane heavy lifting then testing in linx is good, but for my usage cases I found that I don't need to be stable enough for the extreme power virus (VIRUS) tests like linx/gsat/p95. IMO, Stability is a scale and where you need to be on that scale depends on usage cases."

I wish some people understood this:

"Stability is a scale and where you need to be on that scale depends on usage cases." - 100%

For my usage scenario on this rig, which is one of many, if it doesn't throw any errors and doesn't BSOD on me during long gaming sessions, recording, rendering, etc... then... What more can I ask for?

Why would I change something that works without issues and needlessly juice up the ram some more to pass tests that are not relavent at all?

I'll run it at my 4266mhz settings. So far so good. If I see even 1 error at any point I'll dial it back to my 4133 settings.

Mind you even at 4133, that's pretty solid for this particular board.

Custom Optimus Water Cooled Beast: =Project 42= Z390 Master ┊ 9900KS @ 5.5GHz (1.35v) Ambient ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ 32GB G.Skill RoyalZ RGB @ 4600MHz* ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊
☆ FS [35745] | TS [17707] | CB R15 [8787cb] | CB R20 [19880cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299: 7980XE @ 5.4GHz https://valid.x86.fr/sb92qz ☆ Z390 Dark: 9900KS @ 5.5GHz https://valid.x86.fr/g3ibif ☆ Zenith II Extreme TRX40 - 3970x @ 4.6GHz [All Core] https://valid.x86.fr/kxzfzs

Last edited by iunlock; 02-13-2020 at 10:35 PM.
iunlock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7794 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 10:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,933
Rep: 425 (Unique: 296)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
Yup those are in the arsenal for tests.

Requoting some brilliant words..

"I guess if you need your cpu to do insane heavy lifting then testing in linx is good, but for my usage cases I found that I don't need to be stable enough for the extreme power virus (VIRUS) tests like linx/gsat/p95. IMO, Stability is a scale and where you need to be on that scale depends on usage cases."

I wish some people understood this:

"Stability is a scale and where you need to be on that scale depends on usage cases." - 100%

For my usage scenario on this rig, which is one of many, if it doesn't throw any errors and doesn't BSOD on me then... What more can I ask for?

Why would I change something that works without issues and needlessly juice up the ram some more to pass tests that are not relavent at all?

I'll run it at my 4266mhz settings. So far so good. If I see even 1 error at any point I'll dial it back to my 4133 settings.
Quote:
Why would I change something that works without issues and needlessly juice up the ram some more to pass tests that are not relavent at all?
And the Vcore (for CPU tests that are not relevant at all?)

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #7795 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 10:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 174
Rep: 10 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
And the Vcore (for CPU tests that are not relevant at all?)
I'm confused. What do you mean, "And the Vcore (for CPU tests that are not relevant at all?)" Having a stable cpu at stable vcore is a given.

You don't tune RAM first then CPU. I'd assume that you would know this already?... perhaps you meant something else?

Custom Optimus Water Cooled Beast: =Project 42= Z390 Master ┊ 9900KS @ 5.5GHz (1.35v) Ambient ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ 32GB G.Skill RoyalZ RGB @ 4600MHz* ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊
☆ FS [35745] | TS [17707] | CB R15 [8787cb] | CB R20 [19880cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299: 7980XE @ 5.4GHz https://valid.x86.fr/sb92qz ☆ Z390 Dark: 9900KS @ 5.5GHz https://valid.x86.fr/g3ibif ☆ Zenith II Extreme TRX40 - 3970x @ 4.6GHz [All Core] https://valid.x86.fr/kxzfzs

Last edited by iunlock; 02-13-2020 at 10:48 PM.
iunlock is offline  
post #7796 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 12:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,933
Rep: 425 (Unique: 296)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
I'm confused. What do you mean, "And the Vcore (for CPU tests that are not relevant at all?)" Having a stable cpu at stable vcore is a given.

You don't tune RAM first then CPU. I'd assume that you would know this already?... perhaps you meant something else?
I mean you need a MUCH higher vcore to pass LinX 0.9.6 35000 sample size with all matching residuals than you do to pass anything you would normally use in real world.
You need an even higher vcore than what FMA3 small FFT prime95 requires.

LinX isn't just about RAM stability.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #7797 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 01:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 962
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by iunlock View Post
I ran a long 3DMark loops of Time Spy and Fire Strike Ultra with zero errors. So far so good... one of many tests... All I need is game stable as this is just my gaming and semi-work rig. As long as it throws zero errors and it doesn't crash on me, that's pretty darn stable for me.



I would much rather keep the Master board and save up for 2x more sticks rather than ridding the Master board entirely just to get 4x sticks on a Pro. That's just me though. IMO the Master board is one of, if not the best board in its class / price range.



Nice lol... wait til' I get to my Test Bench... I have yet to test RAM there, because I've already got those dialed in, but 1.57v I wouldn't ever use for a daily... pushing it... bench territory for sure, and great for numbers. Just careful not to run them long term. You wouldn't want to degrade those fancy Samsung B-Die Mem chips.

To be clear my goal is to get the best balance at 1.50v (max.) ... not anything beyond that. If you want to see bench numbers for giggles I'll run them on my test bench with the 4600MHz kit lol...

* The pics are very blurry and hard to make out the numbers... maybe it's because I'm on my phone, but could you upload them with slightly better res? Thanks.

Regarding your question about the Z390 Dark board, simply put the best darn board, period. Both in its class/price range and even above. I'll put that board up against any of those fancy 800-1000 boards, any day. It's that good.
That's the one issue with the idea of investing into a 4 dimm board with the idea of using 2 slots for an unknown unspecific amount of time until the need for more than 16gb kicks in. It's only good to do that if its a daisy chain board with 4 dimm slots because if you start out with 2 dimms on a t-topology, you are voluntarily gimping your performance for an unspecific amount of time(how ever long that is until the person needed to add sticks, we don't know). That sort of thing doesn't really flow with the purpose of enthusiast platforms right or geared towards the target market right? See what I mean? Better off selling the master and getting aorus pro, then the user will have an extra 100ish dollars to put into a good ram kit. Then if the user needs to get the full 32gb they can buy the dual ranked kit and sell the old kit. my 2 cents . I guess I just feel like it is more cost efficient and more performance effective to either start with a daisy chain 4 dimm board or start with a 2 dimm board or get a 4 dimm t-topology board if you are going to populate the slots all at once from the start.
As per request: (readable scores ) I'm sure the dark will be able to blow these numbers away at the same cas/frequency, if you do end up doing some benching, would you mind trying out some cas 15 frequencies if you've got the time?

reads: 64478
writes: 65604
copy: 62044
latency: 36.0 (can only get this lower if I clock to about 5.4 cores 5.1 cache but volts are silly).

I'm actually going to just run it daily no ****s given. I want this performance daily. I've heard many people running b-die between 1.5v-1.6v daily without degradation yet(or so others claim on reddit LOL). I don't mind joining them, the performance is SO good in games. They really ought to just make a ram stick that performs this well without having to tweak it but i imagine it would be hard to ensure compatibility with all processors. DDR5 will be exciting.

I didn't know it was ok or not frowned upon to run knowingly non-memtest stable ram configurations, but If you are going to lead by example, I will follow!

Can the z390 dark get 4800mhz on ram like the z390 apex or is it a crapshoot/luck? Been wanting an apex ever since those apex users have been pumping out stable configs between 4500-4800 in the ddr4 thread, its nuts! 35ns latency with like 70k gb/s or more performance lol. Just nuts. I gotta get these megahertz rofl.

RGB GAMING
(13 items)
MSI GT83VR-6RE
(6 items)
CPU
[email protected] 4.9GHz/Cache HT/OFF ACDC/1 LLC/MEDIUM OFFSET/+165mv EIST/C3
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS MASTER BIOS/F9
GPU
AORUS 2080Ti XTREME [email protected]/8000/366w
RAM
4x8GB [email protected] 17-17-17-37
Hard Drive
2x256GB SAMSUNG PM961 NVMe/RAID0
Hard Drive
512GB AORUS RGB NVMe
Hard Drive
500GB T-FORCE DELTA MAX RGB SSD
Hard Drive
2x240GB HYPERX SAVAGE SSD/RAID0
Hard Drive
480GB HYPERX SAVAGE SSD
Power Supply
EVGA 850w G+
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X72
Case
Fractal Define S2 Vision RGB
Monitor
ALIENWARE AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
CPU
[email protected]/4.2GHz Cache 1.27v/Load
GPU
2x GTX 1070/SLI
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/3200MHz
Hard Drive
500GB Crucial MX500 M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
256GB Toshiba NVMe
Power Supply
2x Delta 230w(460w)
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by reachthesky; 02-14-2020 at 01:38 AM.
reachthesky is online now  
post #7798 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 01:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iunlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 174
Rep: 10 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
I mean you need a MUCH higher vcore to pass LinX 0.9.6 35000 sample size with all matching residuals than you do to pass anything you would normally use in real world.
You need an even higher vcore than what FMA3 small FFT prime95 requires.

LinX isn't just about RAM stability.
Ah ok and correct LinX isn't just about RAM stability. I've never thought for that to be the case.

Custom Optimus Water Cooled Beast: =Project 42= Z390 Master ┊ 9900KS @ 5.5GHz (1.35v) Ambient ┊ EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra ┊ 32GB G.Skill RoyalZ RGB @ 4600MHz* ┊ 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus m.2 ┊
☆ FS [35745] | TS [17707] | CB R15 [8787cb] | CB R20 [19880cb]
Test Bench: EVGA X299: 7980XE @ 5.4GHz https://valid.x86.fr/sb92qz ☆ Z390 Dark: 9900KS @ 5.5GHz https://valid.x86.fr/g3ibif ☆ Zenith II Extreme TRX40 - 3970x @ 4.6GHz [All Core] https://valid.x86.fr/kxzfzs

Last edited by iunlock; 02-14-2020 at 05:49 AM.
iunlock is offline  
post #7799 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 02:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 962
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
If someone were to limit amps to 125 or 120, what happens if they try to run cinebench? Does it crash or does the frequency get throttled or does it just not show 100% core utilization in hwinfo64 or does it just not perform as well?

I'm thinking I may run with this set up. It seems efficient and the voltages are better than the crazy stuff I sometimes run. 4.8ghz performance in cbr15 with c18/4200 ram. Latency is something like 39.8 or 39.9 with the cache at just 4.5ghz. Highest memtest stable ram frequency I can achieve on this board.

EDIT: setting priority to realtime gave a score of 2145.


RGB GAMING
(13 items)
MSI GT83VR-6RE
(6 items)
CPU
[email protected] 4.9GHz/Cache HT/OFF ACDC/1 LLC/MEDIUM OFFSET/+165mv EIST/C3
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS MASTER BIOS/F9
GPU
AORUS 2080Ti XTREME [email protected]/8000/366w
RAM
4x8GB [email protected] 17-17-17-37
Hard Drive
2x256GB SAMSUNG PM961 NVMe/RAID0
Hard Drive
512GB AORUS RGB NVMe
Hard Drive
500GB T-FORCE DELTA MAX RGB SSD
Hard Drive
2x240GB HYPERX SAVAGE SSD/RAID0
Hard Drive
480GB HYPERX SAVAGE SSD
Power Supply
EVGA 850w G+
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X72
Case
Fractal Define S2 Vision RGB
Monitor
ALIENWARE AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
CPU
[email protected]/4.2GHz Cache 1.27v/Load
GPU
2x GTX 1070/SLI
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/3200MHz
Hard Drive
500GB Crucial MX500 M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
256GB Toshiba NVMe
Power Supply
2x Delta 230w(460w)
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by reachthesky; 02-14-2020 at 04:47 AM.
reachthesky is online now  
post #7800 of 8046 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 04:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 962
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
@Falkentyne I feel like you are the right person to ask this. What is the difference between OCCT-SMALL/AVX2 enabled and Prime95 small ffts AVX2(or just avx, i don't know how that program works)?

I'm doing small right now in occt @ 4.8ghz. vrout is about 1.162v with around 160 amps/184watts being pulled with temps sitting around 80c. Curious if this would be a similar scenario to p95 small ffts with avx enabled or if p95 is even more intense than this. Would completing an hour of small deem the cpu any more stable than an hour of large or medium? I'm looking for the absolute fastest way to respectably deem a cpu as stable enough for gaming. I think me starting to use occt-large/avx2 was a step in the right direction from what I was doing in the past but i think maybe I should start being a bit more thorough in my stability testing and kick it up a notch. Unrelated but similar, Is GSAT more intense than something like this?

RGB GAMING
(13 items)
MSI GT83VR-6RE
(6 items)
CPU
[email protected] 4.9GHz/Cache HT/OFF ACDC/1 LLC/MEDIUM OFFSET/+165mv EIST/C3
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS MASTER BIOS/F9
GPU
AORUS 2080Ti XTREME [email protected]/8000/366w
RAM
4x8GB [email protected] 17-17-17-37
Hard Drive
2x256GB SAMSUNG PM961 NVMe/RAID0
Hard Drive
512GB AORUS RGB NVMe
Hard Drive
500GB T-FORCE DELTA MAX RGB SSD
Hard Drive
2x240GB HYPERX SAVAGE SSD/RAID0
Hard Drive
480GB HYPERX SAVAGE SSD
Power Supply
EVGA 850w G+
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X72
Case
Fractal Define S2 Vision RGB
Monitor
ALIENWARE AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
CPU
[email protected]/4.2GHz Cache 1.27v/Load
GPU
2x GTX 1070/SLI
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/3200MHz
Hard Drive
500GB Crucial MX500 M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
256GB Toshiba NVMe
Power Supply
2x Delta 230w(460w)
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by reachthesky; 02-14-2020 at 04:10 AM.
reachthesky is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 11 (2 members and 9 guests)
pXuis , reachthesky
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off