(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 896 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8951 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 09:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kargeras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne
In fact, its suggested by some people to disable XMP and then bin your CPU, as this takes RAM and the IMC out of the picture, then enable XMP after, then re-test at XMP settings. Then you will have an "idea" if something (IMC, RAM/DDR frequency, etc) has changed the results.
Which is this, one of your past recommendations that I saved:

1) Enable XMP. (reboot).
2) Set VCCIO to 1.20v.
3) Set VCCSA to 1.25v.
4) Set CPU Vcore Loadline Calibration to "High"
5) Set CPU Voltage to 1.350v
6) disable c-states (you will need to "enable" c-state control (thanks, gigabyte for making this confusing) then you can disable the c-states.
7) Set ring/cache ratio to x47.


A recommendation that you ammended on the 1st step, with XMP disabled.

I followed this before moving to Adaptive Voltage.
But I guess I moved too fast.


Another recommendation you gave was this:

Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne
Also when you test on "Auto" Vcore, you should set AC Loadline to 1.6 mOhms, DC Loadline to 1.6 mOhms and Vcore loadline calibration to "Standard" or "Intel spec" or "Level 2", as Level 2 is 1.6 mOhms (Intel spec). Level 1 is spec for 6 core processors, not for 8 cores. You need to do this test. Again, Vcore loadline calibration should be set at "INTEL SPEC" which is Level 2 (1.6 mOhms). and AC and DC loadline should also be set to 1.6 mOhms (raw value: 1.6 in BIOS).

If this test fails (load voltage SHOULD be about 1.220v if you did this correctly, assuming you are using prime95 29.8 build 6 small FFT), then the processor MUST be RMA'd as defective.
This I didn't quite understand the tech details behind but it seemed to be in the same vein with this, an approach for adaptive voltage.

Nonetheless, if this forum will cease to exist, you don't need to be worried.
Many of your contributions will not be lost for they are kept safe.
And I'm sure I'm not the only one safekeeping them.

Intel 9900KS + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Kraken X62 AIO @ 2x140mm front push
Aorus Master @ BIOS F11e
G.Skill Ripjaws 4x16GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - [email protected] (F4-3200C14Q-64GVK)
Phanteks Eclipse P600S @ 1x140mm back exhaust + 2x140mm top exhaust + 1x140mm front intake
Kargeras is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8952 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 09:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kargeras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
I could not even run LinX on my 9900k CPU at 5 ghz. It would reach 100C or LinX would just crash mid-run. Most I could run it was at 4.9 ghz and temps would get to 105C. Be lucky you even have a chance to run it at 5 ghz. 184 amps is almost impossible to cool without a 280mm AIO.
My CPU is a 9900KS though, not 9900K.
Hence my... (a bit) higher expectations.
I do have a 280 AIO, specs are in my signature.

Reading through this very thread and the one dedicated to 9900KS, I got rather dishartened.
Seeing how people run 5.2 / AVX 0 with 1.3 in BIOS or something along those lines.

I myself am aiming for 5.0 and load temps (with AVX2) <=90.
If that should be AVX 0, AVX 1, AVX 2, Uncore 43, 45, 47... that remains to be seen.

Hopefully with your help and others' I will finally figure it out.

:bow:

Intel 9900KS + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Kraken X62 AIO @ 2x140mm front push
Aorus Master @ BIOS F11e
G.Skill Ripjaws 4x16GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - [email protected] (F4-3200C14Q-64GVK)
Phanteks Eclipse P600S @ 1x140mm back exhaust + 2x140mm top exhaust + 1x140mm front intake
Kargeras is offline  
post #8953 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 12:18 AM
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,848
Rep: 270 (Unique: 211)
Okay so here's something weird i noticed. I updated to the F11 bios for the aorus pro and suddenly my cpu temps went through the roof with the same exact settings. On F10 it was around 75-80C under prime95 at 5GHz, but with F11 it was pushing 93. This was with the same exact settings. Anyone else seen this?
Also is there a reason why it wont downclock wen idle? It just stays at 5GHz 24/7

gaming rig
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K 5GHz 1.3V
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 32GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p NVME 512GB
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360MM Corsair LL120
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T White
Operating System
windows 10 Pro
Monitor
MSI OPTIX MAG24C
Monitor
Acer XFA240 bmjdpr
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8954 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 12:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kargeras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
I don't remember what BIOS my Aorus Master was shipped with but it was "5Ghz 24/7".
Updating to F11c did not change that.

I'm on a modded F11e BIOS now and it's the same.
So, 3 BIOSes, same thing.

It doesn't matter for me though.

Quote: Originally Posted by philhalo66 View Post
On F10 it was around 75-80C under prime95 at 5GHz, but with F11 it was pushing 93. This was with the same exact settings. Anyone else seen this?

Is that Prime95 with or without AVX, and what kind of test?

Intel 9900KS + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Kraken X62 AIO @ 2x140mm front push
Aorus Master @ BIOS F11e
G.Skill Ripjaws 4x16GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - [email protected] (F4-3200C14Q-64GVK)
Phanteks Eclipse P600S @ 1x140mm back exhaust + 2x140mm top exhaust + 1x140mm front intake

Last edited by Kargeras; 05-23-2020 at 01:05 AM.
Kargeras is offline  
post #8955 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 01:54 AM
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,848
Rep: 270 (Unique: 211)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kargeras View Post
I don't remember what BIOS my Aorus Master was shipped with but it was "5Ghz 24/7".
Updating to F11c did not change that.

I'm on a modded F11e BIOS now and it's the same.
So, 3 BIOSes, same thing.

It doesn't matter for me though.




Is that Prime95 with or without AVX, and what kind of test?
it was 26.6 without AVX it's really strange even in games im a good 10-15C cooler.

gaming rig
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K 5GHz 1.3V
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 32GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p NVME 512GB
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360MM Corsair LL120
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T White
Operating System
windows 10 Pro
Monitor
MSI OPTIX MAG24C
Monitor
Acer XFA240 bmjdpr
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is online now  
post #8956 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 02:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kargeras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
You're 10-15 degrees cooler in games with the new BIOS but hotter in Prime95 no AVX?

Sounds good to me unless fishing for prime numbers is your day job.

Intel 9900KS + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Kraken X62 AIO @ 2x140mm front push
Aorus Master @ BIOS F11e
G.Skill Ripjaws 4x16GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - [email protected] (F4-3200C14Q-64GVK)
Phanteks Eclipse P600S @ 1x140mm back exhaust + 2x140mm top exhaust + 1x140mm front intake
Kargeras is offline  
post #8957 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 02:59 AM
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,848
Rep: 270 (Unique: 211)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kargeras View Post
You're 10-15 degrees cooler in games with the new BIOS but hotter in Prime95 no AVX?

Sounds good to me unless fishing for prime numbers is your day job.
sorry i wasn't super clear, What i meant was with F11 temps in games are 10-15C hotter but with F10 temps are 10-15C Cooler.

gaming rig
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K 5GHz 1.3V
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 32GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p NVME 512GB
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360MM Corsair LL120
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T White
Operating System
windows 10 Pro
Monitor
MSI OPTIX MAG24C
Monitor
Acer XFA240 bmjdpr
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is online now  
post #8958 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 04:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by philhalo66 View Post
sorry i wasn't super clear, What i meant was with F11 temps in games are 10-15C hotter but with F10 temps are 10-15C Cooler.
Maby bad readings in one of the bioses? Or did you measure with probe ?
Lurifaks is offline  
post #8959 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 06:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kargeras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by philhalo66 View Post
sorry i wasn't super clear, What i meant was with F11 temps in games are 10-15C hotter but with F10 temps are 10-15C Cooler.
Try going back to the BIOS version that gave you best results.

I'm on F11e (modded) for no particular reason, but then again I'm not using that PC since it's in the "overclock stability stress testing 24/7 counting Mhz, Celsius degrees and other fun stuff" kinda mode.
I also have the suspicion it over volts a bit more than F11c but that's just an undocumented claim on my part, for now.
I might be going back to F11c or F9 or whatever.

But once the operating system is in place and everything is in oder... switching BIOSes can become an unnecessary pain.

There's really no reason to have a particular BIOS version (including the latest) if you don't experience problems.
Like data corruption, data loss, high temperture, BSODs, OS corruption, etc.

Intel 9900KS + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Kraken X62 AIO @ 2x140mm front push
Aorus Master @ BIOS F11e
G.Skill Ripjaws 4x16GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - [email protected] (F4-3200C14Q-64GVK)
Phanteks Eclipse P600S @ 1x140mm back exhaust + 2x140mm top exhaust + 1x140mm front intake
Kargeras is offline  
post #8960 of 9071 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 07:49 AM
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,848
Rep: 270 (Unique: 211)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lurifaks View Post
Maby bad readings in one of the bioses? Or did you measure with probe ?
I used a few programs to monitor temps and the back of the socket was hotter as well.

Quote: Originally Posted by Kargeras View Post
Try going back to the BIOS version that gave you best results.

I'm on F11e (modded) for no particular reason, but then again I'm not using that PC since it's in the "overclock stability stress testing 24/7 counting Mhz, Celsius degrees and other fun stuff" kinda mode.
I also have the suspicion it over volts a bit more than F11c but that's just an undocumented claim on my part, for now.
I might be going back to F11c or F9 or whatever.

But once the operating system is in place and everything is in oder... switching BIOSes can become an unnecessary pain.

There's really no reason to have a particular BIOS version (including the latest) if you don't experience problems.
Like data corruption, data loss, high temperture, BSODs, OS corruption, etc.
guess ill just stick to the F10 bios. Only problem i have now is for some reason my 9900k will not underclock at idle it just sits at 4.7ghz 24/7. I got all the settings at default so im not sure whats up.

gaming rig
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K 5GHz 1.3V
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 32GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p NVME 512GB
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360MM Corsair LL120
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T White
Operating System
windows 10 Pro
Monitor
MSI OPTIX MAG24C
Monitor
Acer XFA240 bmjdpr
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off