SOLVED: ASRock x79 Extreme7 Won't Post - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

SOLVED: ASRock x79 Extreme7 Won't Post

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mrwesth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alaska's Rain Forest
Posts: 707
Rep: 55 (Unique: 50)
SOLVED: ASRock x79 Extreme7 Won't Post

Solution:
Replaced the bios chip with one off ebay. No soldering required. Board posts without issue now.
__________________________________

I've exhausted myself troubleshooting this issue so I'm phoning a friend -- OCN.

Here's the TLDR rundown:
  • When the system is running it is 100% stable.
  • After a reboot or shutdown however it will not post -- not picture at all, no post screen.
  • The ASRock display on the board primarily stops on code d7 when it fails to post. That indicates there is no keyboard/mouse. I've tried 6 different keyboard/mice and can safely rule that out as the issue.
  • Sometimes, it will eventually post after multiple cmos resets and reboots -- with no discernible pattern. And then it will run without issue for months.

Here are the troubleshooting steps I've taken:
  • Tried 6 different keyboard mice combinations in all usb/ps2 ports. 2 ps2 keyboards, 2 wired usb keyboards, 2 wireless usb keyboards. No difference.
  • Swapped out ram.
  • Swapped out gfx.
  • Swapped out psu.
  • Swapped out hdd's.
  • Reflashed current bios.
  • Reseated all psu cables.
  • Tried different monitors.
  • Tried VGA, DVI, and HDMI.
  • Visually inspected board and found no noticable popped up cap's, failed solder, or broken trace.
  • Verified all individual components work in another system (except cpu, mb, ram bc I don't have a compatible ddr3/lpa 2011 board).


When it does post it is usually after a cmos reset but it sometimes takes 20 tries before it will post. Once the board does post it runs like a champ. No performance issues. No heat issues. No memory issues.

I don't think the hardware is bad because it runs without any issue once it posts. However I have no explanation for what the problem is. There were no system changes before the issue began.

I emailed ASRock support 3 months ago and have not heard back yet. Emailed them a second time today.

Does anyone have any ideas/suggestions on what I could try?
I really just can't even think of what might be causing it, let alone fix the problem. If 2011 was still a current socket I would have already ordered a new board by now.

Any tips/suggestions are appreciated.




Last edited by mrwesth; 06-30-2019 at 05:01 AM.
mrwesth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 09:41 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,093
Rep: 1000 (Unique: 607)
The ports are on the motherboard but you've literally replaced/tested every component except the motherboard and don't know what the issue is?



unless some other part that you tested was replaced with another faulty part, it's gonna be your motherboard. it could be a RAM training problem - but by trying a different BIOS and by trying different RAM should have ruled that out.

Intermittent CPU issues are pretty rare ... they usually work or don't work and I can't imagine it causing an intermittent boot issue like that.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 09:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,750
Rep: 21 (Unique: 15)
Do you have the latest BIOS? I believe when the Asrock X79 Extreme series first came out the BIOS didn't support Ivy Bridge E, only Sandy Bridge E. R U using Ivy Bridge E?
8051 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 09:47 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,521
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
cmos battery? 3.3v spec


else try setting all auto options in bios to a manual one if possible in voltages and ram timings. like pook stated, could be memory related
mattliston is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 09:48 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,521
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
Do you have the latest BIOS? I believe when the Asrock X79 Extreme series first came out the BIOS didn't support Ivy Bridge E, only Sandy Bridge E. R U using Ivy Bridge E?

He was clear about when it successfully posted, it ran great and stable
mattliston is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mrwesth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alaska's Rain Forest
Posts: 707
Rep: 55 (Unique: 50)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
The ports are on the motherboard but you've literally replaced/tested every component except the motherboard and don't know what the issue is?



unless some other part that you tested was replaced with another faulty part, it's gonna be your motherboard. it could be a RAM training problem - but by trying a different BIOS and by trying different RAM should have ruled that out.

Intermittent CPU issues are pretty rare ... they usually work or don't work and I can't imagine it causing an intermittent boot issue like that.
Well that's just the thing, if it is the board why would booting be intermittent but the system be otherwise stable? Something in the boot up process is causing it to get stuck and I just can't make sense of it. I do certainly think the board is the issue though, hence why I've posted here. I guess I'm hoping someone knows what's going on and some way to fix it.

EDIT****
You might be on to something with the RAM, I've given an incomplete story as to now. d7 isn't the only code, just the most common. The other one is ram related, 6A. It will stop on 6A after multiple failed boots and then after clearing cmos or resetting again it will go back to d7.
I have 2 different 4 dimm sets since I save the old ram when I upgraded the systems memory 2 years ago.
4x8gb and 4x4gb.

I've tried 2 dimms at a time of each set today while troubleshooting and no difference.
I don't think its the ram itself though because the old set had no issues when pulled (tho I never ran memtest on it and don't have another compatible system to do it in atm)


Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
Do you have the latest BIOS? I believe when the Asrock X79 Extreme series first came out the BIOS didn't support Ivy Bridge E, only Sandy Bridge E. R U using Ivy Bridge E?
Yes, current bios, and reflashed it after the issue started to see if that would resolve it -- no luck.

It is Sandy, 3930k. System has had same CPU and MB for years. I don't recall any hardware changes before this issue began other than changing the GPU.
It had a 1070 in it that I moved to a new build and replaced with a gtx 730 from an old htpc. It didn't have the issue right after swapping cards though or I would have noticed that. It just seemingly started randomly after a windows update about 6 months ago. I've tried the 1070 in the mb and tried each of the top 3 pcie slots on the board.

The 730 and 1070 work fine in my other systems.

I do kind of suspect it has something to do with the PCIE slots and not the keyboard/mouse inputs but that's just a hunch with nothing to substantiate it. It just seems like it won't display picture, until it does. Today was the longest I've spent troubleshooting without being able to get it to post.
I ripped the system down multiple times to just the MB and tried everything I could think of.
I wouldn't be surprised if it was something silly like a faulty cmos battery (I tried swapping it with one from another system so thats not it either).

I'd let it go and move on if the board just didn't work but when it's running there aren't any problems I can find.




Last edited by mrwesth; 10-23-2018 at 10:11 PM.
mrwesth is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 10:11 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,093
Rep: 1000 (Unique: 607)
Quote: Originally Posted by mrwesth View Post
Well that's just the thing, if it is the board why would booting be intermittent but the system be otherwise stable? Something in the boot up process is causing it to get stuck and I just can't make sense of it. I do certainly think the board is the issue though, hence why I've posted here. I guess I'm hoping someone knows what's going on and some way to fix it.
Because having an intermittent issue initializing USB or PS2 devices during POST doesn't mean the system is unstable, it means the system has issues initializing USB/PS2 devices during POST.

If it successfully initializes them, why would the system crash?

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 10:14 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,521
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
Well, if the USB or PS2 ports are having a hard time initializing, then unplugging those devices and trying to boot several times should help the system ignore them.


Then just plug them in when operating system is loaded up
mattliston is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 10:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mrwesth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alaska's Rain Forest
Posts: 707
Rep: 55 (Unique: 50)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Because having an intermittent issue initializing USB or PS2 devices during POST doesn't mean the system is unstable, it means the system has issues initializing USB/PS2 devices during POST.

If it successfully initializes them, why would the system crash?
That makes sense.
I'm just a bit ignorant on some of the systems processes while it boots. I guess I wrongly assumed that if they were the culprit then there would be some noticeable intermittent issue while using them.

I'm a pretty good troubleshooter but have no formal education in computers beyond taking a simple programming class in middle school back in the 90's and some college classes in sas and stata.

Quote: Originally Posted by mattliston View Post
Well, if the USB or PS2 ports are having a hard time initializing, then unplugging those devices and trying to boot several times should help the system ignore them.


Then just plug them in when operating system is loaded up
That sounds like it is worth a try. I didn't think the system would post without a keyboard and mouse plugged in but failing to initialize may be enough to trick it to look for them again.
I have to get up in about 4-5hrs and pulled the hhd to stick in the system I am on currently because I needed to access some files on it. I'll give that a go tomorrow when I get home in the evening.

I wonder what would cause the keyboard not to initialize properly sometimes. It works fine once I hit the post screen.

I also have tried tapping keys on the keyboard while the system boots... I think it helps but I could just be mixing up cause and correlation on that.




Last edited by mrwesth; 10-23-2018 at 10:21 PM.
mrwesth is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 10:22 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,093
Rep: 1000 (Unique: 607)
Quote: Originally Posted by mrwesth View Post
That makes sense.
I'm just a bit ignorant on some of the systems processes while it boots. I guess I wrongly assumed that if they were the culprit then there would be some noticeable intermittent issue while using them.

I'm a pretty good troubleshooter but have no formal education in computers beyond taking a simple programming class in middle school back in the 90's and some college classes in sas and stata.

It's just a guess! It could be some other component that you tested with that was also faulty or a memory training error that for some reason got carried over to the other RAM you tried or probably a ton of other things but given you've tested most everything else it seems the most logical.

Motherboard fault codes are often useless and inaccurate so swapping components is really the best way to go about testing things anyway.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off