Asus Maximus XI Extreme (Z390) problem with 4600Mhz memory search to take best because 4600 is impossible - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asus Maximus XI Extreme (Z390) problem with 4600Mhz memory search to take best because 4600 is impossible

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,423
Rep: 362 (Unique: 258)
Quote: Originally Posted by Knoxx29 View Post
@Fraizer

Let me tell you that you will have a very hard time trying to achieve 4600MHz (if) and let me add that for sure you wont even get close to it, i own a Maximus XI Extreme too and before i bought the Ram i made sure which Ram would work with the Motherboard, as far as i know 4266MHz is the max for the Maximus XI Extreme.

Next time before you buy Ram at least use the G.skill Ram Configurator https://www.gskill.com/en/configurat...471&model=3495
And 4600 mhz memory --just 16 GB of it, costs as much as a 1080 Ti or RTX 2080.
You gain a lot more by using that huge cost towards something worthwhile, like a GPU or something.
Just because a company validates its RAM at 4600 mhz doesn't mean the hardware can run it. It just means the chips are capable of it.
Running RAM at 4600 mhz is in the realm of professional overclockers. We're talking about stuff run on a VERY limited selection of boards (usually ONLY 2 dimm boards!!), often with VERY high voltages and sub-zero cooling!

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:22 PM
Knowledge is Success
 
Knoxx29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 320
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Fraizer View Post
@Knoxx29

thank you for the link !! for sure next time when i will want to buy the ram i will look like crazy reviews technical data QVL etc...

But i am actualy no more trying to go to the 4600 i know is mission impossible... i am trying with your help on the forum to go to the maximum speed and timings of this memory
Do you mind to tell me the exact model of your Ram?

Mine is 3866MHz and i had it Overclocked at 4200MHz with Timings 17-17-17-37 and 1.45V but because i don't like high voltages and i wont see any difference from 4000MHz to 4200MHz now there are running at 4000MHz 17-17-17-37 1.36V

BlackWidow
(16 items)
SR 2 Prototype
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7 8086K
Motherboard
Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
RAM
G.skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Power Supply
Enermax platimax
Cooling
Waterchiller
Case
Lian Li V3000
Operating System
Windows 10 pro
Monitor
Asus rog swift pg278q
CPU
Xeon X5677
Motherboard
Evga SR 2
GPU
Geforce Gtx 1080 classified
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Western Digital blue
Power Supply
Enermax Platimax 80Plus Platinum OC Edition
Cooling
ARCTIC Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Case
Lian Li PC-A75WX
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate
Monitor
Asus ROG SWIFT PG278Q
▲ hide details ▲
Knoxx29 is offline  
post #33 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Trying to learn ^^
 
Fraizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 295
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
And 4600 mhz memory --just 16 GB of it, costs as much as a 1080 Ti or RTX 2080.
You gain a lot more by using that huge cost towards something worthwhile, like a GPU or something.
Just because a company validates its RAM at 4600 mhz doesn't mean the hardware can run it. It just means the chips are capable of it.
Running RAM at 4600 mhz is in the realm of professional overclockers. We're talking about stuff run on a VERY limited selection of boards (usually ONLY 2 dimm boards!!), often with VERY high voltages and sub-zero cooling!
i understand all that. and already have an 2080 Ti and an 9900K @5.3ghz and rest all. i buy 1 computer every 5 or 6 years i invest the good price to be in peace for long time without changing any thing. this was a miustake like i repeat it like 6 to 8 times. speaking about that again and again will not solve my overcloking trying to stay positive to speak about what i can solve now with your help and let the past and negativ and error in past but take of course experience on it to not repeat it. i have 40 years no more an kid to not learn from my mistakes lol

Last edited by Fraizer; 02-03-2019 at 02:32 PM.
Fraizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Trying to learn ^^
 
Fraizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 295
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Knoxx29 View Post
Do you mind to tell me the exact model of your Ram?

Mine is 3866MHz and i had it Overclocked at 4200MHz with Timings 17-17-17-37 and 1.45V but because i don't like high voltages and i wont see any difference from 4000MHz to 4200MHz now there are running at 4000MHz 17-17-17-37 1.36V
here they are : https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4...gtrs#tabs-spec

i am actualy at 4133mhz 17-18 at 1.45v vccio and VSA both at 1.2500v
Fraizer is offline  
post #35 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:46 PM
Knowledge is Success
 
Knoxx29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 320
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Fraizer View Post
here they are : https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4...gtrs#tabs-spec

i am actualy at 4133mhz 17-18 at 1.45v vccio and VSA both at 1.2500v
I was just checking if they are B-Die.

Damn 1.2500v VCCIO and VCCSA you have two options:

Use the Ram at 4000MHz with less VCCIO and VCCSA voltage or try to sell it and buy lower MHz Ram

BlackWidow
(16 items)
SR 2 Prototype
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7 8086K
Motherboard
Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
RAM
G.skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Power Supply
Enermax platimax
Cooling
Waterchiller
Case
Lian Li V3000
Operating System
Windows 10 pro
Monitor
Asus rog swift pg278q
CPU
Xeon X5677
Motherboard
Evga SR 2
GPU
Geforce Gtx 1080 classified
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Western Digital blue
Power Supply
Enermax Platimax 80Plus Platinum OC Edition
Cooling
ARCTIC Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Case
Lian Li PC-A75WX
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate
Monitor
Asus ROG SWIFT PG278Q
▲ hide details ▲
Knoxx29 is offline  
post #36 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Trying to learn ^^
 
Fraizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 295
Rep: 0
where i am living is just impossible to sell them.

i dont test less of 1.2500v because was just and voltage to test them on oc. Jpmboy was helping me to oc them the best possible but unfortunatly he dont answer he told me to put this voltage the time he oc them to me and i gess at the end we will test lower voltages.

then actualy i blocked on an step and hope someone who have good knwoledge in memory oc (timins section) will take me to there best.
Fraizer is offline  
post #37 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tatmMRKIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,904
Rep: 121 (Unique: 83)
as far as I know no board will run 4sticks of those at 4600... thats a dual channel kit for a reason... and its not even meant for 4dimm motherboards AFAIK its meant for 2dimm ones because they have a higher mhz ceiling.
it took 1.4+v vccio vccsa on my EVGA dark z390 to get 4600XMP with just 2 of my sticks.

(If y'all) ain’t ready for the old murder, then what you gonna do with the new me?
tatmMRKIV is offline  
post #38 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 03:00 PM
Knowledge is Success
 
Knoxx29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 320
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by tatmMRKIV View Post
as far as I know no board will run 4sticks of those at 4600...
The Maximus XI Apex and Maximus XI Gene support 4600MHz Ram Kits, that been said, it could be possible.

BlackWidow
(16 items)
SR 2 Prototype
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7 8086K
Motherboard
Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
RAM
G.skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Power Supply
Enermax platimax
Cooling
Waterchiller
Case
Lian Li V3000
Operating System
Windows 10 pro
Monitor
Asus rog swift pg278q
CPU
Xeon X5677
Motherboard
Evga SR 2
GPU
Geforce Gtx 1080 classified
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Western Digital blue
Power Supply
Enermax Platimax 80Plus Platinum OC Edition
Cooling
ARCTIC Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Case
Lian Li PC-A75WX
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate
Monitor
Asus ROG SWIFT PG278Q
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Knoxx29; 02-03-2019 at 03:04 PM.
Knoxx29 is offline  
post #39 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 03:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,423
Rep: 362 (Unique: 258)
Quote: Originally Posted by tatmMRKIV View Post
as far as I know no board will run 4sticks of those at 4600... thats a dual channel kit for a reason... and its not even meant for 4dimm motherboards AFAIK its meant for 2dimm ones because they have a higher mhz ceiling.
it took 1.4+v vccio vccsa on my EVGA dark z390 to get 4600XMP with just 2 of my sticks.
Yep this is what I said.
@Fraizer did a good job delidding his 9900k, that was well done, but buying 4600 mhz RAM kits is seriously a HUGE waste of money unless you are a professional overclocker. That cash can go to something nice like a VERY nice case upgrade or something that will make you far happier.

Stick with 4133-4266 mhz sticks, folks.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #40 of 71 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Trying to learn ^^
 
Fraizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 295
Rep: 0
@Falkentyne again you speak about the same mistake... i have the best case possible totaly cutoms and best monitor too etc was just missing best memory maybe better to help me to oc this memory no ?
Fraizer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off