Asus Maximus XI Extreme (Z390) problem with 4600Mhz memory search to take best because 4600 is impossible - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asus Maximus XI Extreme (Z390) problem with 4600Mhz memory search to take best because 4600 is impossible

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-24-2019, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
Trying to learn ^^
 
Fraizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 339
Rep: 0
Asus Maximus XI Extreme (Z390) problem with 4600Mhz memory search to take best because 4600 is impossible

EDIT: please look last post because i know i cant reach 4600mhz but i need help to oc them at fast is possible i am actualy at 4133Mhz and timing 16-18. if i can with your help go more of 4133Mhz will be great ! but if is not possible i need some help to found the best timming at this speed


Hello

We have problem with the Asus Maximus XI Extreme and 4x 8gb =32 (even 2x 8gb =16 !) of 4600Mh from G.Skill the exact ref : G.Skill Trident Z Royal F4-4600C18D-16GTRS : Latency 18-22-22-42 at 1.45v. -> https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4...gtrs#tabs-spec Same problem with the 4600Mhz "NON" Royal. (Royal is just the plastic they put on the led nothing else)

i make them run actualy in manual mode (not xmp) at 3200Mhz Only.

I tried to put only 2 ram on dual channel

i tried XMP 1 and 2 i put the G.Skill constructor voltage : 1.45volts but bios dont boot.

Maybe it need to put an higer value on the VCCIO and System Agent Voltage ???

i dont found them on the QVL of the ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME_Memory_QVL. those 4600 are on the market before novembre 2018 (with the 4600 non royal who are exactly the same)
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...y_QVL_0108.pdf

G.skill answer me is because Asus they dont add them then they will not work and no any other answer from g.skill usa who was rude by email and no more help...

Last edited by Fraizer; 02-03-2019 at 04:48 PM.
Fraizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 09:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ssateneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 888
Rep: 43 (Unique: 38)
You can't really expect anything to work out of the box for 3200+. You might need tweaking of other settings to get your RAM working up to speed. I have a 4 x 16GB 3600MHz kit that does work at XMP, but a 2 x 8GB 4266MHz kit I have requires MANY reboots (5 to 50) to actually POST and be usable at 4266MHz. This may come down to the board being a 4 DIMM slot board. If your board is 2 DIMM slots, like an OC formula or Apex or Gene, you'll have better luck with high frequency kits due to better PCB trace layout suitable for high frequency RAM.

Intel Core i9-9900k (Silicon Lottery 5.1GHz @ 5.3GHz 1.36 VCore)
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
G.SKILL F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW (2x16GiB 4000MHz 19-19-19-39 2T, tuned to 4133MHz 14-17-17-31 2T)
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Seasonic PRIME 1300W 80+ Platinum
ssateneth is offline  
post #3 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Trying to learn ^^
 
Fraizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 339
Rep: 0
the maximus xi extreme have 4 slots the 4266 are reconise.

i dont know at all what to put in setting to get those ***... working it was a big mistake to buy that
Fraizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 04:07 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,763
Rep: 30 (Unique: 16)
Have you tried increasing System Agent and IO Voltage?

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is online now  
post #5 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
Trying to learn ^^
 
Fraizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 339
Rep: 0
hi BroadPwns

before that i will need to now what value exactly i have to put :/

but before that when i was oc the 9900k i put those value 1.15 and 1.20 but i was booting those memory at 3200mhz to be sure i will not have oc issue from the memory.

except the cpu i know approximatively how to deal with the voltage / oc but with memory realy nothing but get many warn about the vccio and sa
Fraizer is offline  
post #6 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 06:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
littledonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,481
Rep: 75 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by Fraizer View Post
hi BroadPwns

before that i will need to now what value exactly i have to put :/

but before that when i was oc the 9900k i put those value 1.15 and 1.20 but i was booting those memory at 3200mhz to be sure i will not have oc issue from the memory.

except the cpu i know approximatively how to deal with the voltage / oc but with memory realy nothing but get many warn about the vccio and sa
Set them back to 1.15 and 1.20 and try again

littledonny is offline  
post #7 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 07:01 PM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,601
Rep: 1286 (Unique: 568)
Quote: Originally Posted by Fraizer View Post
hi BroadPwns

before that i will need to now what value exactly i have to put :/

but before that when i was oc the 9900k i put those value 1.15 and 1.20 but i was booting those memory at 3200mhz to be sure i will not have oc issue from the memory.

except the cpu i know approximatively how to deal with the voltage / oc but with memory realy nothing but get many warn about the vccio and sa
post your question HERE. Lot's of helpful folks.
I have the Max XI also. I'm running my 3600c16 4x8GB kit at 4000C16.
Disable the MemOK switch on the MB. To start, set 1.25V VSA and 1.25V VCCIO, set VDIMM to 1.45V, do not load XMP (In fact, you'll need to clrcmos to remove all the XMP programming if you did load XMP prior). Set 16-16-16-38, leave all other timings on auto. F10.

Use the thread I linked to to continue...

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
GPUs For Sale
X299
(27 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370
(19 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #8 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
Trying to learn ^^
 
Fraizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 339
Rep: 0
@Jpmboy :

thank you for this link

Please dont take bad my questions i am realy lost about memory this why i make this order mistake.

- i set the speed at 4600Mhz right ?

- why i should put : 16-16-16-38 ? when the timing of g.skill are "Tested Latency: 18-22-22-42" ? --> it will be great to have the timing you set at 4600Mhz ! ♥

- What is the difference between XMP 1 and XMP 2 ? And what is the negative point if we dont set one of them and do a manual settings ?


to help this is the manufaturer spec for those 8Gb at 4600Mhz is: (i have 4 of them to make 32GB, from 2 sperate boxes, each 16Gb)

Test speed : 4600mhz
Tested Latency: 18-22-22-42
Tested voltage : 1.45volts
Fraizer is offline  
post #9 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 08:33 PM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,601
Rep: 1286 (Unique: 568)
no, with the above settings lets first see if we can get 4000 16-16-16 to boot with 1.45V and the vsa/vccio settings I mentioned. I know what ram kit you have. XMP will not work. Another problem is mixing kits at that (or any) speed. kits of 4 are binned to work together. Combining sticks from 2 identical kits will rarely work at XMP (like really rarely at speeds like that) and hopefully wil lwork together at a lower speed.
I'd put 4600 aside for now...

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
GPUs For Sale
X299
(27 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370
(19 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #10 of 75 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 08:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dillmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Port Richey FL
Posts: 1,509
Rep: 85 (Unique: 76)
Its no wonder cause the boards specs shows 4400, thats pretty up there without factoring the variances in memory controller it seems to me that it gets harder over 4000, I seen there was alot of people on other brands boards that were having trouble.

Asus has a memory profile called RAW MHZ try and load that you could go a little higher in voltage. It is possible tighter timings could be more stable with higher frequencies not the first time I've heard something to that effect but with Ryzen.

*Edit
I would like to add if you look up 4600 DDR4 the Gskill sticks are showing 1.5 volts not the Royals.



Last edited by Dillmiester; 01-25-2019 at 08:51 PM.
Dillmiester is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off