PciE slot saying "empty" - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

PciE slot saying "empty"

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 250
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
PciE slot saying "empty"

 Everybody, I'm having recently a big issue with my GPU/Mobo. 

During some maintenance on my system, I had the GPU connected to the mobo through a vertical GPU holder (my case was a mini itx Raven Rvz01). Accidentally while System was On i've broken 2 rear pins of the holder. The pc after that froze. Initially I thought, well, it's just the holder, so i bought a new case for my rig to finally use my gpu connected directly into the PCI-E slot (a bought a NZXT Manta). But connecting the GPU to it ended up in a blank screen, initially I was like, ok the gpu is dead, so what I did was to connect the the PC through the iGPU, but after I starded thinking it wasn't gpu fault but mobo, in fact after managing to boot the pc up through it I realised, also the network card and the Bluetooth stopped working, plus in the board explorer of the bios, at the PCI-E slot it was saying empty, like it wasn't detecting the gpu, so I thought the accident with the gpu holder caused a short that killed the PCI-E slot and network card. So I RMAed the board and got a new "repaired" one, but same problem again, GPU is not detected on the PCI-E slot saying it is empty. With the new board the network card is working fine now, the Bluetooth instead is working odd (difficulties in connecting and findings devices), so I was like, ok also the GPU is dead so let me check the post debug leds, and I noticed that the leds are not detecting any problem, they are supposed to stay lit when a fault is detected but debug just works fine as expected, either I boot up through the iGPU and the GPU not detected. So I thought even if is statistically difficult to happen, that I received another faulty motherboard. In your opinion what is the problem? GPU or mobo? Why it doesn't detect at all the GPU, with the board explorer saying it is empty? 

My rig is
I7 7700k 
Avexir DDR4 RAM 3600 xmp cl17
Samsung 960pro nvme
GTX 1080 g1 gaming by gigabyte 
MSI Z270 pro Carbon AC mini itx motherboard 
Corsair sfx600 pSU

Inviato dal mio KOB-L09 utilizzando Tapatalk
xNAPx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 10:21 PM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,080
Rep: 3134 (Unique: 1869)
The odds of both boards being bad is low, but not zero. Bluetooth itself is often touchy (it's also subject to interference from 2.4GHz networks and USB 3.0 devices). However, t's possible your repaired sample, or it's wireless card, is in less than perfect shape. I probably wouldn't RMA it again for such an issue though, unless there is evidence the board itself has problems. Replacing a wireless+BT NIC on that board with something better is neither hard nor expensive...may just need a reseat anyway.

The board's POST debug probably won't detect any issue if the GPU is damaged in just the wrong way. If you damaged the sense pin functionality it may not even be running any video tests as it may not even know there is a card in the slot.

Have you tested the GPU in another slot? Another system?

Can you illustrate exactly what damage was caused?

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 250
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Nope unfortunately I cannot try another slot because it is a mini itx mobo, so only one slot available. What you say regarding the mobo might be very true, the post doesn't detect a fault because it doesn't even know there is something into the slot. The slot's led itself indeed does not turn on, so it does not detect anything installed, btw if I unplug the 6pin connector from the gpu, the gpu led indicating there is something wrong with power, stays lit, so it looks the card is not dead completely, or not in such a way it doesn't work at all, if powered, it generates heat and detects missing power.

My issue started on a bloody riser card used in my previous case, while I was refilling the reservoir, a loose radiator bent 2 rear pins of this riser card while the pc was on, causing the freeze and the issues discussed, initially I thought that it couldn't affect the gpu itself but only the riser card silly me

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
xNAPx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 250
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Hello everyone got some update since my last post.
After that incident, I bought a new GPU, a new Power supply and a new mobo and still got this issue with the mobo not detecting the GPU, at this point I run out of ideas, could the cpu got damaged? In the way only the communication between the CPU and the PciE lanes is corrupted, but everything else works flawlessly, iGPU, RAM, and even overclock to 5.1Ghz work just fine. Any idea guys?

Inviato dal mio KOB-L09 utilizzando Tapatalk
xNAPx is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,735
Rep: 529 (Unique: 299)
yes, you've ruled out everything else. It sounds like you some how damaged the cpu.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 250
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
yes, you've ruled out everything else. It sounds like you some how damaged the cpu.
It looks like but I ran a couple of rounds of intel diagnostic tool and cpu passes all the tests, no issues detected. Is intel diagnostic tool trustworthy?
Cloud it be a compatibility issue between gpu and motherboard? My mobo is an Asus ROG z270 - I Gaming and my gpu is a GIGABYTE RTX 2080 wb waterforce
xNAPx is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off