Motherboard seems faulty, risky to use? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Motherboard seems faulty, risky to use?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Goodcharly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 122
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Motherboard seems faulty, risky to use?

Hi,

Some accident happened with my audio going nuts and speakers emitting a loud and awful noise.

After reboot noise has disappeared but I can hear crackling on my speakers and my headphones. Both are plugged to external sound card and reinstalling the drivers didn't fix the problem.

I believe there is some electrical interference although the sound card of my speakers is plugged via Spdif, which does not conduct electricity. My other sound card is plugged via USB at the back of the board.

Everything else looks fine, I can run a game. But can it be somewhat risky for the hardware? I'll buy another MB but I cannot at this time...
Goodcharly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 07:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,365
Rep: 526 (Unique: 297)
wait, you have two different sound solutions coming out of the PC?

Optical, and USB? and both reproduce this interference? Maybe your ground is faulty?
skupples is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 07:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crackatoea
Posts: 520
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Why do you have 2 sound cards installed?
Do you mean one is on-board?

My Rig
(21 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9-9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Formula
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Watercool HEATKILLER IV PRO
Cooling
Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink
Cooling
2 x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTR
Cooling
2 x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9 x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
2 x Noctua NA-A15 PWM
Cooling
24 x EK Vadar F4120ER
Case
Case Labs Magnum M8 with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG28Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Mr. Speakers Aeon Closed
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Goodcharly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 122
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
wait, you have two different sound solutions coming out of the PC?

Optical, and USB? and both reproduce this interference? Maybe your ground is faulty?
Thanks for the reply, yes, I thought about the ground because I don't see how signal through Spdif could be noisy this way. Is there something I should do immediatly if it's the ground? How should I determine what component is faulty?


Quote: Originally Posted by Shawnb99 View Post
Why do you have 2 sound cards installed?
Do you mean one is on-board?
I have a dedicated sound card to speakers via Spdif (this connection is great for removing buzz when you have self-powered speakers) and another one for headphones via USB, I don't use onboard audio. Both sound cards are cheaper together than one sound card with two outputs and I can switch from headphones to speakers with a simple shortcut.
Goodcharly is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 08:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,365
Rep: 526 (Unique: 297)
power supply is usually the first thing to check.

I'd also remove one card, then test as well.

I spend $200 on an external solution that does both. One line to speakers, n a switch over button for head phones, or the USB input.

external solutions pretty much always trump sound cards, even in gaming situations.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Goodcharly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 122
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
power supply is usually the first thing to check.

I'd also remove one, then test as well.
Ok thanks. I thought a ground problem would mean some risk but you don't see a problem to continue using the PC?

Also I'd like to know what happened. I thought the problem was coming from a software, it is possible it created that kind of malfunction?
Goodcharly is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off