Can a dead motherboard still power on? Troubleshooting a used motherboard - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Can a dead motherboard still power on? Troubleshooting a used motherboard

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-13-2019, 10:52 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,482
Rep: 776 (Unique: 446)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheRacker View Post
Ok it powers on normally with a 3570K! Looks like it might be a dead 2500k. I'll flash a new bios and try the 2500k again.
glad you got/getting it sorted.

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-14-2019, 12:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheRacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 152
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by HelpDatBIOS View Post
Yes, BIOS can be redone without the board, if you have a $2.50 flash programmer (CH341A). Great to see you got it running finally! So was that with the 8GB memory module too?
Could be a dead 2500K, or maybe Intel ME FW Updated for Ivy (later/latest BIOS) and might not work with 2500K anymore due to this. You'd have to test the 2500K on another board to confirm if it's OK or not.


ON the R9, I meant it's too new, and might not work on this board, but yes, I was quoting how you said it was "Old" so I see what you mean now

Good to see the board is alive now at least!
It's with a 2x4 kit of 1600mhz ripjaws v. And I'll be testing it in a Z77 board, if it fails there then I'm returning it to the seller and get another one. An older bios version didn't change anything with the 2500k, still failed to post.

And yes I'm really happy the board works because it's in pristine condition and looks so nice, I would have not liked having to gamble with another one. Thanks for the help!

TheRacker is offline  
post #23 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 10:59 PM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 0
Sounds like possibly faulty CPU, you'll know for sure once you test it in another board.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off