ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z not detecting 3 GPUS!! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z not detecting 3 GPUS!!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
grsmobile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 234
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z not detecting 3 GPUS!!

Hi,

Based on the manual for this board, 3 GPUs only work if you use slot1, slot 2 and slot 4 (2 and 4 use NF200 Nvidia chip). Currently I had a 1080 Ti in slot 1 and 2 RX 480s in slot 2 and 4 and all slot physical switches are in the on position on the motherboard. The power supply is a thermaltake 80+ Gold 850W unit, CPU is i7 2700k. However, the GPU DIMM Post screen in bios only detects the 1080 Ti in slot 1 and not the other cards. In windows, 2 cards are detected but one of the RX 480s has an error in windows and no drivers can be installed. Swapped out the 1080 Ti with another RX 480 for a total of 3 RX 480s in slot 1, 2 and 4. Again same problem!! I also tried plugging 1 molex power in the board, no luck. The board is supposed to support 3 gpus simultaneously. So far only 2 GPUs work together in slot 1 and 3. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

grsmobile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
grsmobile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 234
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Anyone??

grsmobile is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 08:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 87
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I've not had luck on my old 1366 board with the RX series cards (580 oem or 590) they don't boot with it so I just used nvidia ones instead. Perhaps they just don't like PCIE 2.0.

Kanna
(13 items)
Dark X299
(7 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i9-9900X
Motherboard
EVGA X299 Dark
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 4x8GB C14 3200MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Pro 840 250 GB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G3 1300
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 06:33 PM
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,405
Rep: 191 (Unique: 171)
Quote: Originally Posted by grsmobile View Post
Hi,

Based on the manual for this board, 3 GPUs only work if you use slot1, slot 2 and slot 4 (2 and 4 use NF200 Nvidia chip). Currently I had a 1080 Ti in slot 1 and 2 RX 480s in slot 2 and 4 and all slot physical switches are in the on position on the motherboard. The power supply is a thermaltake 80+ Gold 850W unit, CPU is i7 2700k. However, the GPU DIMM Post screen in bios only detects the 1080 Ti in slot 1 and not the other cards. In windows, 2 cards are detected but one of the RX 480s has an error in windows and no drivers can be installed. Swapped out the 1080 Ti with another RX 480 for a total of 3 RX 480s in slot 1, 2 and 4. Again same problem!! I also tried plugging 1 molex power in the board, no luck. The board is supposed to support 3 gpus simultaneously. So far only 2 GPUs work together in slot 1 and 3. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I had many of issues with 5 of those boards when i still had my shop when they came out. I would try another board if you can. Between them and a MVG it caused me to not carry Asus anymore. It could be the NF200 not liking the card so if you have another card laying around pop it in and see if it shows up with the other 2.
Moparman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off