GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 Inconsistant Booting - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 Inconsistant Booting

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2020, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 Inconsistant Booting

Hello

New to OC, so I hope this is an OK place to put this so here we go!

Over Christmas my Brother in Law gave me his old gaming computer. He was having trouble with it, and being a single guy with a good job and no kids he just went out an bought a new rig.

It is an i7 4970k, Gigabyte GA-z97X-Gaming 3, 16gig ram, GTX 1050Ti, Cooler Master AIO, 120gb ssd, 2tb 7200rpm HD, all in a huge Cooler Master case with 2 of the biggest fans I have ever seen in a computer case!!! Oh and it has a GreenMe 750w power supply and Lg Blue Ray/DVD R. He said he thought it was his hard drive or power supply but it kept blue screening and then wouldn't start up properly.

I am in the process of trying to put a better computer together for my kids to use so I took it home cleaned it out and started trying to troubleshoot it.

Long story short it seems to be coming down to the motherboard. Sometimes it will start up just fine, and others it will try a few times and fail. At first I thought it was the fan controller that was the problem so I pulled all of the fans off but even without fans it is still having the same problem. I have inspected the board and cant find any sign of visual problems. All pins look good etc.

If and when it gets to post it runs fine and I cant seem to find any issues, but I have not really stress tested it fully. However it has not had the issues with blue screen like my brother in law was having but I think the AIO pump burnt out due to the fan issues on the mobo and that is why he was experiencing that. I replaced the AIO with a different cooler.

Any suggestions?
Aflood777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2020, 04:05 PM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,704
Rep: 611 (Unique: 504)
Disconnect everything (better if you remove mobo from case and place on a box) and try to boot with one stick of RAM (and then another in a different slot if it does not work on the first go) while using the iGPU into Bios. Move from there until you hit an issue.

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Fast n' Cheap
(17 items)
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS
GPU
MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3600 16-19-19-39 CL 16 1.35V
Hard Drive
Corsair Force Series Gen.4 PCIe MP600 500GB NVMe M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate BarraCuda ST3000DM008 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
Optical Drive
LG 16X SATA Blu-Ray Internal Rewriter with 3D Playback and M-DISC Support BH16NS40
Power Supply
Fractal Design Ion+ 860P 80 PLUS Platinum Certified 860W Full Modular
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Veddha GriderCase alpha V1
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" IPS Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Keyboard
Redragon K589 SHRAPNEL RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
Other
PulseLabz Challenger Gaming Chair
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ Core 1160MHz & Memory 1350MHz
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair H60 Push/Pull
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech MX518
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha HTR-5830 Polk Audio 3.0
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990 @ Clock 900MHz & Memory 1100MHz
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz @ 1866MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD CT128M4SSD3 128GB mSATA SATA III 6GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
▲ hide details ▲


Gunderman456 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2020, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Thanks for the reply!


That is basically what I have done so far.


Pulled from case, removed everything from board down to CPU, Cooler, 1 2gb stick of 10600u, No HD => Booted into Bios, no problem!


Added HD=> Booted Windows 10, no problem!


Ran for a few hours at baseline and as far as I can tell temps and voltages fine.


Added 2nd stick of Same Ram=> Booted Windows 10, no problem!


Ran all day while at work at baseline, no problem from what I can tell.


Swapped out Ram for 2 8gb sticks of 12800(the ram that was in when I got it and plan to use)=>clicked and flashed on and off a few times and finally booted to windows 10


Didn't want to let it run very long after that and was pissed because it was having zero problem before ram swap so I shut it down.


After that I tried some G skills Rip-jaws 2gb sticks I have=> still clicks and flashes shudders 2, 3, 4 times before I cut power....


Went back to initial 2gb stick I started with that worked fine=> same problem!!!!


At this point I can only assume the board is bad internally somewhere in the traces and the act of pulling the Ram is flexing the board enough to make it work sometimes and not others...


Now I do have it mounted to one of those removable trays that some of the old cases have so I guess I could try completely removing anything conductive and setting it on cardboard, but I really doubt that my issue could be coming from that....


I guess it does not hurt to try.


If that does not do the trick, any other suggestions?


Is it possible that the board does not like the clock speed on some of the Ram and somehow gets itself stuck even when the ram is switched back to what worked before?
Aflood777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2020, 06:46 PM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,704
Rep: 611 (Unique: 504)
Clear CMOs and see if the old RAM will work again. Check that the mobo supports the RAM you want to use. Also go into Bios and use XMP and if that does not work, manually enter speed, timings and volt.

It may be that the mobo is on its way out most likely around the DIMM slots.

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Fast n' Cheap
(17 items)
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS
GPU
MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3600 16-19-19-39 CL 16 1.35V
Hard Drive
Corsair Force Series Gen.4 PCIe MP600 500GB NVMe M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate BarraCuda ST3000DM008 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
Optical Drive
LG 16X SATA Blu-Ray Internal Rewriter with 3D Playback and M-DISC Support BH16NS40
Power Supply
Fractal Design Ion+ 860P 80 PLUS Platinum Certified 860W Full Modular
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Veddha GriderCase alpha V1
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" IPS Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Keyboard
Redragon K589 SHRAPNEL RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
Other
PulseLabz Challenger Gaming Chair
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ Core 1160MHz & Memory 1350MHz
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair H60 Push/Pull
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech MX518
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha HTR-5830 Polk Audio 3.0
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990 @ Clock 900MHz & Memory 1100MHz
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz @ 1866MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD CT128M4SSD3 128GB mSATA SATA III 6GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
▲ hide details ▲


Gunderman456 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-25-2020, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Hello again All! Its been a few weeks since I first started this thread but despite trying a bunch of different stuff and buying various used parts I am still running into the same issue!!!



However, through substitution of known working components I think I have traced the issue back to the hardware component that is at the core of the problem, but I am still not 100% sure that there is not some other very obscure specific quirky reason that I am having the results that I am. Unfortunately, contrary to my initial diagnosis and that of almost every one I talked to about the issue it is NOT the motherboard, but the CPU that is causing the boot loop/power cycle/inability to post.


Let me take a step back to hopefully make things a little clearer for anyone reading this. So up to the point of my last post I had done everything that had been suggested on top of all of the stuff I had included in my breakdown of problem. I had exhausted basically every diagnostic test I could with what I had on hand. Seeing as, every once in a while, I was able to post and even boot to windows 10 perfectly and then run for many hours with no sign of any problems I, and every thing I read, suggested that it was not the CPU but the Motherboard that was faulty. After some deliberation, and searching locally for a motherboard to support the 4790k, I finally gave in and ordered a used board(exact same board) off of ebay. Thinking that my problem would be solved, I cleaned up my bench, set everything to the side and waited for the board to arrive.


Few days later the board shows up, in its original box, clean and complete. I sit down start setting everything up and just as I am cleaning the old thermal paste off the CPU I get a sinking feeling in my gut...


'What if its not the MOBO, but its this damn chip???...No, CPU's have protections built in to shut down when in trouble and btw you were able to get it to boot and run with ZERO problems for hours...couldnt be the CPU...could it...???'


Sure enough, stick the cpu in, push the power button and..... Nothing!!!! Same power cycle attempt for the board to get going with no success!!! After double and triple checking everything I walk away discouraged... ***!!!! So it was the CPU all along!!!


After a day or two of sulking I realize that I have to, for my own since of pride and curiosity get to the bottom of this problem. As a stroke of luck that day someone listed an I3 4130 with cooler on Craigslist. It was right in my town(I live in a small town and there are like 10 repeating posts for crap in the computer parts section of Craigslist) and the price was actually very reasonable!


Long story short...LOL...I stick it in, push the power button and BOOM....Windows 10!!!! No problem, nothing wrong! I to the desktop in a matter of seconds!!!


So, not back to trying to figure this out...


How is it possible for a fried CPU to boot up and run fine for hours on end, and then a few minutes later refuse to even POST????


Is there a possibility that there are some settings in the bios that are extremely unstable with this particular chip(4790k) and that instability is causing the unwillingness to boot sometimes, while booting fine other times?


If the cpu was bad or fried wouldn't I have seen something in the test data I pulled while it was running for hours and hours?


I do not know much about analyzing the data output from HWMonitor so I am including the text files from both CPUs.


Any further help would be much appreciated!!!


Thanks Again!!!!
Attached Files
File Type: txt HWMonitor i7 4790k.txt (70.7 KB, 3 views)
File Type: txt HWMonitor i3 4130.txt (59.0 KB, 2 views)
Aflood777 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off