ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XII EXTREME (Z490) Discussion & Owners Thread - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XII EXTREME (Z490) Discussion & Owners Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 08:20 AM
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,346
Rep: 440 (Unique: 306)
Quote: Originally Posted by Baasha View Post
So the 10900K is not in stock anywhere except fleabay. Was about to bite the bullet and pay $800 for it (ugh) when I go to Newegg and see that this board (Maximus XII Extreme) is also out of stock. Talk about a sign!

At this rate, I don't think I'll ever be building a new rig.

I just looked at my order history on Amazon and realized that my current X99 system with the 6950X was from Nov. 2014 (RVE mobo) and June 2016 (CPU)!! The only thing I've been upgrading every year are the GPUs and monitors.

Been trying to get the 10980Xe since Dec. 2019 and that's not in stock anywhere either.
Keep in mind you can get a 10700k instead and just go for high memory overclocking too.


[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 08:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,103
Rep: 128 (Unique: 96)
Quote: Originally Posted by bastian View Post
The mobos are regularly coming back into stock. The 10900k is more rare. Its all supply and demand. Just have to keep checking multiple times a day and get lucky!
Yup, keeping an eye on things so I hope to snag both the CPU and mobo soon.

Regarding this mobo, it says "Quad M.2" slots - 2 under the chipset cooler and the DIMM.2 'riser' card that can take 2 M.2 drives - all of this sounds awesome, but if we use 2x GPUs, how many lanes will we have for M.2 SSDs? The 10900K seems to have only 16 PCI-E lanes? Hmm.. may be this platform is not made for two GPUs? Can I at least use 1 M.2 SSD and 2x GPUs in SLI?
Baasha is offline  
post #43 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bastian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 494
Rep: 25 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by Baasha View Post
Yup, keeping an eye on things so I hope to snag both the CPU and mobo soon.

Regarding this mobo, it says "Quad M.2" slots - 2 under the chipset cooler and the DIMM.2 'riser' card that can take 2 M.2 drives - all of this sounds awesome, but if we use 2x GPUs, how many lanes will we have for M.2 SSDs? The 10900K seems to have only 16 PCI-E lanes? Hmm.. may be this platform is not made for two GPUs? Can I at least use 1 M.2 SSD and 2x GPUs in SLI?
The two M.2 slots under the chipset cooler do not use bandwidth from the full PCIE slots you would use for graphics. Only use the DIMM.2 if you require 3 or more M.2 drives.

bastian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 11:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,103
Rep: 128 (Unique: 96)
Quote: Originally Posted by bastian View Post
The two M.2 slots under the chipset cooler do not use bandwidth from the full PCIE slots you would use for graphics. Only use the DIMM.2 if you require 3 or more M.2 drives.
Oh that's great to know. so I can still use 2x M.2 SSDs and have both GPUs (although at x8 each).

btw, where do we find such info on how the lanes are split/used on a mobo? I'm assuming each mobo is different?
Baasha is offline  
post #45 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bastian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 494
Rep: 25 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by Baasha View Post
Oh that's great to know. so I can still use 2x M.2 SSDs and have both GPUs (although at x8 each).

btw, where do we find such info on how the lanes are split/used on a mobo? I'm assuming each mobo is different?
The good old manual: https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V3_WEB.pdf


bastian is offline  
post #46 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 04:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,103
Rep: 128 (Unique: 96)
Quote: Originally Posted by bastian View Post
doh! thanks for the link!
Baasha is offline  
post #47 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tiefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 84
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Ordered my M12 Extreme and 10900k ! Should get it next friday! What would be the chances of it being able to run 2 of those kits F4-4000C19D-32GTZR @ 4000mhz ?

tiefox is offline  
post #48 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:27 AM
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,346
Rep: 440 (Unique: 306)
Quote: Originally Posted by tiefox View Post
Ordered my M12 Extreme and 10900k ! Should get it next friday! What would be the chances of it being able to run 2 of those kits F4-4000C19D-32GTZR @ 4000mhz ?
Two dual rank stick kits in 4x16 GB in all four slots at 4000? Should work, considering my 2x16 GB 3200 mhz gskills booted up just fine at 3600 with 1T, when 1T wouldn't even POST at 3466 on Z390...
I'd say your chances are good.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #49 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:33 AM
 
 
MrTOOSHORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location:  Edmonton
Posts: 12,797
Rep: 1515 (Unique: 1050)
Quote: Originally Posted by tiefox View Post
Ordered my M12 Extreme and 10900k ! Should get it next friday! What would be the chances of it being able to run 2 of those kits F4-4000C19D-32GTZR @ 4000mhz ?

I have the same sticks(2x16gb) on an Apex X and 9900k. Couldn't get them to 4000MHz, I think I got them to 3733Mhz CL17. 4x16gb will be tough I think.

9980XE  •  APEX VI  •  3600CL16  •  KPE 2080TI HC  • 34GK950F-B • 905P AIC • 1600T2  •  800D


MrTOOSHORT is offline  
post #50 of 61 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tiefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 84
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Two dual rank stick kits in 4x16 GB in all four slots at 4000?.
Yep!

Awesome, I will try it out and report back once I receive everything.

tiefox is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off