ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XII EXTREME (Z490) Discussion & Owners Thread - Page 6 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XII EXTREME (Z490) Discussion & Owners Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tiefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 85
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by MrTOOSHORT View Post
I have the same sticks(2x16gb) on an Apex X and 9900k. Couldn't get them to 4000MHz, I think I got them to 3733Mhz CL17. 4x16gb will be tough I think.
Is that a z390 or z370 apex ? I have a z370 apex that im replacing with the m12 extreme.

I havent tried the sticks on it ( have a 8700k )

But my previous sticks ( 2x8gb 4266 ) only achived the stated timings after a few bios updates.

tiefox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:42 AM
 
 
MrTOOSHORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location:  Edmonton
Posts: 12,798
Rep: 1515 (Unique: 1050)
Quote: Originally Posted by tiefox View Post
Is that a z390 or z370 apex ? I have a z370 apex that im replacing with the m12 extreme.

I havent tried the sticks on it ( have a 8700k )

But my previous sticks ( 2x8gb 4266 ) only achived the stated timings after a few bios updates.

Apex X(z370) Nice sticks of ram, can't complain even though I didn't get 4000MHz. I'm going to use 4x8GB on my M12E and see how far I get. I have 3600CL15(D-Die) and 3600CL16(B-Die). Will use what works best.

9980XE  •  APEX VI  •  3600CL16  •  KPE 2080TI HC  • 34GK950F-B • 905P AIC • 1600T2  •  800D


MrTOOSHORT is offline  
post #53 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 12:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tiefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 85
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I plan to sli 1080tis until September and new nvidia card is out, justo got a used 1080ti on the cheap, it seems from the m12 extreme manual that it does not include a sli bridge, does anyone knows for certain which one is needed ? From the pics, it might be that I can reuse the one from the m10 apex.

tiefox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 02:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
GAN77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 253
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by tiefox View Post
Ordered my M12 Extreme and 10900k ! Should get it next friday! What would be the chances of it being able to run 2 of those kits F4-4000C19D-32GTZR @ 4000mhz ?
Maybe. But it will be very difficult.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/28460756-post60.html
GAN77 is offline  
post #55 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bastian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 496
Rep: 25 (Unique: 16)
Finally got my 10900k and Extreme built today. I forgot how detailed ASUS BIOS is. Now time to tweak.

bastian is offline  
post #56 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 06:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 392
Rep: 15 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by tiefox View Post
I plan to sli 1080tis until September and new nvidia card is out, justo got a used 1080ti on the cheap, it seems from the m12 extreme manual that it does not include a sli bridge, does anyone knows for certain which one is needed ? From the pics, it might be that I can reuse the one from the m10 apex.
No it uses 3 slot spacing vs 4 slot on the IX/X apex boards.

Kanna
(13 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is online now  
post #57 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 06:53 PM
Retired Staff
 
phospholipid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 6,540
Rep: 400 (Unique: 292)
any minute now my 10900k will ship any minute...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pc.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	1.61 MB
ID:	348696  



Wibbly Wobbly, Timey Wimey.
CPU
i9-9900k
Motherboard
Asus Maxmimus Code XI
GPU
ASUS 2080 RTX Ti FE
RAM
G.Skill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo PRO
Cooling
NZXT x62
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
▲ hide details ▲


phospholipid is online now  
post #58 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 11:08 PM
Foxtrot Uniform
 
Feklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sector 001
Posts: 98
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Both my MXIIE and 10900k shipped last week from the egg. Still haven't received them despite I live 30 miles away. UPS is so backlogged around here everything takes a week a least no matter what shipping method is selected. Patience, I wish I could buy some that as well.

Feklar is offline  
post #59 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 02:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tiefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 85
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by D-EJ915 View Post
No it uses 3 slot spacing vs 4 slot on the IX/X apex boards.
Dang it.... cant find one of those for sale in the EU anywhere

tiefox is offline  
post #60 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bastian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 496
Rep: 25 (Unique: 16)
Forgive me, but I haven't used ASUS BIOS in a while. With the Extreme where do I go to do per-core overclocking?

BTW: new owners, the manual is WRONG on which header is the CPU. It is the left one closest to socket NOT the right one. The right one is the CPU Optional.
Also, FYI the water headers do not allow Q-Fan control, so only use Chassis, Radiator ones.

bastian is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off