Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Thread - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-02-2007, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
SgtSpike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 7,748
Rep: 236 (Unique: 195)
THE OFFICIAL GA-P35-DS3L OVERCLOCK.NET THREAD



Click here for Gigabyte's website for this motherboard to view specifications, download BIOS updates and drivers, etc.


IMPORTANT BIOS FEATURES FOR OVERCLOCKING

Advanced BIOS Features
  • CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E): Enables or disables Intel's power-saving function; when enabled, the CPU core frequency and voltage are throttled down to conserve power during system halt state.
  • CPU Thermal Monitor (TM2): Enables or disables Intel's overheat protection function; when enabled, the CPU core frequency and voltage are throttled down when the CPU overheats.
  • CPU EIST Function (SpeedStep): Enables or disables Intel's power-saving function; when enabled, the CPU core frequency and voltage are throttled down to conserve power dynamically during usage.
  • Virtualization Technology: Enables or disables Intel's Virtualization technology which allows a platform to run multiple operating systems and applications in independent partitions.
PC Health Status
  • CPU Smart FAN Control: Enable or disable the motherboard's control over the processor fan. Disabling this feature will force the CPU fan to operating at 100% duty cycle.
  • CPU Smart FAN Mode: Auto allows BIOS to detect optimal fan control mode. Voltage sets the Voltage mode for a 3-pin CPU fan. PWM Sets PWM mode for a 4-pin CPU fan.
MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)
  • CPU Clock Ratio: Allows you to alter the clock ratio for the installed CPU.
  • CPU Host Clock Control: Enables or disables the control of CPU host clock. Enabled will allow the CPU Host Frequency
  • item below to be configurable.
  • CPU Host Frequency (Mhz): Allows you to manually set the CPU host frequency.
  • PCI Express Frequency(Mhz): Allows you to manually set the PCIe clock frequency.
  • System Memory Multiplier: Allows you to set the system memory multiplier.
  • System Voltage Control: Determines whether to manually set the system voltages.
  • DDR2 OverVoltage Control: Allows you to set the memory voltage.
  • PCI-E OverVoltage Control: Allows you to set the PCIe bus voltage.
  • FSB OverVoltage Control: Allows you to set the Front Side Bus voltage.
  • (G)MCH OverVoltage Control: Allows you to set the North Bridge voltage.
  • CPU Voltage Control: Allows you to set the CPU voltage.


CAUTION!

Incorrectly doing overclock/overvoltage may result in damage to CPU, chipset, or memory and reduce the useful life of these components. This page is for advanced users only and we recommend you not to alter the default settings to prevent system instability or other unexpected results. (Inadequately altering the settings may result in system's failure to boot. If this occurs, clear the CMOS values and reset the board to default values.)



OVERCLOCKING TIPS

First and foremost, it is recommended that you check out the Ultimate Overclock.net Guide Compilation before starting to overclock. Many people read through the forum, see someone else with their chip, and just jump into high settings and then have to ask why it isn't working. If you read through those guides and these tips, you shouldn't need to ask many questions to get it working properly.

Here's a few tips to get you started overclocking:
  • Lock your PCIe bus at 100mhz (It says it does this when it is set to 'Auto' but it's better safe then sorry.)
  • Set your memory multiplier to 2.00. (It's there, trust me, partway down the list).
  • Disable your Smart Fan Control in order to run your processor fan at 100% duty cycle at all times.
  • Disable Intel's Speedstep so that you can see what your processor runs at max.
  • Change all the 'performance enhance' and 'vga booster' functions to their standard/disabled/auto settings.
  • Always set your voltages manually so that you're sure whats happening with them.



FAQS

- Help! My computer won't boot after I tried to modify settings in BIOS!

You're going to have to reset CMOS by hand. There are two methods of doing this: Remove the CMOS battery located on the motherboard and replace it after 1 minute, and jumping two pins on the motherboard that act as a reset switch when using a jumper.

- Help! My BIOS allows me to change settings but they don't stick once I've gotten to the operating system!

Unfortunately this is a frequent problem that seems to occur for several different reasons. The most reliable fix is to remove the CMOS battery as shown above after restoring the default settings in the BIOS. Some have also found that USB storage devices cause problems with booting, so try removing any USB storage devices attached.

- My computer seems to POST fine but it crashes when its loading the operating system.

Most likely you're not giving the processor enough voltage for the overclock you're trying to produce.

- How do I unlock the ability to modify Memory Timings?

Press CTRL-F1 at the main BIOS screen in order to unlock these settings in the Motherboard Intelligence Tweaker menu.

- How far can I push my 'xxxx' chip?

All chips are capable of performing differently. Many of the chips produced by manufacturers are actually from the same batch; they are sold with different model numbers in accordance to their most stable rating. With this in mind, you need to test yours yourself to see how far you can really push it.

- Should I flash my BIOS?

If you aren't having trouble with your BIOS for any reason, it's not recommended to flash it. Losing power while flashing your BIOS could potentially brick your motherboard.

- I set my clock and multiplier for xx settings and it occasionally runs much slower until I load a program.

Intel Speedstep is throttling your processor. Check the BIOS section above for more information (including how to disable it).

- Is there any fix for the large vdroop/vdrop on this board?

Yes, but it is a hardware volt mod and could void your warranty. Check out the link below for details on how to proceed. Note: The mod is for Rev 2.0 (Thanks to Rpg2 for this info!)
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=558347


SPECIAL THANKS to NP2H for putting this post together!
SgtSpike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-02-2007, 07:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
linskingdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In Office
Posts: 14,249
Rep: 3468 (Unique: 1499)
I think I can keep it for few more month so count me in.
Linskingdom [email protected], 425FSB, stock volts except vcore 1.37
linskingdom is offline  
post #3 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 04:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Medina, OH
Posts: 536
Rep: 30 (Unique: 24)
I haven't really pushed mine yet in my son's rig due to inadequate cpu cooling, but once I get a better cpu cooler I'll see what it can do. It is a wonderful board so far, well laid out, no issues at all so far either.

Slovak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 09:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Connor3400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 251
Rep: 36 (Unique: 30)
I'm thinking about getting this board, along with G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 ram, C2D e6750, and pop in my old 7600gt all in the Antec 900 case. Would those be alright?

Would you recommend this over most of the other LGA775 boards for building on a budget?

Thanks!!
Connor3400 is offline  
post #5 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
SgtSpike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 7,748
Rep: 236 (Unique: 195)
I would personally recommend it over any other budget board, but I've also heard that the blood iron or IP35's offer some good OCing as well. IMO, this is definitely THE BOARD to have.

And that'd be a good combo of hardware, but you're first upgrade from it would be a new video card.
SgtSpike is offline  
post #6 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-04-2007, 07:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Connor3400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 251
Rep: 36 (Unique: 30)
Haha, yeah the video card doesn't really seem like an upgrade lol.

I had to choose between getting the Antec 900 case and a budget card, or getting something from the 8800 series. I chose to get the case so that I can basically give my old computer to my brother and I can later buy that 8800 video card and give him the 7600gt.
Connor3400 is offline  
post #7 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-04-2007, 01:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BadappleOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 142
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
xeon 3060 @3.0, 333 fsb (okay, 2.999), Vcore @1.4. I haven't really played around too much with it.
I do have a question though. How do I change the rated fsb multi from 4 to say, 3. I'm not seeing and option in my bios (I did the ctrl+F1 to reveal more ram options).

Quote:
I'm an engineer from China,first my English is very poor,so i think you may read this message feel pained.
BadappleOC is offline  
post #8 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-04-2007, 01:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sepheroth003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Des Moines IA
Posts: 4,103
Rep: 151 (Unique: 127)
Sepheroth003 [email protected], 330FSB, 1.35vcore

It goes stable up to 3.6 but its way too hot for my crappy cooler/thermal paste combination... Im really considering water
sepheroth003 is offline  
post #9 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-04-2007, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
SgtSpike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 7,748
Rep: 236 (Unique: 195)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadappleOC View Post
xeon 3060 @3.0, 333 fsb (okay, 2.999), Vcore @1.4. I haven't really played around too much with it.
I do have a question though. How do I change the rated fsb multi from 4 to say, 3. I'm not seeing and option in my bios (I did the ctrl+F1 to reveal more ram options).
Not 100% positive on this, but I believe you can't change the FSB multi for Intel mobos. I think that's an AMD-only thing. What was the reason you wanted to do that?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sepheroth003 View Post
Sepheroth003 [email protected], 330FSB, 1.35vcore

It goes stable up to 3.6 but its way too hot for my crappy cooler/thermal paste combination... Im really considering water
Yeah, water would be nice... I'm in the same spot as you, limited by heat. I'm bordering 60c under full load, and I really don't want to fry my chip, so that's as high as I go for now.
SgtSpike is offline  
post #10 of 4644 (permalink) Old 11-04-2007, 03:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,252
Rep: 74 (Unique: 65)
Lelin [email protected], 333FSB, 1.35vcore. Will soon receive my Shin Etsu and change my HS from Big Typhoon to Ultra Extreme 120.

Lelin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off