Do you have SP2 installed with a Prescott Chip? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Do you have SP2 installed with a Prescott Chip?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,734
Rep: 484 (Unique: 264)
If anyone is running on a Prescott processor and has SP2 installed on your computer, please respond with you motherboard information so that I can find a mobo with a BIOS that is compatible with SP2 and the Precott Core.
Lostnhell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 08:42 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 2,896
Rep: 472 (Unique: 266)
IC7. BIOS 19 or 26 both work fine.

Intel Overclocking Guide
RAM 101 (Intel systems in particular)

All statements, posts, recommendations, etc. are my 2cents.gif. Sometimes they're worth a nickel, sometimes they're worth a penny, but I always do my best to at least ensure that my opinions are educated ones. smile.gif
NoAffinity is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 08:57 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,734
Rep: 484 (Unique: 264)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoAffinity
IC7. BIOS 19 or 26 both work fine.
I am on the ABIT IS7, in which it crashes when installing XP SP2 because the BOIS in incompatible, just to make sure you have installed SP2 right?
Lostnhell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 09:46 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 2,896
Rep: 472 (Unique: 266)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfillpot
I am on the ABIT IS7, in which it crashes when installing XP SP2 because the BOIS in incompatible, just to make sure you have installed SP2 right?
Yep. Completely up-to-date, as of two weeks ago.

Intel Overclocking Guide
RAM 101 (Intel systems in particular)

All statements, posts, recommendations, etc. are my 2cents.gif. Sometimes they're worth a nickel, sometimes they're worth a penny, but I always do my best to at least ensure that my opinions are educated ones. smile.gif
NoAffinity is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,734
Rep: 484 (Unique: 264)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoAffinity
Yep. Completely up-to-date, as of two weeks ago.
Next question:
because my computer crashed on the IS7 mobo because of BOIS incompatibility would my HDD with XP SP2 work immediately with the IC7 default BIOS?
Lostnhell is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 10:42 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 2,896
Rep: 472 (Unique: 266)
It's hard to say. If SP2 changed anything with APCI and ACIP, then there may be compatibility issues. It may require a re-format.

Intel Overclocking Guide
RAM 101 (Intel systems in particular)

All statements, posts, recommendations, etc. are my 2cents.gif. Sometimes they're worth a nickel, sometimes they're worth a penny, but I always do my best to at least ensure that my opinions are educated ones. smile.gif
NoAffinity is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 10:56 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,734
Rep: 484 (Unique: 264)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoAffinity
It's hard to say. If SP2 changed anything with APCI and ACIP, then there may be compatibility issues. It may require a re-format.
this is the second time that I have had to fight with this issue, so now I am resorting to a new mobo, thank you for the information and your help.

I will repost if I come across any issues.
Lostnhell is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 11:03 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 2,896
Rep: 472 (Unique: 266)
yeah, let us know how it goes.

Intel Overclocking Guide
RAM 101 (Intel systems in particular)

All statements, posts, recommendations, etc. are my 2cents.gif. Sometimes they're worth a nickel, sometimes they're worth a penny, but I always do my best to at least ensure that my opinions are educated ones. smile.gif
NoAffinity is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 11:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,000
Rep: 461 (Unique: 275)
Don't install SP2... nothing but trouble

EDIT: If you can dont install windows too


blob is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,734
Rep: 484 (Unique: 264)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blob
Don't install SP2... nothing but trouble

EDIT: If you can dont install windows too
SP2 killd 2 mobos for me, my current priority is to get back into my system and uninstall SP2.
Lostnhell is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off