issues with prime95 and 4ghz - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

issues with prime95 and 4ghz

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dillusional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
this is my first go round with one of asus republic of gamers boards i know it can take what im trying to do and my chip can as well so i know its something im doing wrong here are the specks of the system.

asus rampage formula
q9650 @3.8ghz right now not prime stable
vigor gaming monsoon 3 (with 2x 120mm 122cfm delta fans)
8gb ocz platinum pc8500 ddr2
his 4870 in crossfire
1000watt ultra x3
thermaltake spedo advance with upgraded fans(cooling not an issue)

right now i am at 450mhz fsb with 8.5 multi and my volts are in the 1.285 range, everything else memory mhz and timings northbridge everything is on auto and im sure thats where im going wrong.but im not sure about that it could be something else completly different. if anyone has any ideas to get to 4.0 or higher let me know, i know my machine can do it im just being dumb about it or something. thanks in advance
LL

thermaltake spedo advance, modded
asus rampage formula
[email protected]
vigor gaming mansoon 3
6gb ocz platinum ddr2 pc8500
2xseagate500gb hdd 32mb cache
2x his radeon hd 4870 ice q4turbo 1gb
1000watt ultra x3 psu

dillusional is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 02:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mothergoose729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 5,684
Rep: 340 (Unique: 283)
You will need to go to at least 1.32 volts to get a quad to 4.0ghz, unless it is really a magical chip. It is an E0 stepping, so 4.0ghz should be a walk in the park, 4.2ghz max is average, and you might be able to get as high as 4.4ghz on air.

Up the volts and to 1.35 and try testing at different clock speeds, use the max multi. When you find a speed that can do a few hours of prime95 at those voltages, then start tweaking a little bit. Give the CPU a few more hundreds of a volt, up the north bridge a tad and try that out, give a little vtt or CPU PLL, ect. I push for 8-9.5 hours prime95 stable but everybody has their own standards, two hours is probably the minimum for good gaming stability.
mothergoose729 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dillusional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
thanks man so far what i have done is i am at 4.2ghz vcore is at 1.39 memory mhz is stock but timings are loose 6-6-6-16 from 5-5-5-15. northbridge is at auto cause im not sure where to start. i dont wanna start to high and cook it do you or anyone else know what stock volts on this northbridge are so i know where to go from there.yes i am at 4.2ghz but it will die as soon as i hit the test button in prime.

thermaltake spedo advance, modded
asus rampage formula
[email protected]
vigor gaming mansoon 3
6gb ocz platinum ddr2 pc8500
2xseagate500gb hdd 32mb cache
2x his radeon hd 4870 ice q4turbo 1gb
1000watt ultra x3 psu

dillusional is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 03:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chevymeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Windsor, Ontario.
Posts: 2,260
Rep: 80 (Unique: 75)
I find manually adjusting my GTL ref voltages made me able to overclock higher without having such a high vcore. For the cpu one I heard x67 is the best for a quad, you can try it.. if not see if x65 makes you fail faster.. if not keep it at x67. Do the same for your nb, pick one.. and move around and see what helps.
chevymeister is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dillusional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
i got some volts for you i just tried prime and its a no go bsod before prime can throw an error.
cpu pll is 1.68
fsb term is 1.44
dram-2.096
nb-1.68
sb-1.088
dram controller-3.264
all but cpu pll and nb are stock
cpu pll and nb are in the yellow my mobo says they are getting close to being to high

thermaltake spedo advance, modded
asus rampage formula
[email protected]
vigor gaming mansoon 3
6gb ocz platinum ddr2 pc8500
2xseagate500gb hdd 32mb cache
2x his radeon hd 4870 ice q4turbo 1gb
1000watt ultra x3 psu

dillusional is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 03:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mothergoose729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 5,684
Rep: 340 (Unique: 283)
Don't worry, they always say that. Set the v core to 1.35 and the CPU PLL to 1.25 to start. At 450mhz FSB you should try giving the FSB termination .1v and the northbridge .1 volts to. You can experiment later and bring them back down if you don't need to. You need to get setttings that will run prime95 for a few hours, and that start tweaking. If it fails immediately you need to add a lot more voltage or you need to bring down the clock speed.
mothergoose729 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dillusional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
nice thanks man ill give that a shot

also i have an experiment i have been wanting to try.
i also have a gigabyte ep45-ud39 that i wanna put up against this asus rampage board with same cpu and same cooling exact same setup just different board and see wich one goes higher.

thermaltake spedo advance, modded
asus rampage formula
[email protected]
vigor gaming mansoon 3
6gb ocz platinum ddr2 pc8500
2xseagate500gb hdd 32mb cache
2x his radeon hd 4870 ice q4turbo 1gb
1000watt ultra x3 psu

dillusional is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 04:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mothergoose729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 5,684
Rep: 340 (Unique: 283)
The UD3P is a better board, although you can try it yourself.
mothergoose729 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dillusional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mothergoose729 View Post
The UD3P is a better board, although you can try it yourself.
i think it is as well although im not a big fan of the bios on it. im not real sure what it is but they seem so foreign or something.

thermaltake spedo advance, modded
asus rampage formula
[email protected]
vigor gaming mansoon 3
6gb ocz platinum ddr2 pc8500
2xseagate500gb hdd 32mb cache
2x his radeon hd 4870 ice q4turbo 1gb
1000watt ultra x3 psu

dillusional is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 05:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chevymeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Windsor, Ontario.
Posts: 2,260
Rep: 80 (Unique: 75)
Holy overvolting batman. Try putting your fsb term to 1.3 and your pll to 1.58 (check your actual voltages, on my board I set it to 1.5 but it goes to 1.58 since the board naturally overvolts it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dillusional View Post
i think it is as well although im not a big fan of the bios on it. im not real sure what it is but they seem so foreign or something.
Glad to see I can agree with someone. This board has the most user friendly bios imo.
chevymeister is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off