Setting up and voltage terms for EP45-UD3* - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Setting up and voltage terms for EP45-UD3*

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
335is
 
NoGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland Co, MI
Posts: 10,920
Rep: 769 (Unique: 312)
Well this is just a page you get you started on the Gigabyte EP45-UD3*.


I will be adding to it as needed.

Also this is the main EP45 thread for overclocking or if you need questions asked. EP45-UD3* thread

So here is the basics.
MOTHERBOARD VOLTAGE CONTROL


Load-Line Calibration: Disabled you will have significant vdroop/drop in vcore. Enabled will decrease vdroop/drop. This will always be scrutinized if it's safe or not. I use it up to 1.45
http://www.overclockers.com/load-line-calibration/

CPU Vcore: Voltage applied to CPU at various speeds to achieve stability.

CPU Termination: aka FSB voltage, keeps your system stable at higher FSB speeds. Higher FSB=higher FSB term
Quote:
Originally Posted by CL3P20 View Post
yeah... my 'rule of thumb' for FSB is as follows

65nm = 1.3v for 333 and +.1 for every 75-100 FSB more
ie- 450FSB = ~1.4-1.45v FSB

45nm = 1.2v for 333 and +.1 for every 75-100 FSB more
This is not a rule, but a general guideline.

CPU PLL: This helps you boot into your operating system at higher bus speeds. Typically runs between 1.50 and 1.62

CPU Reference: aka CPU GTL Ref, GTL Ref voltage is derived from the Vtt (vFSB) voltage. The GTL voltage is a certain percentage of the Vtt so to set it you use a multiplier (eg: 0.667x) which means the resulting voltage is 0.667x (66.7% of) the Vtt voltage. I will post a link http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=202292

MCH Core: aka North Bridge, This is directly related to you ram. The more ram installed the higher it will need to be. Will help stabilize when there is a FSB increase.

MCH Reference: Just like CPU ref, it will change or scale with FSB increase.

ICH: aka South Bridge, 1.1 should be fine, but the more hard drives or RAID the more volt's you need.

PizzaMan submitted this for me to add about Skews and is rather informative.

These two clock skew settings are directly related to the voltage control circuit. They control the PLL output to both the CPU and Northbridge. Again, as a differential amplifier is used, the level of offset required should never exceed 150ps (Pico seconds) of skew to either the CPU or Northbridge reference clocks. At most, PLL circuits such as these should be "good enough" to retain a jitter level of around 150-200ps (lower is better). For those wishing to experiment, adjustments in the range of 0-200ps are of interest for both of the clock skew functions. As a rule, start with the lowest voltage possible, tune either skew setting, and then monitor for effects if any.

Make sure you read the sticker on the side of your RAM and manually set the volt's and timings. Like 2.1 volt's and 5-5-5-15.
Just remember, after your CPU is stable you can go back and decrease volt's to your ram and tighten timings.

If you have USB mouse and keyboard, Enable Legacy Support in BIOS to use them.

Advanced Bios Features:

Limit CPUID: disabled
No-Execute: disabled
C1E: disabled
C2/C2E: disabled
CPU Thermal Monitor: disabled
CPU EIST: disabled
Virtualization: Enabled (this can be disabled safely)
Initial display: PEG

*very important to manually set PL#10 (AKA Static tRead) for OC'ing +500FSB

Here is a guide to get the BIOS in it's best shape

Do a CMOS reset and then load Optimum Defaults in this way
CLEAR CMOS
Shut down--unplug-- hold start button in for 10 sec--short the CMOS pins in lower right corner of mobo for 1 minute using a flat screwdriver--plug back in-start--

Load Optimum Defaults--Set PCIe to 100--Set ram timings-- setDRAM voltage--go to Integrated Peripherals-enable all USB settings(they are at the bottom of the page)--go to Advanced BIOS Features,init display-select PEG
Also the boot order will need attention

This will get your BIOS in it's best configuration.

Thanks dennyb, CL3P20, PizzaMan, Dilyn and Marsey99 for help on this.

Also here is an MIT template, one is for notepad, and the other Excel format. Fill it out for posting, print it out for writing on.
Thank you Meta-Prometheus for the Excel format MIT.
LL
LL
NoGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dennyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 3,232
Rep: 439 (Unique: 193)
Some things you might want to add


How to list system
  1. Click on User CP on the black bar above.
  2. Click Edit System on the left.
  3. When you're finished, click Save Changes.
  4. It will now automatically appear in your signature for both future posts and posts that you have already made.
This will be a tremendous help for both you and for everyone who helps out.

tj max
Ok here it is: (hope this sizes right for you to see it)

__________________

V-core & FSB Voltage limits
Table 3. Absolute Maximum and Minimum Ratings
Symbol Parameter Min Max Unit Notes
1, 2

V
CC Core voltage with respect to VSS –0.3 1.45 V -

V
TT

FSB termination voltage with
respect to V
SS

–0.3 1.45 V -
T
CASE Processor case temperature

See
Section 5
See
Section 5
°C -


Stress test info
Are you using large or small ffts when you are running prime?

Small ffts mainly stresses your cpu.

Large ffts puts more stress on your NB and ram.

When I stress test I use small ffts first. If you have a problem here it can normally be fixed by adding more vcore. Once you are stable with small ffts you can move on to large ffts.

If you are stable with small ffts and get a failure with large ffts then it is most likely your NB or memory that is causing the problem and can be fixed with adjusting those settings. If your memory is set at all stock values then more mchv or vtt normally does the trick.

Once stable with small and large ffts I usually run blend test for a while just to be sure.

The reason it is important to fully stress test with small and large ffts is because a stable cpu doesn't mean a stable computer. When you play games it puts huge stresses on your NB and memory. If you don't make sure that your cpu, NB and memory are stable then you are wasting your time. This is probably the reason why it seems stable in prime and then fails when you play games.
I don't usually mess with large FFT -I go straight to blend after sm fft
__________________
Max and Min Q6xxx
QX6000 and Q6000Max vcore 1.55v

This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image dimensions are 699x178 and 30KB in size.
__________________

MAX and Min E7xxx/E8xxx
e7000 and e8000 max vcore 1.45v e8000 72.4c e7000 74.1c
This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image dimensions are 704x182 and 28KB in size.








Absolute Max and MIn/Q9xxx-Q8xxx
QX9000, Q9000 and Q8000 vcore max 1.45v 71.4c or 76.3c
This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image dimensions are 739x218 and 31KB in size.

Straps and multi's





dennyb is offline  
post #3 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
335is
 
NoGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland Co, MI
Posts: 10,920
Rep: 769 (Unique: 312)
NoGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,894
Rep: 191 (Unique: 142)
BIOS Flashing With Qflash




Please DO NOT USE @BIOS!!


This cannot be stressed enough. I cannot recommend using it AT ALL with all other available options

I have seen many Boards killed (IE: Bricked, that is your motherboard is now a brick and you will have to RMA your board) by using @BIOS. I would guess that more then 90% of RMA's due to a bad flash, were because of @BIOS alone.

Yes it may work for you once or twice but if you keep using it you will find out the hard way it is not a good idea. Windows based flashing has always been looked down on and likely will never be a accepted or recommended method to flash a BIOS


Now that the Much needed warning is out of the way, onto the subject at hand

BIOS is a Acronym for "Basic Input/Output System"

Here is Nice BIOS FAQ, by BIOSMAN. Not particularly related to Gigabyte BIOS's but I thought it may answer some simpler questions someone may have someday.

Gigabyte's Information Page for Flashing Motherboard BIOS

You have 4 available Options when flashing the BIOS with Qflash.

1. Floppy Disk Drive
2. USB flash drive
3. FAT32/16/12 Partition on your disk (FAT32 Is best)
4. A Bootable FAT32/16/12 USB Flash drive (Only needed if you have issues with a normal USB/Qflash Method)

A bootable USB Drive is Useful if you have issues with a normal USB type Qflash flash, or are trying to recover from a bad flash.........otherwise making a Bootable one is not necessary. However you may still make and use it if you find it easier for you.


For this Guide Extracted BIOS files will be represented by .Fxx


The actual BIOS file itself is 1MB and has a File extension that follows the format as described below >>>

Board_Name_Example.F10, with the .F10 being the BIOS file extension in question, thus .Fxx will be used to discuss BIOS files below.


First thing you MUST be sure to do is manually download the correct BIOS for your board model and board revision from Gigabyte Web Site.

Be SURE to choose the correct Model and Board Revision #. The board Revision is printed on the bottom of the board in the corner under the PCI Slots if you are not sure of your boards Revision #. Here is a page with a example of this.


Getting the actual BIOS file


The BIOS file you download is a SFX.EXE which is a Self Extracting EXE made to extract the BIOS files (Autoexec.bat File, a Flash895.exe/FlashSPI.exe file, and a Bios.Fxx File) to the folder of your choice to be used to flash from DOS

You will need to Extract the BIOS file you need, the .Fxx file, from the Downloaded .exe (SFX.EXE) file to be used in Qflash.

The below method is for users who already have Winrar, or do not mind installing a trial program. Linux users will also need to use the .Rar extraction program "Unrar", or whatever program you know that will extract a Rar file

As for the rest of the Gigabyte users, I have recently noticed that the actual files from gigabyte can be extracted from windows with no additional programs needed. Simply click "Install" (Which Means Extract) and the files will be extracted to the folder you have the exe in. Or you may also use the "Browse" Button and choose where to extract the files.

You can get the BIOS .Fxx file Extracted out of this .exe file to flash with Qflash by using Winrar to extract the files as well if you like. Or may now simply double click and extract the BIOS files without Winrar. Linux users and those who have Winrar or 7Zip installed, may use the method below using Winrar to extract if you like

Download Winrar Trial here
Download 7-Zip here

Put the .Fxx file onto a FAT32/16/12 USB drive, or in your FAT32/16/12 partition and enter Qflash.

You may also make a new 1GB FAT32 partition on your disk if you like and keep BIOS files there as well.

You may also make a USB Bootable drive, covered below, if you have issues with your board seeing your formatted USB stick.


Flashing With Qflash


To Get into Qflash Select "END" at bootup, or F8 Within the BIOS to enter Qflash.


To use USB in Qflash you need "Legacy USB Storage Detect" Enabled in the Integrated Peripherals Page of the BIOS. You also need to leave the USB drive plugged in when you reboot to Qflash.


Once inside Qflash you will be presented with Floppy, or Drives/Disks, or HDD's options depending on what you have available, look thru each until you find your BIOS file and then flash it.

During the process it will tell you the progress on screen in the bar going, Erasing...Copying...Erasing...Copying...Verfying then once its finished the flash you want to select the reset and clear cmos option.


*NOTE*
Once you have flashed and rebooted back into the BIOS choose Load Optimized defaults and save and apply. This is a required step for the flash process to complete, and for the new BIOS to be properly loaded into the chip.

Then reboot Back into the BIOS again before you go into windows. You will need to set your hard drive settings again in the Advanced BIOS page. MOST IMPORTANTLY do not try to load Windows if you are using a RAID setup without setting these disk settings again or you will corrupt your RAID Array.

Please do not skip the above steps and try to load windows, this is for anyone who is reading this who is using RAID, which alot of us do.


These are the steps needed using the Intel Controller to assure your Array will not be lost post flash.


LL
LL
LL
LL
marsey99 is offline  
post #5 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,894
Rep: 191 (Unique: 142)
Making a Bootable USB Flash Drive

FlashSPI mentioned above as being included on the USB stick is only necessary when flashing via DOS. It is not needed when using Qflash


*NOTE*

Your USB drive will be formatted During this process, all Data on it will be lost!!

So copy or Move any Data on your USB stick you need to keep for now, you may add it back later if you like


1. Make a USB bootable drive using this USB Bootable USB Creation Program HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 alt link

Also Available here and here as a Installable File.

2. Next download the boot files and extract them to your desktop.

3. Run the HPUSBFW program.



Select the correct USB device from the drop-down menu, set file system to FAT32/16/12 and check Create a DOS startup disk.

4. Then browse for the extracted boot files (now in the folder on your desktop from above extraction) and press start to begin formating it.

5. Once the device is done, download the BIOS file from the Gigabyte website for your board model and revision as well as the DOS based BIOS flashing tool which is included inside downloaded BIOS .exe files from Gigabyte.

6. You will need Winrar to extract these files from the downloaded .exe file

7. Three files will be extracted, Autoexec.bat, Flash895.exe, and a .Fxx Bios File. You will need the Flash895.exe and the BIOS.Fxx File only

8. Place Flash895.exe and the BIOS .Fxx file onto the USB stick

9. Plug in your USB drive and reboot to enter bios.

10. Load Optimized Defaults, set the ram voltage to the specified Voltage for your ram

11. Go into the Hard Disk Boot Priority Option In Advanced BIOS Features Page and select your USB drive as the first bootable drive.

12. Reboot.

13. Once it boots to the USB, you will see a Windows 98 screen, and then the DOS prompt.

14. Run flash utility by typing "flash895 p35ds4.fxx" without the quotes at the DOS prompt

*NOTE*

You will need to change the ^^ p35ds4.fxx ^^ in the above command to the exact name of the BIOS file you have.


Flashing with a Floppy Disk from DOS



You will need 2 blank floppy disks to flash using this method. Using Qflash is advised if you do have a Floppy Installed, and you will need only one floppy disk with Qflash.

If you do not wish to use Qflash with a floppy or otherwise, please continue to follow the below directions for flashing in DOS with a floppy

1. Format a Floppy disk, and choose "Create MS-DOS Startup disk as shown below. (Must be Windows XP SP 1 or greater to use this method


2. Remove the MS-DOS bootable Floppy disk you just created from the floppy disk drive.

3. Insert a new floppy disk, and format it in the normal manner.

4. Copy the 3 extracted (.Fxx, Autoexec.bat, and Flash895.exe/flashSPI.exe) BIOS files onto this second floppy

5. Reboot to the BIOS

6. Load Optimized Defaults, set the ram voltage to the specified Voltage for your ram

7. Go into the Hard Disk Boot Priority Option In Advanced BIOS Features Page and select your Floppy drive as the first bootable device.

8. Save and Apply (F10)

9. Reboot the system with the MS-DOS boot disk inserted in the floppy drive

10. Once it boots to the Floppy, you will see a Windows 98 screen, and then the DOS prompt.

11. Remove the MS-DOS floppy disk and Insert the BIOS floppy disk you created in step 4

12. Run flash utility by typing "flash895 p35ds4.fxx" without the quotes at the DOS prompt

*NOTE*

You will need to change the ^^ p35ds4.fxx ^^ in the above command to the exact name of the BIOS file you have.


originally writen by lsdmeasap (thank you) of tweaktown and slightly modified by me.
LL
LL
marsey99 is offline  
post #6 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
10acjed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 6,774
Rep: 566 (Unique: 389)


Very nice work people

Quick question...

I know the max CPU Term for the 45nm is around 1.35 - 1.36. Is there one for the 65nm as well?


10acjed is offline  
post #7 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dennyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 3,232
Rep: 439 (Unique: 193)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10acjed View Post


Very nice work people

Quick question...

I know the max CPU Term for the 45nm is around 1.35 - 1.36. Is there one for the 65nm as well?
1.55 is the #
dennyb is offline  
post #8 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
335is
 
NoGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland Co, MI
Posts: 10,920
Rep: 769 (Unique: 312)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennyb View Post
1.55 is the #
Yep, and the 45nm is 1.45 max safe.
NoGuru is offline  
post #9 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
335is
 
NoGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland Co, MI
Posts: 10,920
Rep: 769 (Unique: 312)
NoGuru is offline  
post #10 of 282 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 05:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dilyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 8,093
Rep: 350 (Unique: 239)
Dilyn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off