Official EVGA X58 SLI/LE/Micro MB Owners Club - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Official EVGA X58 SLI/LE/Micro MB Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 04:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
McLaren_F1 Level 1
 
McLaren_F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 565
Add me to the list too

KaramaKiller is that the newest BIOS with "Turbo Performance"?
McLaren_F1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 05:04 PM
Retired Staff
KarmaKiller is an unknown quantity at this point KarmaKiller is an unknown quantity at this point
 
KarmaKiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Springfield
Posts: 4,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Somenamehere View Post
You can add me to the list next Tuesday/Wednesday I just bought one and its being shipped friday.
Make sure you post pics when you get it. This thread could use "unboxing" pics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLaren_F1 View Post
Add me to the list too

KaramaKiller is that the newest BIOS with "Turbo Performance"?
Yes it is, but I have it disabled. AFAIK, it just keeps ram at 2:8, which I already have set. If it does anything more then that let me know, I may try it out.

Learn how to use the new features of the site:


Currently Playing: H1Z1:KOTK, Overwatch, World of Tanks, Project Cars


KarmaKiller is offline  
post #23 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 05:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
BlackOmega has a spectacular aura about BlackOmega has a spectacular aura about BlackOmega has a spectacular aura about BlackOmega has a spectacular aura about BlackOmega has a spectacular aura about BlackOmega has a spectacular aura about BlackOmega has a spectacular aura about
 
BlackOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: location: location
Posts: 9,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaspoon View Post
Bout time I say. Was really missing the old ud3p watering hole.

I'll look into some pics/settings etc. here in a bit.



You can always just use a 9800gt for a phys card. Your phys card doesn't have to be the same as your sli'd cards. Even though the 4th card would be kinda hanging off the board, you could still use a double in the last slot so long as your case has enough slots to accomodate it. (granted, I can see if you're using a lot of the plugs there at the end it could be quite fussy).

That said, I ran 3x 4890's in mine for a while (wifey stole 1), didn't really have any issues w/ it.
Well it's not that, the last 2 PCie slots are right on top of each other. So lets say you did run tri-SLI, the 3rd card would cover up the 4th PCIe slot. So I don't see how you could run 3x SLI + PhysX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman1985 View Post
cool, i honestly dont see the functionality of a tri sli nor the need. but thats me personally xD i honestly would say a single 5870 is perfect for any high end gaming on 1920x1200 res.

the layout of the tri sli and onboard features are better tho. (and well worth 30 bucks)

you get the dual onboard lan, esata, 2 more usb ports of the get go, and so on
Yeah, I saw the price difference was relatively negligible and noticed the the 3xSLI is laid out better. Has 2 PCI slots, so I can use my XFi I love that thing.

As for my GPUs', I'm probably not going to upgrade for a while. Within the last 6 months, I will have built 2 new rigs; if I spend any more cash on hardware I think my wife is going to me.

How to: Rewire proprietary Dell server Delta fans to work on any motherboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUPER PISSED go_quote.gif

Yeah, well Nvidia can stick it up their ass. This is great.


BlackOmega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 05:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
supaspoon is an unknown quantity at this point supaspoon is an unknown quantity at this point
 
supaspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackOmega View Post
Well it's not that, the last 2 PCie slots are right on top of each other. So lets say you did run tri-SLI, the 3rd card would cover up the 4th PCIe slot. So I don't see how you could run 3x SLI + PhysX.
Didn't even think of that, but yeah, I see exactly what you're talking about now. Forgot what the name of them is, but there's 'extender' things that you could use. Or wc+cut rear plate. But yeah, it'd be a p.i.t.a.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heru go_quote.gif
Whats the problem? Why are certain body places considered bad, like gentles. Is you do with them? I just don't get it, I see nothing offending about a rear end, beasts or gentles.
supaspoon is offline  
post #25 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-17-2010, 11:29 PM
VeeDub Enthusiast
hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road
 
hitman1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 4,506
alright guys, i just thought i share this with the ppl that own the board...

just went ahead and followed karma's advice, added an antec spotcool in my case pointed right at the nb.

heres the result, before and after, folding @ 100% load on 7 cores, no ambient changes nothing has changed.

temps before:


temps after:


for $16 dollars at bestbuy, this is a suitable temporary solution, i will be switching tim's on it once i get my wc setup for the cpu loop in, ill report back with temp changes.

-> You can be as dumb as a Rock, as long as you know how to help yourself <-


hitman1985 is offline  
post #26 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-18-2010, 06:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
ritchwell is an unknown quantity at this point ritchwell is an unknown quantity at this point
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in NJ
Posts: 2,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman1985 View Post
alright guys, i think i have found my issue on the spot here, im currently stable on close to 3.5 ghz and 1.247v @ 30+ minutes prime95 temps not exceeding 67C i have to leave the memory alone for some reason and its stable

Hey hitman, i hope this link will help you acheive the clock speed you want. I too had difficulty overclocking my spare computer that has an EVGA e758 coming from just knowing the bloodrage bios i though it will be the same due to evga using award bios. Anyways looking in the evga forum and using the shansmi guide i was able to acheive 4.2 stable. It took a whole day to get it to 4.2 and another whole day of checking its stability but was happy with the results and learning experience.

http://www.evga.com/FORUMS/tm.aspx?m=7528

ritchwell is offline  
post #27 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-18-2010, 06:02 AM
VeeDub Enthusiast
hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road
 
hitman1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 4,506
lol ritchwell, i just checked that thread last night

im waiting on my wc setup at the moment i wish i had the damn paypal cleared

-> You can be as dumb as a Rock, as long as you know how to help yourself <-


hitman1985 is offline  
post #28 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-18-2010, 06:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
ritchwell is an unknown quantity at this point ritchwell is an unknown quantity at this point
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in NJ
Posts: 2,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman1985 View Post
lol ritchwell, i just checked that thread last night

im waiting on my wc setup at the moment i wish i had the damn paypal cleared
The funny thing is after playing with the e758, now I want to try the Classified 759 or 760...lol

ritchwell is offline  
post #29 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-18-2010, 06:11 AM
VeeDub Enthusiast
hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road hitman1985 is on a distinguished road
 
hitman1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 4,506
yeah, the classy is a kickbutt board.

but i honestly like my purchase of the sli le a lot. the bloodrage needed a bit more voltage for my cpu to reach 4ghz last time, if it was the chip or board i dont wanna predict, but i dislike the limited capabilities of the BR a bit

-> You can be as dumb as a Rock, as long as you know how to help yourself <-


hitman1985 is offline  
post #30 of 2634 (permalink) Old 02-18-2010, 06:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
ritchwell is an unknown quantity at this point ritchwell is an unknown quantity at this point
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in NJ
Posts: 2,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman1985 View Post
yeah, the classy is a kickbutt board.

but i honestly like my purchase of the sli le a lot. the bloodrage needed a bit more voltage for my cpu to reach 4ghz last time, if it was the chip or board i dont wanna predict, but i dislike the limited capabilities of the BR a bit
Interesting I had the opposite experience, when i transferred my old C0 to the e758. Anyways i sold my C0 last week and picked up a D0 at microcenter, running 200x21 at 1.35v around 65-70C. I would love to go water but have no knowledge on how to set up loop. By the way using the link guide i provided i notice it was easy to get to 4.0 but when trying to get to 4.2 thats when it started to get tricky either i was upping core voltage or vtt or dimm voltage and sometimes all three.

ritchwell is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off