P4 1.8 work? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

P4 1.8 work?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-11-2004, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
King_Nak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...tby=14&order=1

The $67 motherboard i want to get but i dont know if the processor i got now will work with that motherboard

Processor: Intel Pentium 4 1.8 GHz

if not what do you guys think would be the best board for this speed of processor?
King_Nak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-11-2004, 06:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: BIRMINGHAM, UK
Posts: 36
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
It depends on what sort of P4 1.8 you have as there are two different socket types, there is the 478 which will work on the mobo you want and the 423 that will not.
PHILLH is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-15-2004, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
King_Nak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
well is there any way to check without haveing to take the whole processor out?
King_Nak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-15-2004, 07:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 294
Rep: 26 (Unique: 12)
The 1.8 is a Willamette which is a socket 423. That will not fit in the mobo you are looking at. Only socket 478 will fit in that board.

xBuddhax biggrin.gif

P4 3.0C @ 3.6 Stable
Idle 27C/Load 38C
Themralright SP-94 (Cooling CPU)
Swiftech MCX159-P (Cooling NB)
1 gig OCZ EL Gold PC4000
DFI Lanparty Pro875B rev. B1
ATI Radeon 9800XT @ 440/762
2 x WD Raptors (Stripe 0) 36 Gigs
Plextor 708A CD/DVD burner
Coolermaster Aerogate I
Coolermaster Cooldrive 4
Coolermaster Musketeer I
Matrix Orbital MX222 LCD
Mitsumi 6 in 1 Memory Card Reader/ Floppy
Soundblaster Audigy 2 Platinum EX
X-Superalien Case
xBuddhax is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
King_Nak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
well i just found some info on my processor and it is a 478
this is a pic of my processor info
it says 478 socket



sorry if it is hard to read.
King_Nak is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off