* The "Official" Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R/UD5/UD7/UD9 Owner's Club * - Page 385 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

* The "Official" Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R/UD5/UD7/UD9 Owner's Club *

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 3903 (permalink) Old 04-08-2018, 06:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by DooM3 View Post
Remove the bios battery for 10 minutes, with the power supply turned off, to resolve.

Actually the cpu is not supported by the bios, but I have seen more than one in operation with the 5650 without problems
I done this and it's doing nothing.

Quote: Originally Posted by gofasterstripes View Post
Hey, I used that combination without trouble... Do you know the Xeon CPU works correctly?
IDK exactly, it should be working as that was stated on the auction but i haven't got other motherboard to check so I really don't know...
Bialy1996 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 3903 (permalink) Old 05-11-2018, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Aximous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 490
Rep: 23 (Unique: 21)
I'm thinking about an SSD upgrade with a HyperX Predator, I've seen mixed reports about booting from it on X58, does anyone here have first hand experience with that? I'd rather not buy it if it's not gonna work, but if it is bootable reliable then it sounds like a great upgrade skipping the limits of SATA2.
Aximous is offline  
post #3843 of 3903 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 10:16 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
nhphuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ho Chi Minh City
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Problem with power holding circuitry

Hi everyone! Has anyone here experienced the symptom where your system wouldn't power up after daily OC for a long time? But after unplugging all power cable for a while and hooking them back, it starts up normally again like nothing happened?! I suspect that there is something wrong with the power holding circuitry, which reads the signal from pw button and control power state of the whole system. My board is GA-X58A-UD5
Thanks in advanced!
nhphuong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3844 of 3903 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 02:58 AM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Did you try new CMOS battery? Or clear CMOS and reload optimized defaults again? If that doesn't help, it could possibly be a failing capacitor somewhere, look for dents bulges, or see if any are raising up off the board
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #3845 of 3903 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 09:49 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
nhphuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ho Chi Minh City
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by HelpDatBIOS View Post
Did you try new CMOS battery? Or clear CMOS and reload optimized defaults again? If that doesn't help, it could possibly be a failing capacitor somewhere, look for dents bulges, or see if any are raising up off the board
The CMOS battery is quite new so I guess it's fine. Besides, I don't really think there is any relation to CMOS battery because the system didn't show any activity after pressing pw button (PSU, fans, drives... nothing act up), not power up but can't boot or anything.
After reset Bios back to defaults, everything works fine since then. I even tried to load the OC bios profile once and it works normally. But I'm too scare of what might happen, therefore I went back to stay at defaults setting.
Performed a visual check and found nothing "stand out", together with the found solution, I also suspect some capacitor might be failing too. Therefore I came here to ask for someone who might experienced the same problem as me for their confirmation and advice.
BTW, thanks so much for your suggestion!
nhphuong is offline  
post #3846 of 3903 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 11:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25,536
Rep: 1661 (Unique: 924)
It's amazing how many of these systems are still in daily use. I have 3 but one is just for testing coolers. Only complaints are not performance of CPU but lack of good internal motherboard USB3, Sata, etc features commonly in newer systems.

Phanteks Owners Club Ways to Better Cooling
i7 980 @ 3.55GHz =PH-TC14PE w/2x TY-143 fans =Crucial Ballistix 3x4GB =GA-X58A-UD5 =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =Enermax Modu84+ =Define R2 w/3x TY-140 case intake fans; all PWM controlled by CPU fan socketPhanteks Enthoo Primo MoBo Rampage III Extreme CPUi7 980X
@ 4.0GHz =R1 Ultimate w/2x TY-143 fans =Dominator GT 6x2GB =Rampage III Extreme =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =TX850 =Enthoo Primo w/ custom castor base
doyll is offline  
post #3847 of 3903 (permalink) Old 08-11-2018, 01:40 AM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
You can't know until you test, new means nothing with electronics. I have witnessed this issue on several boards, those things I mentioned are the three culprits I've ran into the many times I've seen this issue.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #3848 of 3903 (permalink) Old 08-13-2018, 09:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TLCH723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 827
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
I have the UD3R board and having issues with the first slot of the 2nd and 3rd channel. Not sure about about the second slot since I cant test it without the first. Is there a way to fix this? I know is not CPU problem since I already change the CPU


Canon T3i/600D | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens | EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Lens | Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX-II 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Lens ART
YongNuo YN568EX | 2 x YN622C

Nikon FG | 50mm f/1.8 Series E


TLCH723 is offline  
post #3849 of 3903 (permalink) Old 08-13-2018, 10:14 PM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Change CPU was probably the problem, at first. This is often bent CPU socket pins.

Unless you are adding a lot of memory like 12GB or more, or trying to run very fast speeds, then this may only be due to you need more QPI/Vtt voltage
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #3850 of 3903 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 04:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TLCH723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 827
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Quote: Originally Posted by HelpDatBIOS View Post
Change CPU was probably the problem, at first. This is often bent CPU socket pins.

Unless you are adding a lot of memory like 12GB or more, or trying to run very fast speeds, then this may only be due to you need more QPI/Vtt voltage
I checked for bent pins when I installed the new CPU. The new CPU was working fine for about a month before memory problems. The older cpu work for like 3 to 4 years


Canon T3i/600D | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens | EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Lens | Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX-II 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Lens ART
YongNuo YN568EX | 2 x YN622C

Nikon FG | 50mm f/1.8 Series E


TLCH723 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off