* The "Official" Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R/UD5/UD7/UD9 Owner's Club * - Page 386 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

* The "Official" Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R/UD5/UD7/UD9 Owner's Club *

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3851 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 05:54 AM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
If you are certain of that, then it's memory issues such as memory voltage too low, QPI/Vtt too low, or settings are too tight for the memory speed and or amount of memory.
It can be heatsink too tight sometimes, but that is rare and it wouldn't work for a while like that and then not.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3852 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 06:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TLCH723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 824
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Quote: Originally Posted by HelpDatBIOS View Post
If you are certain of that, then it's memory issues such as memory voltage too low, QPI/Vtt too low, or settings are too tight for the memory speed and or amount of memory.
It can be heatsink too tight sometimes, but that is rare and it wouldn't work for a while like that and then not.
I ran everything stock and set the voltage manual at the stock voltage. Ran Memtest using 1 stick of 2GB at each of the slot and still give me an error.

But is there anything I should check hardware-wise to see if is a problem with the board beside bent pins? It wouldnt be bent pins since it was working for a month unless there are some nanotech bugs went between the cpu and the socket and bent the pins


Canon T3i/600D | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens | EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Lens | Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX-II 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Lens ART
YongNuo YN568EX | 2 x YN622C

Nikon FG | 50mm f/1.8 Series E


TLCH723 is offline  
post #3853 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 07:32 AM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Did you start with optimized defaults, not fail safe? What is "Stock" for that memory, what speed and what voltage and what timings? Not all memory is made/compatible easily at "Stock/auto" for X58
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3854 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 08:07 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
nhphuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ho Chi Minh City
Posts: 72
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TLCH723 View Post
I ran everything stock and set the voltage manual at the stock voltage. Ran Memtest using 1 stick of 2GB at each of the slot and still give me an error.

But is there anything I should check hardware-wise to see if is a problem with the board beside bent pins? It wouldnt be bent pins since it was working for a month unless there are some nanotech bugs went between the cpu and the socket and bent the pins
Try to clean the goldfinger of the memory sticks with eraser and install it back! Or other means to clean the contact area like lubricant detergent. It works every time for me whenever problem occur after just simply uninstall and reinstall memory sticks back. Hopefully, it's helpful to you!
nhphuong is offline  
post #3855 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 12:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TLCH723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 824
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Quote: Originally Posted by HelpDatBIOS View Post
Did you start with optimized defaults, not fail safe? What is "Stock" for that memory, what speed and what voltage and what timings? Not all memory is made/compatible easily at "Stock/auto" for X58
I tried 2 sets:
6x8GB 1866MHz 9-10-9-28-2N 1.5v
3x2GB 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2N 1.5v
Both GSkill

I set the voltage and timing as stated but left the speed as 133xthe default memory multiplier which is less than the rated speed


Canon T3i/600D | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens | EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Lens | Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX-II 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Lens ART
YongNuo YN568EX | 2 x YN622C

Nikon FG | 50mm f/1.8 Series E


TLCH723 is offline  
post #3856 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 12:40 AM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Did you enable XMP? If yes, don't for now. What memory multiplier did you set? 133 is bclk x what memory multiplier?
What QPI/Vtt voltage did you set? Memory in the correct slots? The white slots are what you use for only 3 modules. What BIOS are you using?

The 6x8GB kit at those timings and speed is not going to work in this motherboard, and even at less speed and loose timings you will need 1.2-1.3+ QPI/Vtt for that much memory to run stable
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #3857 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 05:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TLCH723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 824
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Let's me go back.

So I was running i7 930, UD3R, and the 3x2GB when I first got the computer in 2010. Then changed/added the 8GB RAM in 2013, 2015 and 2016 each year 2 sticks and yes they are the same brand and model. Then I change the CPU to x5650 in 2016, I think is the same time I add the last pair of RAM. Everything work fine until a month or two ago after I blow out the dust and starting to use the AC in my room when it started to crash randomly. Reset everything to optimized, set voltage manually, set memory timing manually still crash. Did memtest on all 6x8GB, error. Tried each stick on DIMM0, NO error. Then tried DIMM2 and DIMM4, also NO error. Then tried DIMM0+1, 2+3, 4+5, also NO error. So I thought the memory controller on the CPU got degraded so badly and needed to replace, thus brought an x5660. Got the CPU and did the same memtest and NO error. Thought I solve the problem. Ran fine for a month, maybe a bit less, and starting to get random crashes again. Did memtest. Got error on DIMM2 and DIMM4


Canon T3i/600D | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens | EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Lens | Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX-II 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Lens ART
YongNuo YN568EX | 2 x YN622C

Nikon FG | 50mm f/1.8 Series E


TLCH723 is offline  
post #3858 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 07:15 PM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Same brand and model of memory, 1-2-3 years apart almost guarantees they are not the same memory under the hood, just so you are not under the impression that they are.
But as you said all was fine for a while, then you blew out the computer. Since then, and these issues, have you reconnected everything again to make sure nothing got bumped loose during the blowout cleaning.


You didn't answer any of my questions above. Before wasting anymore time on this, can you please show me current new images of your CPU socket pins from several angles.
If you really want help with this, we need to start there.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #3859 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 04:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TLCH723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 824
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Quote: Originally Posted by HelpDatBIOS View Post
Same brand and model of memory, 1-2-3 years apart almost guarantees they are not the same memory under the hood, just so you are not under the impression that they are.
But as you said all was fine for a while, then you blew out the computer. Since then, and these issues, have you reconnected everything again to make sure nothing got bumped loose during the blowout cleaning.


You didn't answer any of my questions above. Before wasting anymore time on this, can you please show me current new images of your CPU socket pins from several angles.
If you really want help with this, we need to start there.
Why would the pins suddenly bent? If it will bent under the CPU and a heatsink then that is a major design flaw and need to be recalled.

Obviously, the memory are not the same even if you buy them at the same time. But it is as close as they can get.

I said everything is default/auto, except for voltage which set manual to the default voltage and the timing of the RAM which manual set to the timing of the the rated speed.


Canon T3i/600D | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens | EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Lens | Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX-II 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Lens ART
YongNuo YN568EX | 2 x YN622C

Nikon FG | 50mm f/1.8 Series E


TLCH723 is offline  
post #3860 of 3900 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 12:05 PM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Because maybe they were slightly bent before and you didn't notice. The CPU socket is under extreme pressure once you lock it down

I meant the memory are very different, probably not even same brand. Usually memory IC's are only sold for short periods, buying same module a year apart 3 times almost guarantees none of them have the same IC chips under the hood.
I don't see this as a huge issue, I was only stating the fact on that, since you were already mixing memory and the one kit is really mixed itself too. Discussing the variables with you is all.

For 3x2GB auto everything may be OK or set to stock. For the other kit 6x8GB, or all together it's definitely not especially on QPI/Vtt voltage.

Set QPI/Vtt voltage 1.2, set memory voltage to 1.55. Often you get less than what you set and X58 was not designed for 1.5v memory, and it's probably giving you only 1.46-1.48 actual voltage anyway, then test with the 3x2GB kit and test again.

You still have not said what BIOS you are on either, please let us know, older BIOS may have issues directly relating to this that is fixed now in latest BIOS.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off