* The "Official" Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R/UD5/UD7/UD9 Owner's Club * - Page 389 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

* The "Official" Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R/UD5/UD7/UD9 Owner's Club *

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3881 of 3896 (permalink) Old 10-08-2018, 05:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TLCH723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 822
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Quote: Originally Posted by Scrimstar View Post
Hello, I may have messed up by resetting cmos
I used @BIOS tool to update my mobo from FA revision to FH revision, But I got constant detecting RAM errors, causing 4 reboots before loading into windows. I decided to hard reset cmos, by turning off power and pressing clr cmos button for a minute, then turn on and reset cmos again.
It booted before I reset cmos, and windows was working. Tried doing 1 RAM and 2 RAM with different RAM models, but still the same motherboard lights. I am not sure what the lights mean. I am now leaving the motherboard battery out for a little bit. I really don't want to reinstall the CPU with my old i7 930, update bios, and then reinstall x5650...

UPDATE: I installed the i7 930, same exact issue :'(

Any suggestions to remedy? No post screen, no keyboard lighting up.

Gigabyte UD3r Rev 1.7
X5650

https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Motherbo...upport-dl-bios
I have the same problem. I was doing 6x8GB until couples months ago and stop working. People said to check for bent pins but I doubt thats your problem.


Canon T3i/600D | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens | EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Lens | Tokina AT-X 116 PRO DX-II 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Lens ART
YongNuo YN568EX | 2 x YN622C

Nikon FG | 50mm f/1.8 Series E


TLCH723 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3882 of 3896 (permalink) Old 10-08-2018, 10:12 PM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 464
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
You need to google how to force dual BIOS recovery for gigabyte boards, there is a few methods, keep at it and you will get it. If not, order CH341A flash programmer and SOIC8 test clip cable, so you can reprogram main BIOS. @BIOS may have killed your BIOS (Not fried, just badly programmed. Possibly not though, since it booted to windows for you once after the @BIOS flash.

Do you have your memory in the correct slots now? White slots only when using 1-3 modules. I did see your image, with one stick in a correct slot, so if it's still there or middle white slot that's OK.


It could also be fail safe compatibility issue with your graphics card (fail safe is loaded when you clear CMOS, until you load optimized again). Try another older graphics card or PCI card if you have one, and try other slots too, to rule out this issue.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #3883 of 3896 (permalink) Old 01-04-2019, 08:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,419
Rep: 143 (Unique: 101)
FYI if anyone here is still around, but does anyone still have a Hybrid SILENT-PIPE 2 laying around for the UD7 mobo they're not using?? I can't locate mine in all the old boxes I have and I'm looking for one now if anyone has it laying around. I pulled my UD7 X58 mobo back out to use a Xeon CPU and need it for an air cooled setup. It was supplied with the X58A UD7 & UD9 mobos.
Attached Images
 

CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GPU
Nvidia GTX1080Ti
RAM
G.Skill SNIPER 12GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
RAM
G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX SSD
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30 BD burner
Optical Drive
TSH663B DVD burner
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-750PD Flagship Prime Series 750W Platinum
Cooling
EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
XSPC RX360 radiator
Cooling
EK WB D-BAYD5 PWM reservoir
Case
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Acer GD235HZbid
Keyboard
Ducky Mechanical
CPU
8600K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
GPU
Nvidia GTX 1070 FE
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series PC4 24000
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Power Supply
Rosewill Quark Series 750W Full Modular Gaming Power Supply with LED Indicator
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z270/Z370 GAMING Monoblock - Nickel
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Motherboard
Z270X-Gaming 9
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SEA HAWK EK X
GPU
EVGA RTX2080 Ultra Gaming XC
RAM
G.Skill Trident 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 950
Power Supply
Corsair AX-1200
Case
CaseLabs M8
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by ezveedub; 01-04-2019 at 08:55 AM.
ezveedub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3884 of 3896 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 10:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chungsteroonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 34
Rep: 0
Memory Overclock help needed

Hello,

I just put together a GA-X58A-UD5 (rev. 2.0) build with an intel X5680 CPU at 4.4Ghz with ff3 bios on the motherboard. I am having a really hard time getting the memory to work "normally". I am using 3x8GB of Kingston HyperX DDR3 rated at 1860Mhz and cannot for the life of me get it to run any faster than 1400Mhz at 8 8 8 24. I just pulled the RAM kit out of another X58 system (Asus P6X58D-E) running smoothly at 1950Mhz. I have the VTT pushed all the way out to 1.331V and do not want to make the next jump to 1.355V as that seems to be the tipping point for damage from what I read.

I am not an expert on memory settings and have only adjusted the primary 4 timings. The rest of the options are "auto" except for 1T command rate selected manually. Is there something else I should be looking at? Or are these boards just plain sensitive to memory types. I don't think I'm going for anything really crazy.
Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
chungsteroonie is offline  
post #3885 of 3896 (permalink) Old 01-15-2019, 07:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gorki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: On board
Posts: 225
Rep: 9 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Scrimstar View Post
Hello, I may have messed up by resetting cmos
I used @BIOS tool to update my mobo from FA revision to FH revision, But I got constant detecting RAM errors, causing 4 reboots before loading into windows. I decided to hard reset cmos, by turning off power and pressing clr cmos button for a minute, then turn on and reset cmos again.
It booted before I reset cmos, and windows was working. Tried doing 1 RAM and 2 RAM with different RAM models, but still the same motherboard lights. I am not sure what the lights mean. I am now leaving the motherboard battery out for a little bit. I really don't want to reinstall the CPU with my old i7 930, update bios, and then reinstall x5650...

UPDATE: I installed the i7 930, same exact issue :'(

Any suggestions to remedy? No post screen, no keyboard lighting up.

Gigabyte UD3r Rev 1.7
X5650

https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Motherbo...upport-dl-bios
Did you by any chance swap your cpu before that? I ask because if you are, there is big possibility that you put too much pressure on your cpu block and cause some bends on mbo ram contacts that could cause this?
Also, just for heads up, be very careful about cpu socket pins alignment when you swap cpus.



Quote: Originally Posted by chungsteroonie View Post
Hello,

I just put together a GA-X58A-UD5 (rev. 2.0) build with an intel X5680 CPU at 4.4Ghz with ff3 bios on the motherboard. I am having a really hard time getting the memory to work "normally". I am using 3x8GB of Kingston HyperX DDR3 rated at 1860Mhz and cannot for the life of me get it to run any faster than 1400Mhz at 8 8 8 24. I just pulled the RAM kit out of another X58 system (Asus P6X58D-E) running smoothly at 1950Mhz. I have the VTT pushed all the way out to 1.331V and do not want to make the next jump to 1.355V as that seems to be the tipping point for damage from what I read.

I am not an expert on memory settings and have only adjusted the primary 4 timings. The rest of the options are "auto" except for 1T command rate selected manually. Is there something else I should be looking at? Or are these boards just plain sensitive to memory types. I don't think I'm going for anything really crazy.
Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
You tried from start by loading fail/safe settings and working your way up? What about other setting?

Gorki is offline  
post #3886 of 3896 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 07:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,419
Rep: 143 (Unique: 101)
Anyone here have luck with modded bios F9D for the X58A-UD7 Rev 1? I was running F8 bios forever with my old I7 960 and switched for a Xeon W3690 which runs fine...tried the F9a bios, the one Gigabyte site and then flashed it to F9D from the modded bios forums and I noticed it works fine, BUT intermittently when booted from cold start, it powers up briefly (quick power light up and shut off- like 1/2 second or 1 second only), then it’s off...hit power again and it comes in and trips the backup bios to reflash the main bios and kills the F9 series bios if used...of course my backup bios was F7 (smaller bios and needs Qflash in Windows to flash back to F8-easier way to get it back for me). I have since reflashed the backup bios to F8 since it always worked, but just seeing if I missing something with F9 series bios not working reliably for anyone else.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GPU
Nvidia GTX1080Ti
RAM
G.Skill SNIPER 12GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
RAM
G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX SSD
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30 BD burner
Optical Drive
TSH663B DVD burner
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-750PD Flagship Prime Series 750W Platinum
Cooling
EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
XSPC RX360 radiator
Cooling
EK WB D-BAYD5 PWM reservoir
Case
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Acer GD235HZbid
Keyboard
Ducky Mechanical
CPU
8600K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
GPU
Nvidia GTX 1070 FE
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series PC4 24000
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Power Supply
Rosewill Quark Series 750W Full Modular Gaming Power Supply with LED Indicator
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z270/Z370 GAMING Monoblock - Nickel
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Motherboard
Z270X-Gaming 9
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SEA HAWK EK X
GPU
EVGA RTX2080 Ultra Gaming XC
RAM
G.Skill Trident 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 950
Power Supply
Corsair AX-1200
Case
CaseLabs M8
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
ezveedub is offline  
post #3887 of 3896 (permalink) Old 04-05-2019, 04:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,419
Rep: 143 (Unique: 101)
Old X58A-UD7 is back up to life on water cooling again with W3690 at 4.6Ghz testing now. Seems solid at 4.4Ghz no problem for a few weeks/months now. Also running 1.25v DDR3 G.Skill Sniper 12Gb. Running it now with a GVX1080 I got recently instead of the GTX1070. Found some slightly "patched" F9A bios for spectre/meltdown also.

https://valid.x86.fr/pqglnq

https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18966559

CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GPU
Nvidia GTX1080Ti
RAM
G.Skill SNIPER 12GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
RAM
G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX SSD
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30 BD burner
Optical Drive
TSH663B DVD burner
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-750PD Flagship Prime Series 750W Platinum
Cooling
EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
XSPC RX360 radiator
Cooling
EK WB D-BAYD5 PWM reservoir
Case
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Acer GD235HZbid
Keyboard
Ducky Mechanical
CPU
8600K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
GPU
Nvidia GTX 1070 FE
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series PC4 24000
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Power Supply
Rosewill Quark Series 750W Full Modular Gaming Power Supply with LED Indicator
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z270/Z370 GAMING Monoblock - Nickel
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Motherboard
Z270X-Gaming 9
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SEA HAWK EK X
GPU
EVGA RTX2080 Ultra Gaming XC
RAM
G.Skill Trident 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 950
Power Supply
Corsair AX-1200
Case
CaseLabs M8
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
ezveedub is offline  
post #3888 of 3896 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 07:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Camo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Hey all,

I've just inherited my brother's old computer - i've overclocked it with 2x4gb 1066 and i7 950 to 4.07 ghz, 192 bclk
Was having problems booting modded factorio only to find out they no longer support 32-bit, so wanted to upgrade the CPU.

Will I need to flash a new bios if I get a W3690 as an upgrade? Is there a better option I could use?

Mobo is x58A-UD3R Rev 1.0

Thanks

Camo5 is offline  
post #3889 of 3896 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 07:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,419
Rep: 143 (Unique: 101)
Quote: Originally Posted by Camo5 View Post
Hey all,



I've just inherited my brother's old computer - i've overclocked it with 2x4gb 1066 and i7 950 to 4.07 ghz, 192 bclk

Was having problems booting modded factorio only to find out they no longer support 32-bit, so wanted to upgrade the CPU.



Will I need to flash a new bios if I get a W3690 as an upgrade? Is there a better option I could use?



Mobo is x58A-UD3R Rev 1.0



Thanks


For Xeon W3690, you have to use at the F6 bios or higher. Most of the i7 9xx series X processors usually are more money.

You should run 3 or 6 sticks of DDR3 also to have triple channel. You can find usually triple channel 1600 sets for sale on eBay as some still have it laying around. I still have DDR3 sticks laying around, lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GPU
Nvidia GTX1080Ti
RAM
G.Skill SNIPER 12GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
RAM
G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX SSD
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30 BD burner
Optical Drive
TSH663B DVD burner
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-750PD Flagship Prime Series 750W Platinum
Cooling
EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
XSPC RX360 radiator
Cooling
EK WB D-BAYD5 PWM reservoir
Case
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Acer GD235HZbid
Keyboard
Ducky Mechanical
CPU
8600K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
GPU
Nvidia GTX 1070 FE
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series PC4 24000
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Power Supply
Rosewill Quark Series 750W Full Modular Gaming Power Supply with LED Indicator
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z270/Z370 GAMING Monoblock - Nickel
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Motherboard
Z270X-Gaming 9
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SEA HAWK EK X
GPU
EVGA RTX2080 Ultra Gaming XC
RAM
G.Skill Trident 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 950
Power Supply
Corsair AX-1200
Case
CaseLabs M8
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
ezveedub is offline  
post #3890 of 3896 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Camo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Do you think the f8b bios will work?

https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thre...3R-Rev-1-0-F8A

I'm having a hard time tracking down what I need to use and am worried about bricking with a larger bios install. I only ever updated a bios once, and that was for my laptop and took 2 days .-.

Will the 2 sticks I have still work? Or does it need to be triple channel? is there a limit? is it better to have 6x2gb or 3x4gb?

Camo5 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off