* The "Official" Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R/UD5/UD7/UD9 Owner's Club * - Page 391 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

* The "Official" Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R/UD5/UD7/UD9 Owner's Club *

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3901 of 3907 (permalink) Old 09-20-2019, 05:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
yeliyayue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Here's a screen of my x58a-ud3r with a w3670 running a xmp profile in triple channel.

that should answer a few questions

https://prnt.sc/p8xavk

Edit: I should note that the stock bios worked fine, unless i went into the overclock screen. it would freeze and i would have to restart :/ After updating to latest bios(fh with @BIOS ) I've had zero issues.


Last edited by yeliyayue; 09-20-2019 at 06:02 PM.
yeliyayue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3902 of 3907 (permalink) Old 09-20-2019, 06:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
yeliyayue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Camo5 View Post
I don't believe I set up any sort of dual bios - but the computer has been restarted a few times with no indication of reverting back, so that's good enough for me!!

all I can tell is it's using version FH, so I'm hoping it doesn't become some sort of issue. That being said, it's amazing that intel originally had 6 core processors only to go away from it.

Perhaps I can settle for the xeon w3680 then, as it's only $43

EDIT:

Got the w3680, and overclocked it.


Managed 4.4 ghz at 1.375v,
191 bclk, x23 mult, x19 uncore, x6 ram,
got a wonderful cinebench score of 2106 and 287 (single)
Hasn't crashed or stuttered really on me yet, so i'm keeping it this way ;D

Temps peak around 78 C (66 F ambient) on the corsair H80 with an EF4 vardar in pull

$45 well spent, i'd say. Only thing it can upgrade now is with 3x8gb ECC ram and a 2070

Did you try out that ECC Ram? i couldnt get it to work with stock bios, havent tried again since updating to FH.

yeliyayue is offline  
post #3903 of 3907 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 01:47 AM
Extreme AIR Overclocker
 
rootmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 146
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Running Xeon X5675 @4.6GHz and 3.6GHz Uncore with 200MHz BCLK.

http://valid.x86.fr/ifd6e3

rootmoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3904 of 3907 (permalink) Old 01-10-2020, 08:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: germany
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hi everyone,

i was surprised to yet see an active and nice community around this board series. Pretty cool!

I finally assembled some more or less leftover parts to my X58 UD-5 (Rev 1) which had been serving me faithfully until i finally upgraded to a Skylake 6700k.

Now the Westmere X5670 i Ebay´ed a while ago looks alright. But what worries me is the power draw that HWInfo shows during Cinebench. 560 Watts seems a bit much... ?! Is that a somewhat legit figure or does HWInfo mess up there? I am a little worried.

Thanks in advance for any qualified feedback.

My system/settings:
Gigabyte X58A-UD5 Rev 1, Bios F7
Xeon X5670 (air cooled by EKL Alpenföhn Atlas)
Corsair AX750 PSU
6x2 GB Corsair XMS CL7 (CR 1)
Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
197x22 @ 1,368 VCore Bios set (apparently turns out as 1,328 V both in CPUZ and HWInfo)
LLC Lvl 1
VTT 1,315
ICH Values: Manually keyed in default values just to be safe
Rest of the Voltages set to AUTO (should i customize them? forgot most of the X58 OC stuff and i miss clunk.co.uk which had a very nice topic on OCing this board back in the day)


See Powers -> CPU MAX (my Coffe Lake CPU doesnt have this tab anymore somehow) in HWInfo ...

Last edited by Noob256; 01-10-2020 at 09:15 AM.
Noob256 is offline  
post #3905 of 3907 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: germany
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Ok, since there was no qualified Intel to be found on the estimated consumption of this platform during OC i ordered a device to measure myself, so here the results (whole System power consumption):

System Powered Off : 2, 7 Watts

Windows 7 Desktop (6 x 4,33 GHZ) : 148 Watts

Resident Evil II Remake Racoon City Zombie Infestation (GTX 1070 pretty much maxed out) : 240 Watts

Cinebench R15 Multicore (exactly 1000 points Kappa) : 275 Watts

Conclusion: All not that worrysome. Although those 12 year old VRMs are pulling a fine load...

System (sorry no proper export sheet):
Gigabyte X58a-UD5 (Rev1)
Xeon X5670 (@ 197 BCLK x 22, 1,328 VCore)
6x2 GB Corsair XMS 1600 (@ 15xx CL7 CR1)
Alpenföhn Atlas
Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB
WD Velociraptor 300 GB
Corsair AX - 750 Watts PSU
Audiotrak Prodigy HD 2
Cooltek G 3 Case (allows for fan directly behind CPU VRMs)

Bios set voltages:
Loadline-Calibration : Level 1
CPU VCore : 1.36875 V (the actual value appears much lower)
QPI/VTT Voltage : 1,315 V
IOH Core : 1,1 V
ICH I/O : 1,5 V

Godspeed everyone!

Last edited by Noob256; 01-14-2020 at 11:00 AM.
Noob256 is offline  
post #3906 of 3907 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 11:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25,957
Rep: 1674 (Unique: 931)
Quote: Originally Posted by Noob256 View Post
Ok, since there was no qualified Intel to be found on the estimated consumption of this platform during OC i ordered a device to measure myself, so here the results (whole System power consumption):

System Powered Off : 2, 7 Watts

Windows 7 Desktop (6 x 4,33 GHZ) : 148 Watts

Resident Evil II Remake Racoon City Zombie Infestation (GTX 1070 pretty much maxed out) : 240 Watts

Cinebench R15 Multicore (exactly 1000 points Kappa) : 275 Watts

Conclusion: All not that worrysome. Although those 12 year old VRMs are pulling a fine load...

System (sorry no proper export sheet):
Gigabyte X58a-UD5 (Rev1)
Xeon X5670 (@ 197 BCLK x 22, 1,328 VCore)
6x2 GB Corsair XMS 1600 (@ 15xx CL7 CR1)
Alpenföhn Atlas
Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB
WD Velociraptor 300 GB
Corsair AX - 750 Watts PSU
Audiotrak Prodigy HD 2
Cooltek G 3 Case (allows for fan directly behind CPU VRMs)

Bios set voltages:
Loadline-Calibration : Level 1
CPU VCore : 1.36875 V (the actual value appears much lower)
QPI/VTT Voltage : 1,315 V
IOH Core : 1,1 V
ICH I/O : 1,5 V

Godspeed everyone!
I assume that wattage is for entire computer? As in monitoring power consumed by computer's PSU?

Phanteks Owners Club Ways to Better Cooling
i7 980 @ 3.55GHz =PH-TC14PE w/2x TY-143 fans =Crucial Ballistix 3x4GB =GA-X58A-UD5 =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =Enermax Modu84+ =Define R2 w/3x TY-140 case intake fans; all PWM controlled by CPU fan socketPhanteks Enthoo Primo MoBo Rampage III Extreme CPUi7 980X
@ 4.0GHz =R1 Ultimate w/2x TY-143 fans =Dominator GT 6x2GB =Rampage III Extreme =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =TX850 =Enthoo Primo w/ custom castor base
doyll is online now  
post #3907 of 3907 (permalink) Old 01-21-2020, 01:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
resxwni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
I would like a bios mod for gigabyte x58a ud3r rev 1.0 trying to get nvme ssd pci-e can not get bios to see samsung 950 pro
resxwni01 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off