Cannot find a LN2 pot - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Cannot find a LN2 pot

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
Ti
 
iLoveOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: You don't want to come here.
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Cannot find a LN2 pot

Wanted to get into XOC for fun. But when I looked on https://kingpincooling.com/ and http://der8auer.com/ Both sites are completely sold out, of everything..... Looked on Amazon, Newegg, Ebay, nothing. Anyone know where I could order these supplies?

Also what is the best thermal compound for sub zero cooling? I've heard that some compounds freeze and crack at extreme temperatures. If I cannot find KPX would something like Noctua NT-H2 be okay?

Its just kinda ok
(9 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected]@1.185v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
GPU
EVGA 1070Ti FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 650GQ
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pro 4xML120
Case
CoolerMaster MasterCase H500
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
iLoveOC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 12:48 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mikecdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,173
Rep: 740 (Unique: 540)
performance pcs has some pots in stock. The old KP venom and F1 Dark. Not the best for modern intel stuff, but still work. I use a vneom with 9900k, although not the fastest pot, it still gets the job done.
http://www.performance-pcs.com/liqui...n-hardware?p=1

They also have the KPx in stock and thermal grizzly kryonaut is also good.



Mikecdm is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Ti
 
iLoveOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: You don't want to come here.
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Thanks so much.

Its just kinda ok
(9 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected]@1.185v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
GPU
EVGA 1070Ti FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 650GQ
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pro 4xML120
Case
CoolerMaster MasterCase H500
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
iLoveOC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Ti
 
iLoveOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: You don't want to come here.
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Which is better, Dragon F1 Extreme or the Venom? They cost the same.

Its just kinda ok
(9 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected]@1.185v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
GPU
EVGA 1070Ti FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 650GQ
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pro 4xML120
Case
CoolerMaster MasterCase H500
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
iLoveOC is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 01:31 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mikecdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,173
Rep: 740 (Unique: 540)
I never used the F1 Dark but got the classic F1 EE thats just copper. Comparing the two that I have, the F1 is slow and better suited for stuff with a cold bug. I think the F1 Dark had improved internals and it might be faster with good control. The venom came out years ago, it's two piece, works better for stuff thats full pot and faster than the F1. Other pots have been made which are much faster, but I've never used anything else.

It really depends on what you are going to bench and if you are going to use LN2 or Dry ice. For dry ice i'd pick the F1 since it's 1 piece and won't leak acetone.

I guess it really depends on what hardware you want to bench and which form of cooling you will use.



Mikecdm is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Ti
 
iLoveOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: You don't want to come here.
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
I will most likely be using a 3770k or a 4930k on dry ice. Would you say the Kingpin Inferno socket heater is necessary? Or would good insulation be alright.

Its just kinda ok
(9 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected]@1.185v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
GPU
EVGA 1070Ti FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 650GQ
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pro 4xML120
Case
CoolerMaster MasterCase H500
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
iLoveOC is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 01:55 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mikecdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,173
Rep: 740 (Unique: 540)
I have one and have never used it. I don't think with dry ice that it's necessary. I've heard it comes in handy when benching 3d and don't want the socket area getting soaked up, thus allowing you to focus on the gpu more. More often I'd say it's just from cold spreading and condensation when running full pot that it may come in handy. Also might depend on where you live and how humid the environment is.



Mikecdm is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Ti
 
iLoveOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: You don't want to come here.
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
I'll probably buy it just to be safe. Maybe I will need it in the future. Cause in illinois the humidity stays around 50-60% and according to this dew point calculator I found online. Dew point is around 10-18c in the summer.

Thanks for showing me the Performance PC's site. They have got so much cool stuff on there.

Its just kinda ok
(9 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected]@1.185v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
GPU
EVGA 1070Ti FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 650GQ
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pro 4xML120
Case
CoolerMaster MasterCase H500
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
iLoveOC is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 09:55 PM
Head Smeghead of OCN
 
Kryton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Deep smeg ...
Posts: 3,116
Rep: 181 (Unique: 131)
Get the inferno - You won't regret it.
Also pay attention to the footprint (Base size/area) of the Venom. If it's the same as the T-Rex you will have trouble making it work with some boards because then it won't "Fit" into the socket area without conponents around the socket area itself interferring with it going into place.

It does look to be the same or very close TBH.

I have a T-Rex and there are some boards I can't use it with due to the massive footprint it has, the F1 is certainly not a bad one to get and use regardless.

Kryton is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off