Alphacool DC-LT Ceramic pump and tops information. - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Alphacool DC-LT Ceramic pump and tops information.

 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2012, 11:39 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,422
It's beyond 'loud noise', it's specifcally an issue with the reservoir and pump combination. With two working in serial, one of the major issues is that the inlet to the res is directly next to where the pumps draw water. When both pumps are maxed, the water from the inlet displaces the water in the res in a wave pattern as if you did not fill the res the whole way. I think this is the source of the issue with the major pump noise.

In addition to that, the pumps when secured tight enough to not leak actually rub against the reservoir making a grinding noise. When you loosen the pumps enough to stop this, you get really really close to leak territory.

I can't imagine that both of these design flaws would have made it out of Alphacool's testing, but I'm seeing a few people with the exact issues.

*EDIT*

Also, I went to straight power as well as powered through my 30W fan controller. The fan controller was able to run them at a higher speed than straight power, which is really odd. The noise was consistent throughout the range of speeds.
Michalius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2012, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Carniflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tallinn
Posts: 5,535
Rep: 237 (Unique: 187)
Hm that does not sound good. Especially the part where the pump grinds against the res. Missing some sort of standing wave pattern in simulations and quality control is one thing but missing something that obvious does not sound good.

I think if mine grinds against the res as well then I will try to put mine through warranty. Surely such thing would be unacceptable. Even assuming that they found out after the patch was done it should be relatively trivial to compensate by either milling extra half mm off the res or just putting a stiffer/thicker O ring in there.

I'll find out in few weeks how mine behaves. I will have a little amount of water above the res at the inlet as well though (T connector with a small hose going to top of the case for filling purposes as in my case the res will be connected quite rigid way and would be hard to drag a little bit out for getting access to the fill-port on the top of the res.
Carniflex is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,422
Thats the other odd part. The fill port is recessed on the res, so when you get to the bottom of the fill port, you're still a good 2cm from all the way full.

I posted on the alphacool support forums, will contact for RMA/Warranty next to see how it goes.
Michalius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2012, 01:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,422
Just an update, and also a thanks to both Performance PC's and Alphacool customer service.

Alphacool believes the issue is being caused by the rear portion being mounted upside down, which is kind of fitting considering that the faceplate was as well. This slight change should fix a lot of the issues I'm having. Apparently there is an additional set of O-Rings that the pumps and/or res is supposed to come with which need to be used as well. Thinking about the issues I'm having, I think these changes should fix what's going on.

This was all completed in less than an hour or two this morning.
Michalius is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:28 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,422
Another update, and the OP should do this as well.

Long story short, there are supposed to be additional rubber o rings that help seal the pumps to the back of the res. What these do is provide enough spacing so the pumps don't have a grinding issue and will also dramatically reduce the noise issue. I can see from the pictures in the first post that you didn't get them either.

A big thanks to Performance PC's. I did most of my watercooling purchasing through them, but forgot that I actually ordered this res/pump from Frozen CPU. Despite that, Performance PC's is sending me the O-rings anway. That is some seriously good customer service.

700

The o-rings here are not the ones that I'm referring to. From the sounds of it, it's a larger one that will align with the outside edge of the pump.
Michalius is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Carniflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tallinn
Posts: 5,535
Rep: 237 (Unique: 187)
I will contact Aquatuning.de with this information and see if they are as helpful as PerformancePCs. The pumps I got are same as yours, i.e., with a smallish O ring on them, same as yours on the picture and thats all that there was in the envelopes.
Carniflex is offline  
Old 05-26-2012, 05:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
airdeano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: little ark, rockansas
Posts: 1,735
Rep: 127 (Unique: 98)
looking from the pictures (7 & 8) of the back-side of the DC pump, there looks to have a
planned third wire (tach?) output. like some of the ftwo wire fans, there is a place
for a wire, just not installed. the alpha res looks quaint, but i'd like to cross machine
a koolance 2-bay res with the DC. just have to make new pump block for back of
4?2x2 res. like mentioned, the fill-port is cast too shallow.

airdeano

airdeano is offline  
Old 05-28-2012, 10:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
echo1069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
hi people im gonna sound like a right noob now but thats cos i am, anyway my question is i have the same pump and res my pump is fitted in the left slot on the res but i dont know which is the in and which is the out for the res i know its a really dumb question but i need to ask as im doing my loop tomorrow.

hope someone can help me out and again sorry for being a dumb-ass lol
echo1069 is offline  
Old 05-28-2012, 12:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
airdeano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: little ark, rockansas
Posts: 1,735
Rep: 127 (Unique: 98)
on picture # 3 the far left is the res inlet. plumb your return hose from the CPU or GPU to
the inlet. follow the thinking, youll want the return coolant to dump into the reservior.
the fitting on the far right is the outlet. plumb your hose to the radiator here. this one
should be routing coolant from the two cavities into the discharge hose routed to rdiator.

airdeano

airdeano is offline  
Old 05-28-2012, 12:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
echo1069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
thanks alot your a life saver
echo1069 is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off